My daughter was arrested for violation of probation in Gwinnett today because she got arrested for DUI in another county. She currently has NO BOND. She can not afford an attorney and used a public defender to get probation in 2013 for theft by taking. She has only 4 weeks left until it would have ended. What is the average length of time she could sit in jail before going before a judge for a probation hearing? Is she automatically assigned a public defender now? She knows she messed up.
She could sit in jail for days, weeks, or even months waiting to see a judge. It depends on which judge handled her case, and how their calendars are rotating. She should see a judge within 2 to 4 weeks. She is not automatically assigned a public defender.
James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. All information given is based only on Georgia law, and is not directly applicable to any other jurisdictions, states, or districts. Any answer given assumes the person who asked the question holds a Georgia Drivers License, and this license is not a commercial drivers license (CDL). This response, or any response, is not legal advice. This response, or any response, does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information. Any state specific concerns should be directed to an attorney who is licensed to practice law in that respective state.
PROTECT YOUR DAUGHTER.
Your best course of action contact a local attorney, either by email or phone, who will protect you and your rights.
The best way to do this is by clicking on the find a lawyer tab on AVVO. Then find one that will offer a free consultation. This benefits you in two way, first and foremost you need to find an attorney who fits well with you and secondly to make sure that they are skilled enough to take on your case. The best case scenario is that you get your questions answered and you get a powerful attorney to help you if you need one.
Getting a public defender is not automatic. She can sit until the probation officer sets a hearing for the violation. If she has been violated then she will have a hold on her which is why she can't get anbond on the new charges.
If you find this answer helpful, please mark it here on AVVO as helpful. At this time, I am not accepting professional responsibility on this matter. No attorney/client relationship is created unless and until I receive a signed retainer agreement along with the requested retainer fee. If this matter is truly important to you, hire an attorney. In answering you, I am attempting to communicate general legal information and am not representing you (and am not your lawyer). Without reviewing the appropriate paperwork It is possible that answers here, while meant to be helpful, may in some cases not be complete or accurate, and I highly recommend that you retain legal counsel rather than rely on the answers here. Any information in this communication is for discussion purposes only, and is not offered as legal advice. There is no right to rely on the information contained in this communication and no attorney-client relationship is formed. Note that I am only licensed in Georgia and thus cannot practice in other states. Nothing in my answer should be considered as tax-advice. Circular 230 Disclosure: Pursuant to recently-enacted U.S. Treasury Department Regulations, we are now required to advise you that, unless otherwise expressly indicated, any federal tax advice contained in this communication, including attachments and enclosures, is not intended or written to be used, and may not be used, for the purpose of (i) avoiding tax-related penalties under the Internal Revenue Code or (ii) promoting, marketing or recommending to another party any tax-related matters addressed herein.
People always "know they messed up" after they get caught. Sounds like you need to hire a defense attorney for her. If she's got no bond, maybe he can get her a bond.
She will need to apply for a public defender. If she is not a first offender, the most she could get revoked is the 4 weeks that are left. She will probably end up in court in 2-4 weeks.
Sounds like your daughter has some serious charges that could affect her life in the future. It may be worth investing into an experienced criminal defense attorney to handle both the probation violation and her DUI charge.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline