The new law allows people to get the interlock permit earlier than before, but still need the authorization of the sentencing judge and have to first complete a 17 week treatment program.
After a 4 month hard suspension of your driver's license you have to petition the court, and be able to show a "pattern of sobriety" to be able to get the ignition interlock permit.
James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. All information given is based only on Georgia law, and is not directly applicable to any other jurisdictions, states, or districts. Any answer given assumes the person who asked the question holds a Georgia Drivers License, and this license is not a commercial drivers license (CDL). This response, or any response, is not legal advice. This response, or any response, does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information. Any state specific concerns should be directed to an attorney who is licensed to practice law in that respective state.
As my colleagues have stated. x3
You should consult an Attorney that handles Traffic cases in the jurisdiction you received the citation to evaluate your options.
To clarify Zack's answer, before Jan 1, 2013, following a 1 year hard suspension, a driver convicted of a second DUI in a 5 year period was required to install an ignition interlock device. Now, after just four months, a driver may obtain a permit if they are actively enrolled in a DUI court our a comparable alternative, such as a ASAM level 1 substance abuse course. You will still need to install an ignition interlock device, but now you can drive after just four months.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.