Some state laws may still charge for a DUI even if you're not physically "driving" a vehicle. Instead your specific state law may state that the the driver charged with DUI simply has to be in physically control OR have the ability to drive--which could be interpreted to simply have the keys in the ignition with the car running. Please talk to an experienced ND DUI Attorney. He or she will be able to help you since DUI is a serious charge. If you cannot afford an attorney, then see if you quality for a public defender.
This answer is provided as a public service and as a general response to a general question, it is not meant, and should not be relied upon as specific legal advice, nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.
2nd DUI in North Dakota
Up to .17>>>>>>>365 days' suspension
.18 or greater>>>>>>> 2 years' suspension
(No work permit in either case.)
Minimum fine $500
5 days' imprisonment or 30 days community service
Mandatory referral to addiction facility for alcohol evaluation
I strongly urge you to contact an experienced DUI attorney in Fargo.
Every case and situation is different and vary greatly depending on specific facts. My posts are not to be considered complete answers to each question. My posts do not constitute an attorney/client relationship. I am only licensed to practice in the State of Florida and in federal courts. Florida Bar #337821, admitted 1982.
If you have already pled guilty then the loss of driving license should have already taken place. You can get a DUI without driving. The laws are designed to prevent the act before it happens. An attorney could help you argue some issues such as: location of the keys, how long you had been there, whether on a public street. Sometimes with the right attorney, this type of case might be worthy of a reduction. Good Luck
DUI DUI defense Imprisonment for DUI DUI charges DUI arrest DUI and driver's license penalties Second DUI Criminal defense Criminal charges Crimes against society Right to counsel in criminal cases Defenses for criminal charges Criminal arrest Court-ordered community service for criminal conviction State, local, and municipal law DUI court
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.