On my second DUI I was told after all the fines and everything I had paid and completed all their classes. Last thing I was ordered was 2 years with a blow tube in my vehicle. Being how the DUI cost me my job I lost my car and didn't have nothing to put this blow tube in. It has been over 5 years and I am wondering if there is a statue of limitations on the blow tube. I really need my driver's license because most of the employer's request a valid driver's license for hire. Please Help
If I understand your question correctly the answer is no. If you were required to have an ignition interlock for two years and you have not done so you still must do it. Go to the driver's license bureau and ask them what you need to do to get a valid license. They will be able to access your driving record and let you know.
Law Office of Patrick Lewis, www.TheKansasDefender.com (913) 558-3961, This answer is intended to provide general information about the justice system. It does not provide legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship. It does not provide the basis for making decisions about a course of action. Legal advice requires more communication and information than is possible in this format. Many important considerations and factors need to be investigated and discussed before an attorney could give legal advice about this issue. Before making any decisions about a course of action readers are strongly encouraged to contact a lawyer and secure an attorney-client relationship. Readers must also understand that this format does not provide for confidential communication.
There is no limitation of actions regarding your requirement to serve any driver's license restriction time period , issued by the Kansas Department of Revenue.
If you had an attorney, I would be astonished if that was not made known to you during the DUI representation. Regardless, you are in the same boat as everyone else that has that requirement. Most individuals, in your predicament, all have needs for driving privileges. Whether you own a vehicle, or not, you should be able to satisfy the requirement of interlock installation by placing such interlock on any vehicle (so long as the contract for interlock is in your name). If your employer has their own vehicle for use by employees for business purposes, you, typically, would not be required to drive with an interlock on their vehicle PROVIDED THAT YOU HAVE INSTALLED AN INTERLOCK ON ANOTHER VEHICLE, AND, PROVIDED THAT YOU ARE DRIVING THE EMPLOYER'S VEHICLE FOR EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES.
You may contact the Kansas Department of Revenue (KDR) at (785) 396-3671, or go online at www.ksrevenue.org for additional information.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline