If you have a dui with a refusal can you get your license back in georgia.
4 attorney answers
I mostly agree with the other lawyers' answers above. However, this assumes that you have already entered a guilty plea to DUI. If you do not already have a DUI conviction, you can reinstate your license if you win your DUI or get the charges reduced. If you DO have a DUI conviction (you entered a guilty plea or you were found guilty by judge or jury) then, you might be able to reinstate by withdrawing your guilty plea or appealing the conviction. Talk to a good local DUI lawyer in your area to see if they can help you. Allen Trapp is an excellent lawyer near Lagrange. If there is a solution to your problem, he should be able to help. Mr. Trapp's number is (770) 830-8560
I agree with the other lawyers . A refusal and failure to request hearing within 10 business days probably results in 12 month suspension starting 31 days from your arrest.
It sounds like you went under the administrative suspension for refusing the test. If this is the case then your license is suspended for 12 months with no limited permit or early reinstatement.
James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. All information given is based only on Georgia law, and is not directly applicable to any other jurisdictions, states, or districts. Any answer given assumes the person who asked the question holds a Georgia Drivers License, and this license is not a commercial drivers license (CDL). This response, or any response, is not legal advice. This response, or any response, does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information. Any state specific concerns should be directed to an attorney who is licensed to practice law in that respective state.
If when you were arrested you received a yellow DDS1205 form from the officer, then you had 10 days to contest the administrative suspension of your license by the DDS for one year. If you ignored that notice and later pled to the DUI, then yes, your license is suspended for one year from the date of your arrest.