I have a misdemeanor 1, dv degree 2, I was in jail for 22 days, the victim has asked for the no contact to be dropped, and is choosing not to show up to any of my court anymore because she wants it for gone and charges dropped. She's the only witness/victim. I have never been in trouble before, not even probation. What do you think will happen?
Pursuant to Nebraska statute, if you are charged with a class 1 misdemeanor you can be subject up to one year imprisonment and a $1,000 fine or both. There is no minimum sentence required.
What is likely to happen in a specific case depends on many factors. The case could be dismissed for lack of evidence. You could reach a plea deal for a lesser charge. Often a defense attorney and a prosecutor have some communication prior to a hearing to try to work out a plea deal. Especially for those with no criminal history, the Court will often give a chance at probation before ordering jail time, but this is less often true for more serious offenses or offenses that caused serious injury.
Although I am an attorney practicing law in Nebraska, the answer I provide is for general purposes only and does not establish an attorney-client relationship. If you need legal advice, you should contact an attorney who will discuss with you the specific facts of your case.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline