How can I move to Tennessee and have the custody case in Tennessee?
3 attorney answers
Yes you need to live in TN for a length of time before filing.. generally its 180 days. Generally the first party to file in which state gets jurisdiction.. so If your baby daddy files in Michigan before that time the case will probably be sited in MI for the foreseeable future.
Please note that I answered this question with general knowlege of the law and with limited disclosure from you, my answer does not create an attorney-client relationship and I cannot be held responsible for how you, the asker, use the information provided. If you want to contact me directly and retain my services you may through my listing on this site.
There is no way to know how the father will react. If it is your desire to move to Tn then you should do so. After 6 months living in Tn the problem will solve itself.
If the father decides to file a custody your parenting time case, he would be able to file it in Michigan for 6 months after you leave Michigan. There is no way for you to ensure that the case would be heard in Tennessee. That's the reason that you were previously told to get this handled in Michigan before you do anything further.
The opinion that I express should not be considered to be legal advice that can be relied on. It is based only on the limited amount of information provided rather than doing a thorough review of all of the important information that is required to give accurate legal advice. You should consult with an attorney that has extensive background in the area of the law that your are inquiring about.