Hi I get arrested 6 month ago for driving we no license and the put me on probation for 6 months and I finish my probation but 1 month later I get arrested again for the seeing problem what's going to happen now? Do I has to do time in jail? Because I can no afford to going to jail I have 3 kids and a girlfriend to support economic
You should consult with a criminal defense attorney right away.
Please note: any comments made on this website relate to general trends in law and are not to be understood as legal advice establishing a lawyer-client relationship. Please consult an attorney admitted in your jurisdiction before making any legal decisions. I am a licensed attorney only in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and in United States District Court for the District of Vermont and Massachusetts.
You could check the MA law to determine the maximum penalty. Your priors will hurt you.
You should contact a criminal defense attorney/public defender (depending on your financial state) immediately.
Your question does not make clear the specific criminal offense you are charged with. You could be charged with simple "unlicensed operation" or you could be charged with "operating after suspension or revocation of your right to drive". These sections are different and the penalties are very different. For simple "unlicensed operation" the penalties are as follows: 1st offense = $500 fine; 2nd offense = $500-$1,000 fine; 3rd and subsequent offense = $1,000-$2,000 fine. (These penalties are set out in section 20 of chapter 90 of the Massachusetts Statutes.) For simple "unlicensed operation" there is no potential of a jail sentence. If you are charged with "operating after suspension or revocation of your right to drive" the penalties are set out in section 23 of chapter 90 of the Massachusetts Statutes and are as follows: 1st offense = Fine of $500-$1000 or up to 10 days in jail; 2nd offense or subsequent = jail not less than 60 days nor more than 1 year. This is a non-mandatory sentence; it can be suspended; the judge can give you probation. This all assumes that you do NOT have a prior DUI case. If your right to drive is suspended or revoked because of a DUI case then very different rules apply. Attorney Bob Lewin, North Andover, MA
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline