You're asking two different questions. Do you need an attorney? You are not required to have one, but it is a very good idea. You stand little chance in Court without one.
Can you just go get your daughter from your Mom, or do you have to have a Court order to do that? I don't know if there is a court order already governing your child, although it sounds like your mom has already filed something. Ask your Mom what is going on, and also check with the District Clerk of the County you live in if there is a case on file.
This information is not legal advice and does not form an attorney-client relationship.
I would hire an experienced family law attorney immediately. Hire the best attorney that you can afford. Look on the excellent website. Most offer a free consultation. Find one that you can "talk" to & feel comfortable with. Don't wait - do it NOW! Most take payment plans.
I also agree with the other attorney that answered this question - it sounds like something is happening -- so don't wait for the paperwork.
You voluntarily gave your child to your mother so that is not good. I know that you did it trying to be a good parent but it will not look good in good in court to a judge because now you are going to try to disrupt your child's home life. Your child is used to living with your mother so why should this child have to move now that you have finally gotten your life stabilized? The burden is now shifted to you to show why the child should be moved -- are you beginning to get the picture?
I doubt that the pro bono (free) agencies in the Houston area have the resources to help you in a timely manner. They are Lone Star Legal, Houston Volunteer Lawyer at 713-228-0732 and the law school - South Texas College of Law, University of Houston and Texas Southern University - that I am aware of -- there might be more but they would be small. Their waiting lines are very long. You can call them and the United Way.
Don't get discouraged - it sounds like you are a loving & caring mother that is trying to do the best for her child. So keep loving & caring for your child.
Remember....mediation is an alternative -- I charge $250 per side for 4 hours.
There is also the DRC and the DRO for free in the Houston area.
Attorney Brochstein is donating her time and talent by answering questions to help those in need of legal information. If you found this answer "helpful" or "best answer", please select the button to show your appreciation. Please understand that this is not a consultation and in no way creates an attorney-client relationship. You are strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney in your county in person about your specific problem.
Sign up to receive a 5-part series of useful information and advice about child custody law.