Old DUI charges he has not served 200 hours of community service and thinks he wants to serve jail time instead. In the state of California how much jail time is he looking at for 200 hours?
It may not be a straight conversation and it depends upon whether the CS was in lieu of a fine or in addition to. For instance the usual fine for a 1st time DUI is $390+penalty assessments or 3 days in jail. If it was in addition to the fine, it may be 20 days in jail.
However, if the judge finds you in violation of your Probation, they could add more.
You really need to talk to the lawyer who was with your friend at the time of their sentencing.
There it's no easy answer here. It will vary greatly, depending on the county, the judge, and the circumstances. Many judges would do something like 10 days, so he'd serve a max of 5 with good time credits. In L.A. County, he'd probably be out the same day or serve one night. Your friend should talk to his lawyer.
I am an attorney, licensed in the State of California. This answer is for educational purposes only, and is not legal advice; it may not even be relevant to the question answered; and it definitely is does not establish an attorney/client relationship.
The exchange from hours to days was probably made at sentencing and should be in the court file. The best resource to know in advance is the court file or contacting his lawyer.
This answer is not legal advice, it may not even be relevant to the question answered, it definitely is does not establish an attorney/client relationship.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline