Send whatever you received to your insurance carrier. The other driver's license status is not relevant to who caused the accident. If you ran a stop sign you are likely 100% responsible or close to it.
I am a former federal and State prosecutor and have been doing criminal defense work for over 16 years. I was named to the Super Lawyers list as one of the top attorneys in New York for 2012 and 2013. No more than 5 percent of the lawyers in the state are selected by Super Lawyers. Martindale-Hubbell has given me its highest rating - AV Preeminent - in the areas of Criminal Law, Personal Injury, and Litigation. According to Martindale-Hubbell”AV Preeminent is a significant rating accomplishment - a testament to the fact that a lawyer's peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence." Fewer than 8% of attorneys achieve an AV Preeminent rating. I also have the highest ranking – “superb” – on Avvo. The above answer, and any follow up comments or emails is for informational purposes only and not meant as legal advice.
You need to turn everything into your insurance company. You may also benefit from hiring a private lawyer to assist you in working with the Insurance Company since they are only responsible to pay the limits of your liability coverage under their policy. Once they have done that then their obligation to you is complete and you may end up paying from your own pocket or filing for bankruptcy.
Turn this entire matter over to your automobile liability insurance carrier and ask them to handle this for you. The fact the other person was not licensed etc. has no bearing on your liability. Cooperate with your insurance company.
If this information has been helpful, please indicate below.
Mr. Lundeen is licensed to practice law in Florida and Vermont. The response herein is not legal advice and does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information about the matter within the question. Oftentimes the question does not include significant and important facts and timelines that, if known, could significantly change the reply and make it unsuitable. Mr. Lundeen strongly advises the questioner to confer with an attorney in your state in order to ensure proper advice is received.
This ans. does not create an attorney/client relationship.
The only issue you should be concerned about is that you arranged to have whatever documents you received from any lawyer delivered to your insurance carrier and the insurance carrier for the owner of the vehicle you were driving if it was not your own. You have an obligation to cooperate fully with your insurance carrier. You have no obligation to cooperate with any other carrier or person who might contact you.
I am sorry t deliver bad news to you, but in most Appellate Divisions in this state (i.e., the appeals courts that essentially provide guiding / compelling case law in our state), you would be found 100% liable for the accident. Some Appellate Divisions might allow such a case to proceed to a jury if there was some rational defense, but on the issue of fault, thinsg are no looking so good for you.
The plaintiffs, however, must prove that they sustained a legally defined "serious injury" in order to be compensated. Such injuries include "fractures," "loss of organ," "death," loss of fetus," serious and obvious scar," and/or a medically proven disability or impairment of bodily function (supported by objective testing such as MRI, CT Scan, etc) for a period of 90 out of 120 days following the accident. If they cannot prove such injuries, they are out of luck.
Also, you may have the right to move the case to Federal District Court in yoru area if all plaintiffs are from Alaska (and you are from New York) AND the amount in dispute exceeds $75,000. The federal magistrates and judges, in general, take the definition of "serious injury" to the letter of the law. if the plaintiffs do not meet such burden, they will be chucked out!
This advice is not intended to create an attorney / client relationship, rather it is mere general advice. An attorney should always be contacted and legal matters should be discussed with a licensed attorney before taking any legal action, including a divorce.
It appears you are primarily if not entirely responsible for the accident. The fact the the other driver has no license will not be a determining factor. What matters is how each drive-licensed or unlicensed operated their vehicles. Make sure you forward the legal papers to your own auto insurance company. If you have no collision coverage ask the attorneys defending the case on your behalf to assert or assert you in asserting a counterclaim for car damage but it will be difficult to recover as you "blew" as stop sign. Dropping you by your insurance company is an underwriting decision that you have to accept. Your attorneys will defend the case and attempt to minimize the damages and perhaps claim the the other driver bears some small portion of fault for the crash e.g. excessive speed, you entering into the intersection first. Good luck.
Premises liability for personal injuries Personal injury Personal injury lawsuits Government liability for public property injuries Types of personal injuries Personal injury and car accidents Property liability Incapacitation and elder law Traffic tickets Tickets for failure to stop Traffic tickets and car insurance rates Government law Lawsuits and disputes Appeals
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.