If you are convicted of OWI 3rd, the mandatory minimum is 30 days. You will get 5 days of good time at the Oakland County Jail. The only possible way to get less time is to convince the prosecutor to reduce the charge or fight the case. Best of luck to you.
Michigan Criminal Defense Lawyer - Decades of Successful Experience - Disclaimer: Per the avvo.com community guidelines, no attorney/client relationship is created by the asking or answering of questions on this web site, nor do the answers constitute legal advice. Always hire an attorney before making any important legal decisions. Posting details of a case on avvo.com may be subject to discovery in criminal or civil litigation, so erring on the side of nondisclosure is wise.
I agree with previous counsel; if you are convicted or plead guilty to OWI 3rd, the statute requires a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail. Most county jails give good-time credit at a rate of 1 day for every 5 days of good behavior. Aside from this, the only other option that the judge would have discretion in sentencing you to something different (less) is if you were eligible for and participated in a sobriety court or if you somehow were able to get the prosecutor to reduce the charge to a lesser crime. It sounds like you have already entered a plea, so a reduction may not be likely.
You will get your good time credit. Are you looking for more than that?
In answering this question, it is not intended that an attorney-client relationship is formed and the information is for general reference only. I am licensed in Michigan and Florida and offer no legal advice outside of those states.
I agree with the other responses. This is possibly a question you should have asked before you entered a plea.
If you would like a free consultation to discuss your matter in depth, you can call us to schedule one. We handle matters throughout southeast Michigan. We do not represent residential tenants.This is a general answer for informational purposes and should not be taken as actual legal advice. The questioner is NOT a client. If I answer that you should talk to a lawyer, I mean it.
Likely not going to get less. Since others get 9 months and more for this 5 year felony, you are fortunate.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline