Yes, because you did not have other protections which may have been provided for within a lease. You can ask for more time but a landlord/new owner does not have to comply. Good luck,
Ms. Nepton is licensed to practice law in Michigan. The response herein is not legal advice and does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information. Oftentimes the question does not include significant and important facts and timelines that, if known, could significantly change the reply and make it unsuitable. Ms. Nepton strongly advises the questioner to confer with an attorney in order to ensure proper advice is received.
Practically speaking, you have a little bit longer than 30 days. If you rent month-to-month, your new landlord can give you 30 days notice that he/she wishes to recover possession of the premises from you. However, after that 30 day period expires, if you haven't yet moved out, the landlord then has to file an eviction suit. The eviction suit itself will take a week or two, at a minimum, and might take longer. You can't be put out until the court issues an order of eviction (also called a Writ of Restitution).
Long story, short, though, either side can terminate a month-to-month lease after 30 days notice.
Please understand that this response is informational only, and that it doesn't establish an attorney-client relationship. An attorney-client relationship is only established after you have spoken with us, and we've both signed a written agreement.
You haven't any defense to this. After the 30 day period, the landlord (new owner) can begin a proceedings for court eviction.. After that begins, you likely have about 7 - 14 days to voluntarily move. Take your available resources of time and money and put them into finding new quarters. Good luck!!!!
This commentary does not result in any attorney/client relationship nor constitute legal advice as to a particular fact situation or status of a reader. Consult and retain legal counsel in the State of Michigan for pursuit of such a relationship.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline