You need the help of an experienced high-priced local criminal defense attorney.
Just kidding. It's just a form that you fill out. Here's a link:
Also you can call the Public Defender's office and I think they'll help walk you through the process.
It's called a 1203.4 motion and many people file the paperwork themselves. However, do understand that California does not have a true expungement statute once you have been convicted, so your criminal records are not sealed. Your criminal record is still available for public viewing, but your records would show that the guilty plea was withdrawn, a not guilty plea was entered and the charges dismissed. Still, getting a 1203.4 dismissal shows your cared enough to go through the process to get your charges dismissed.
The information and legal suggestions made herein do not in any way create an attorney-client relationship. The responses provided herein discuss general principles of law and should not be relied upon by the asker in making legal decisions. Only an attorney who has met with the asker and fully reviewed the facts and circumstances of the asker's individual case should be relied upon for legal advice. If you find my suggestions helpful, please mark the appropriate box as helpful.
Two ways…..one hire a local attorney.
Two, you can try do it yourself. I would recommend hiring an attorney if at all possible.
This reply should NOT be considered a legal opinion of your case / inquiry. At this time I do not have sufficient factual/legal documentation to give a complete answer to your question and there may be more to the issues you raised then I have set out in my brief reply
You should not wait a minute more for probation to expire. There is nothing stopping you from requesting the Judge terminate probation early and expunge NOW so you can immediately start looking for a better job. Each courthouse in San Diego has a different process to accomplish this. Contact a local attorney for a free consultation on what steps you'll need to take.
California does not have a true "expungement" statute. What we do have is a dismissal under Penal Code 1203.4. If granted, it doesn't wipe the case off your record, but it adds a notation that the case was dismissed. That allows you to tell most employers that you have not been convicted of the crime, but it remains on your record and still counts as a prior conviction.
You must be off probation before you can apply for this dismissal. Either your probation well and after the term or you can request an early termination under Penal Code section 1203.3. You must have fulfilled all obligations of probation including any restitution.
Yes, you can do this yourself or a local criminal defense attorney should be able to assist for a very reasonable fee.
The above answer is for general information only and is based on the information you posted. Every case is fact dependent, so to get a thorough analysis of your situation, you will need to consult face to face with an attorney licensed to practice in the jurisdiction where the incident took place. Do not conclusively rely on any information posted online when deciding what to do about your case.
Once you have successfully completed probation you $60 filing fee and the turnaround time is roughly 6-8 weeks. Make sure it's done right though by hiring a locally experienced criminal defense attorney to assist.