Im new landlord but 2 questions. Must i sent tenant letter detailing why i am keeping deposit within 30 days since im keeping it.
When did tenant actually move out to start the 30 days. Tenant said theyd be out by 12/31. Neigjbor saw them go in house 1/1. The summary ejectment hearing was 1/2 and they told judge they were out by 12/31 and gave the house keys to judge who gave them to me. This was first time i can enter house. Judge dismissed bc they gave keys in court.
Was a 1 yr lease that converted to month to month and required 1 month notice to vacate.
The penalties for non-compliance are severe. Therefor you should get in the habit of furnishing a Security Deposit Accounting (and refund if appropriate) within 30 days after the date the T "surrenders the premises," as required by Texas law, provided the T has furnished you a forwarding address. See TPC 92.103(a) and 92.107(a): http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/PR/htm/PR.92.htm. To be safe, send it by certified mail, return receipt requested not later than January 30, and *keep a copy.*
AVVO is a general forum for discussion purposes only. My answers, replies, responses, comments, ideas, referrals, approvals and endorsements do not constitute legal advice, guidance, opinions or even suggestions, as I do not have enough facts, we have not spoken, I have not checked my conflicts-of-interest database and most importantly, YOU ARE NOT MY CLIENT. This disclaimer pertains to AVVO responses in addition to other forms of communications including emails and phone calls between us. As well, my response is with respect to only the laws of the State of Texas. Hire an attorney in your location if you want opinions and assistance upon which you may rely.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline