I was uninsured, not at fault for an accident and I am in dispute with a subrogation collection agency. I discovered I was uninsured over a paperwork error (Proof of Residency in NH) after the accident. I was heading south in the left hand lane (two lanes each direction) approaching the left hand turn lane when I was struck on the driver side rear and front door (hit the side and slid up). I was traveling slow (5 mph), as traffic was slowing for the light. I signaled, checked my mirrors/shoulder and began to merge when the vehicle hit me coming from a non-travel lane, over the yellow lines in a "median area". No citation was given. My statement was inaccurate & the other party lied stating I was in the right lane and cut out without signaling. The report was amended and dispute collectionBased on my research, this is a "he said, she said" case. Neither party has a witness. Neither party was issued a citation. The officer conducted an incomplete investigation. My statement on the report was vague and inaccurate and the other driver's statement was not true. No pictures of the scene or road debris were taken, only close up pictures of the vehicle damage (my driver side, the other drivers right front corner). While neither party was issued a citation, based on the inaccurate information in the accident report I was placed at fault. I requested the report be amended to include an accurate account of the accident from my perspective which was finally included.
If you had an insurance lapse, a local insurance lawyer can investigate whether the cancellation was proper. If you were not at fault, a local car accident lawyer can evaluate a claim against the negligent driver. Avvo has a great lawyer finder tool to locate an attorney close to your home. Good luck.
You are entitled to a hearing at the New Hampshire Department of Safety's Bureau of Hearings in Concord if you were suspended under the insurance and security requirements provisions of New Hampshire law RSA 264:3 and the suspension provisions of RSA 264:7. If you lose that hearing you have 10 days within which to file a petition for judicial review in the superior court in the county in which you live.
Note this answer is general in nature, constitutes legal advertising, and does not form or constitute an attorney-client relationship.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline