You should contact a medical malpractice doctor in California, as you haven't provided nearly enough facts to make a determination on whether the doctor was negligent. Why did the surgery take 7 hours? What was the cause of death? What, if anything, did the doctor do wrong?
Another important point is that in California, all medical malpractice claims must be filed 3 years from the date of the injury OR 1 Year from the date the you discovered or reasonably ought to have learned of the injury, whichever comes first.
Farid Yaghoubtil is an attorney at Downtown L.A. Law Group - 1850 E. 15th St., Los Angeles, CA 90021. (855)385-2529.
Probably not since you knew something was wrong when she died more than a year ago.
This is not a comprehensive answer and it is impossible to provide a meaningful response without a consultation. Call us for more information. 619.797.5456 www.mataelelaw.com
Statute appears to have run but you should consult an attorney to be certain you cannot make a claim.
Call for a free consultation at 727-937-1400 or visit us on the Web at www.serviceandjustice.com.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.