As it is the Dept. of Driver Services that issues the limited permit, you should contact them about a possible extension. It is not clear whether your limited permit's Oct. 9th expiration date coincides with the end of your DUI sentence, or if there is just an overlap between the length of the sentence and permit period. Regardless, I would first contact the DDS, and see if they are willing to give you an extension. If they aren't willing to, I advise speaking with a DUI attorney about possible other options. However, keep in mind you may just have to wait it out (possibly with finding alternative transportation until you satisfy the DD class requirement). Good luck.
If you have a had a year to take a 20 hour class it is not likely you will get an extension. The class is risk reduction dui school, not defensive driving. It is a requirement to get your license reinstated. For a first DUI you could have completed the class within 120 days and already had your license reinstated. I highly recommend you take a day off of work or got the class on the weekend or evening. Different places offer different classes. It doesn't matter where you go.
I agree with both of my colleagues from Georgia who already provided answers. It sounds like the best thing to do would be to find a way to take a different class prior to 10/9/13. Good luck.
Probably not. But it is worth checking. The DDS is fairly random. I have gotten different results by doing something as simple as having my client go back to the same office and ask a different staffer.
I am only licensed to practice in GA, so this advice absolutely needs to be followed up by a consultation with at CA attorney.
It will likely be much easier (and cheaper) for you to take the class. If you don't want to take the class, I advise you to hire an experienced attorney to further explore your options.
I'd call DDS at 404-657-9300, and ask them. It is probably easier just to take the class and get the license reinstated.
James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. All information given is based only on Georgia law, and is not directly applicable to any other jurisdictions, states, or districts. Any answer given assumes the person who asked the question holds a Georgia Drivers License, and this license is not a commercial drivers license (CDL). This response, or any response, is not legal advice. This response, or any response, does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information. Any state specific concerns should be directed to an attorney who is licensed to practice law in that respective state.
DUI DUI defense DUI sentence DUI charges DUI arrest DUI and driver's license penalties DUI and suspended license License reinstatement after DUI DUI probation DUI school First DUI Criminal defense DUI and restricted license Criminal charges Crimes against society Defenses for criminal charges Criminal arrest Criminal sentencing Criminal fines Court-ordered community service for criminal conviction Criminal conviction Probation for criminal conviction Transportation law License suspension for traffic tickets DUI fines
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.