I have a month to month but I never signed a lease I fell behind in rent but worked out a deal with my landlord I would pay my current month in full which I did and give her a payment on the back rent every week two days after I paid her the rent for the month she texts me that her daughter has choose to sale the house and we had two weeks to get out
You need to talk with a local landlord-tenant attorney since your rights are defined by New Mexico law. It does not sound like your being behind on rent is the reason she is attempting to terminate your tenancy but rather is because she wants her dwelling back so she can prepare and sell it without needing to deal with a tenant living there. While, as noted, everything depends upon local law, most states require 30 days notice to terminate a month to month tenancy and at least here in Oregon, text messaging does not count as a legal notice at all. All this said, you should be looking to move elsewhere since she will be able to get rid of you sooner or later, it is only a question of how long it will be before she figures out how to jump through the required hoops to make it enforceable. If she sees an attorney, of course, she is likely to accomplish it in as little time as is legally possible. Thus you may want to talk with a local landlord-tenant attorney to learn your rights as well. Good luck.
Consumer Law Northwest
6635 N. Baltimore, #254
Portland, OR 97203
"Practicing Landlord-Tenant Law in Oregon for Over 20 Years"
Nothing contained herein should be considered as legal advice for any specific situation and nothing herein is intended to create a lawyer-client relationship. Every case is very "fact-specific" and persons wishing legal advice on a specific matter should contact me or another attorney for an appointment to review their particular circumstances and to create a lawyer-client relationship. Gregory L. Abbott, Attorney at Law, 6635 North Baltimore, Suite 254, Portland, Oregon 97203. Tel: 503-283-4568; Fax: 503-283-4586; Email: [email protected] Specializing in Consumer and Small Business Law.
The New Mexico Uniform Owner Resident Relations Act requires a thirty day notice to terminate a month to month tenancy. This notice must be given 30 days prior to the beginning of the rental period for which they wish to terminate the tenancy.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline