Hire an attorney. If you don't, you can spend as much as 24 months in jail, AND have drastic consequences on your driver's license.
Thanks for reading my response to this question. If your found this answer "Helpful" or "The Best Answer" PLEASE MARK IT, because Avvo awards me points. Thank you! Note that the questioner and any reader do not have an attorney-client relationship formed by our communications on this website. Advice given by me on this website is general advice based on partial information. You should not rely on any advice given without first hiring a lawyer in the area where the case is pending, and providing that lawyer with full information.
In Fulton County, if you get an attorney you can just go to the clerk and sign a waiver of arraignment and they will send a court date in the mail. DeKalb is a different matter. You will likely have to go before Judge Wong who will more than likely throw you out of DUI Court and in jail. You could end up doing the remainder of your probation in jail. You should hire an attorney as soon as possible.
(404) 333-0706. http://www.georgecreal.com No legal advice should be obtained from this response alone. This response is a matter of attorney opinion only. George C. Creal, Jr., P.C. is Georgia Professional Corporation authorized to practice law in the State of Georgia only and all information contained in this response is intended for use for DUI/DWIs occurring in the State of Georgia. Individuals with DUI/DWIs from outside the State of Georgia should contact a licensed attorney in the state of occurrence of their DUI.
You really do need an attorney for this. Generally, you won't get kicked out of a program for a genuine inability to pay(even though they may threaten you...I worked on the DUI Court panel in Dekalb a few years ago) but you will get kicked out for failing to attend. As the other attorney noted, Judge Wong generally administers DUI court. I have known him for several years and he can be a tough judge. Your maximum exposure on each DUI is 12 months (so 24 months total) since they are each misdemeanors, but you probably have additional traffic violations that likely carry additional jail time. I don't think a Dekalb County judge would max you out, but you can probably expect some jail time. It's going to depend on what your attorney can negotiate with the solicitor (and get the judge to accept).
Because you are charged with 2 DUI's you can face up to 24 months in Jail - 12 months on each. However, it appears that you are most concerned with the Dekald Co. DUI "treatment" program and the fact that you could not pay the weekly fee and stopped attending. I am not personally familiar with the Dekalb Co. program and it's specific requirements. I can tell you that you should RETAIN AN ATTORNEY ASAP that is familiar with this specific court program!!! Handling this issue without an attorney is a VERY BAD idea and could result in you going to JAIL! I hope this information has been helpful to you. Good Luck!!! George McCranie IV www.mccranielawfirm.com
The information provided in this response to a question is not legal advise and is provided only for general information purposes. My response should not be taken as legal advise as no attorney / client representation exists. Additionally, the information given in this answer is specific to the State of Georgia only and should not be applied to any other state.
DUI DUI as a criminal offense DUI arraignment DUI charges DUI and driver's license penalties DUI and suspended license DUI probation DUI and employment consequences First DUI Second DUI Criminal defense Criminal charges Misdemeanor crime Crimes against society Defenses for criminal charges Criminal court Arraignment for criminal cases Criminal conviction Probation for criminal conviction Employment License suspension for traffic tickets Government law DUI court
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.