You have been charged with serious crimes that carry stiff penalties; the DUI alone carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence. Penalties for reckless endangerment often depend on a variety of factors like the facts and circumstances which underlie the charge, prior record, etc.
You would be well advised to hire an attorney who, like me, has handled complex DUI matters similar to the situation described in your post. Only a licensed attorney can provide you with proper legal advice on this matter and ensure the most favorable outcome.
Thanks for your question and best of luck!
LEGAL DISCLAIMER Mr. Fienman is licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. His phone number is 215-839-9529 and his email address is firstname.lastname@example.org . To learn more about Mr. Fienman, please visit his website: http://www.forgoodlaw.com Mr. Fienman is ethically required to state that the response herein is not legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Mr. Fienman's responses are merely educational and are intended only to provide general information about the matter stated in question. Oftentimes, the question does not include significant facts that, if known, could significantly change the reply or make such reply unsuitable. Mr. Fienman always recommends that the questioner contact an attorney who is licensed in their state to ensure that proper advice is received. Circular 230 Disclaimer - Any information in this comment may not be used to eliminate or reduce penalties by the IRS or any other governmental agency.
If this is your 2nd DUI then you will be looking at mandatory jail time between 5-90 days in jail. You could also be looking at jail time for the REAP. You should talk with and retain an attorney immediately who will be able to look over your case, answer any questions you have as well as go over all of your options including possible defenses.
You are facing mandatory jail sentences for each case. There is strategy and legal knowledge needed here so it is imperative that you retain a criminal defense attorney with expertise in DUI cases.
There are mandatory minimums of 5 days (for .08-.16 OR a drug DUI if the 1st DUI was less than 10 years ago. So you will go to jail if convicted of the DUI. You need a good attorney to help you on this case.
This is not intended as individual legal advice and there is no attorney client relationship established by this answer. It is advisable that you seek individualized legal assistance. This is not a substitute for hiring an attorney.
DUI DUI defense DUI penalties DUI sentence DUI charges DUI and criminal records Driving under the influence of drugs Third DUI Criminal defense Criminal charges Crimes against society Defenses for criminal charges Criminal sentencing Mandatory minimum sentences for criminal conviction Criminal record
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.