Welcome to FL.
You are required to register your vehicle, change your tag, license plate (within 10 days) and driver license (within 30 days) if you move to FL. (See: http://www.dmvflorida.org/moving-to-florida.shtml ).
If you are merely visiting then you are required to comply with all FL laws while in FL, including having a properly registered vehicle. In FL if your vehicle registration is less than 6 months its a traffic infraction; if its expired more than 6 months then its a criminal traffic case (a misdemeanor requiring a court appearance - see: http://www.flsenate.gov/laws/statutes/2011/320.07).
Again, welcome to FL.
First, second and third: No attorney-client relationship exists by virtue of any Q&A with Michael A. Haber, Esq. on Avvo. Fourth: Anything that you post on Avvo (or on similar sites) or on any social media is by its nature public. It is essentially an admission / confession and can be introduced into evidence as a statement against your interest in a subsequent legal proceeding. Once posted you lose any reasonable expectation of privacy, so, as this is an open forum (with no privilege attached), please be extra careful when considering what to post online (forewarned is forearmed.)
I assume from your answer, you are a FL resident now. You have 10 days to register your out of state vehicle. For your ticket, It depends on how long your tag from Maryland has been expired. In FL, if it is expired for more than six months it is a criminal/noncriminal infraction depending on your traffic history. A second offense is 2nd degree misdemeanor. What is the exact statute number cited on the ticket. What is your DL history in Maryland? Did you get a FL DL yet? Yes, in FL, you have the option of paying or asking for a hearing before a hearing officer or judge.
The hiring of an attorney is an important decision that you should undertake with careful considerations. The use of Avvo, Inc.'s question and answer forum is only to provide general information and in no way forms an attorney-client relationship between the you and the attorney answering your question.
Hopefully you have insurance & just failed to have proof of insurance on your possession - if not, immediately obtain insurance. I suggest you contact a local traffic ticket attorney for assistance - usually inexpensive & worth the fee. Many offer a free initial consultation - contact one of the very able local attorney who responded to your question or another listed on avvo. Good luck
This is not intended to be legal advise or as legal representation. I am a California personal injury attorney . Be aware that every state has its own statute of limitations; and statutes & case laws that govern the handling of these matters.
You can hire an attorney to waive your appearance and go to court for you. Although yes, it is a criminal offense, unless you have a terrible criminal record, you're not looking at anything too drastic. My advice would be to update your DL and tags ASAP. If the sun and stars align just right, your attorney may be able to get the case thrown out entirely.