you will likely go into a diversionary program for a few months. kind of like probation. if you dont get into trouble again, they will dismiss the case once you complete the program.
you should ask your parents to get you a lawyer
This answer should not be construed as creating an attorney-client relationship, and is for informational purposes only, not legal advice.
You need to hire a competent criminal defense attorney to represent you in juvenile court. I do not practice in NJ, but in KY a first offender charged with Theft By Unlawful Taking Under $500.00 is a Class A misdemeanor and the penalty is up to 365 days in jail and/or a max. fine of $500.00.
We treat juveniles in a different way than adults. You may be able to settle the case as an informal adjustment and avoid time in a juvenile correctional center on the condition of good behavior, volunteer hours, etc. Contact counsel.
I am trying to give you a general answer to your question. We do not have an attorney-client relationship by this response on the avvo website. I have not been retained to represent you. I am licensed to practice law in Kentucky and in federal court in this state and the Southern District of Indiana. You need to seek legal advice from an attorney licensed to practice in your area..
You did not have to pay the "civil demand". With that small an amount of theft and a first offense you will likely go to a conference committee and not in front of the Judge. An adjourned disposition is likely. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help there but is not essential. Call with more information.