In Virginia, the statute of limitations for personal injury is 2 years from the date of the accident. For property damage, 5 years. The Maryland court, should the defendant reside there, will apply the Virginia statute of limitations.
You may contact me for a free consultation:
The answer provided is for general information purposes and cannot be relied upon. In order to provide legal advice, one must engage with a live attorney; this answer does not create such attorney-client relationship.Ask a similar question
The case must be filed either where the accident happened or where the defendant lives.
It does not matter where you live.
The statute of limitations on the personal injury claim is two years.
For any property damage to your vehicle the statue limitations is five years.
It does not matter that there is an insurance contract involved.
Even if the case can be filed in Maryland because the defendant lives there the Maryland court will apply to Virginia statue limitations.
Ben Glass is licensed in Virginia. He offers a number of free consumer book downloads at his site for information purposes only. You should consult an experienced, board certified attorney in your area. Obviously, no attorney client relationship is formed by participating in Avvo.Ask a similar question
You would file where the injury occurred of where the defendant resides. If that's in va then that's where you would file. Contact a va attorney who contributes on this site.
TimAsk a similar question
Undertanding that missing the deadline for a statute of limitations effectively prevents you from any recovery, it is often best to hedge your bets with the shortest statute period. It sounds like you are on the right track. I would use the Avvo search to find an appropriate attorney. best of luck.
I am licensed in California, therefore, my answers are based on general prinicpals of law or California law, which may not be applicable in your jurisdiction. Answers posted to Avvo are for general information only. Do not conclusively rely on any information posted online when deciding what to do about your case. Every case depends is fact dependent, and responses are limited to and is based on the information you posted. No attorney-client relationship shall be created through the use reading of this response on Avvo. You should never delay seeking legal advice, disregard legal advice, or commence or discontinue any legal action because of information in this response.Ask a similar question
File where accident happened. 2 years. Depending upon the amount you sue for, you could file in Federal court if you prefer to Va state court. Leave these issues to your atty. Find someone asap.Ask a similar question
2 years for personal injury, and 5 for property. Best bet is to call one of the lawyers in your state who responded above. Good luck.
Only 29% Contingency Fee! Phone: 215-510-6755 www.InjuryLawyerPhiladelphia.comAsk a similar question
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.