I tagged your question for criminal defense but I believe he can still file charges.
Call for a free consultation at 727-937-1400 or visit us on the Web at www.serviceandjustice.com.
The statute of limitations on simple assault is two years, aggravated assault is five. Of this event happened a year ago, it is possible that the district attorney could decline to prosecute
All information provided in this comment is intended for informational purposes only and does not, by itself, create an attorney client relationship. If you wish to consult with an attorney, or have any questions concerning this comment, please feel free to contact our offices through any of the above contact sources.
I agree with Mr. Crawford. You can still be charged for sure.
In no way am I offering you legal advice, and in no way has my comment created an attorney-client relationship. You are not to rely upon my note above in any way, but insted need to sit down with counsel and share all relevant facts before receiving fully-informed legal advice. If you want to be completely sure of your rights, you must sit down with an experienced criminal defense attorney to be fully aware of your rights.
I agree with Mr. Crawford as to the statute of limitations for misdemeanors as 2 years and aggravated assaults 5 years, but be aware that all the prosecutor has to do to get the longer period is charge the higher graded offence whether or not it can be made out at trial. However, these limits only apply to the institution of charges, meaning the fling of a complaint. Thus, you may not be aware of a timely charge until after the statute seems to have lapsed. As a practical matter, in relatively straightforward cases like the one you describe there is generally not much of a delay and charges are generally filed very soon after the complaining witness makes a report. Do not delay is speaking with an attorney in the event you are charged and by no means should you speak to anyone but an attorney about your case.
This answer is based on general legal principles only and is not intended to provide specific legal advice. This answer is for informational purposes only and does not constitute the formation of a lawyer-client relationship. Any reader of this answer should not make decisions based upon in without first directly consulting with an attorney in person.
Alas, there is plenty of time to charge you still. I suggest you hire an attorney.
For a free consultation related to medical malpractice, personal injury, workers' compensation, social security disability or nursing home abuse, please contact Lowenthal & Abrams, PC at 1-800-876-5299. I am licensed in Pennsylvania, but members of my firm are licensed in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York. This post is not legal advice, but instead contains general educational information. Please do not act or refrain from acting based upon what you read in this post. Also please remember that this post does not form an attorney/client relationship between you and me. If you have specific legal questions, you should contact an attorney in your state for assistance. I am licensed to practice law in the state of Pennsylvania.
I agree with the other answers. As a practical matter, once a victim has said he or she doesn't want to "press charges", the police are reluctant to pursue them. At the same time they may do so. I suggest you speak to an experienced criminal defense lawyer in West Chester.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.