How to demand unpaid wages from former employer?
3 attorney answers
The statute of limitations in NY is 6 years and usually 3 years in Federal Court. The laws are very strict against employers when it comes to these issues. You are likely owed twice any underpayment as well as statutory fines of up to $10,000.00.
I suggest you contact an experienced employment/labor attorney. Many of us provide free consultations, and often take these cases on a contingent fee basis, meaning attorney fees aren't billed to you but are taken as a percentage of your recovery.
You can hire an attorney to represent you in this by using the find a lawyer section of this site. Alternatively, you can contact the NY Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division and they may take action.
This answer does not constitute legal advice and you should contact an attorney to confirm or research further any statements made in this answer. Any statements of fact or law I have made in this answer pertain solely to New York State and should not be relied upon in any way in any other jurisdiction. Additionally, we also encourage you to reach out to us via Twitter (https://twitter.com/#!/employattorney) if you have follow up questions as we do not monitor questions after providing an initial answer.
You can file a claim yourself with the New York Department of Labor or hire an attorney to assist you.
This response does not constitute legal advice or form an attorney-client relationship.