I turn 17 in February and he turns 21 a month earlier. What will happen? Hes only 4years and a month and 2 days older so were covered by romeo and juliet laws in my state but I'm just worried that hed get arrested even though my parents don't want to press charges and I cannot and will not do this without him. But I also cant abort my baby.
The so called “Romeo and Juliet” law prevents criminal charges if the people involved are within 4 years. Four years and two months is not covered. I believe your “boyfriend,” is subject to prosecution for statutory rape, carrying six years in prison.
You really have it all wrong, as Mr. Walsh pointed out.
Your baby-daddy needs to see a criminal defense attorney right now.
In Tennessee, the age of consent is 18. Statutory rape is sexual penetration of a victim by the defendant or of the defendant by the victim when the victim is at least thirteen (13) but less than eighteen years of age and the defendant is at least four years older than the victim.
I am an Attorney-at-Law, licensed to practice law only in the state of California. Unless we have both signed a formal retainer agreement you are not my client, and my discussion of issues does not constitute legal advice. Opinions expressed herein are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the opinions of those who hold other opinions.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline