It is only covered under no-fault if you have an auto policy or you know who the hit you and can make a claim on his/her policy. If neither apply you can file a claim with MVIAC, a quadi state agency that provides benefits to victims of hit and run. They require you notify the police within 24 hours so hopefully you got the name of the police officer who responded or can at least show a phone record of the call.
I am a former federal and State prosecutor and have been doing criminal defense work for over 16 years. I was named to the Super Lawyers list as one of the top attorneys in New York for 2012 and 2013. No more than 5 percent of the lawyers in the state are selected by Super Lawyers. Martindale-Hubbell has given me its highest rating - AV Preeminent - in the areas of Criminal Law, Personal Injury, and Litigation. According to Martindale-Hubbell”AV Preeminent is a significant rating accomplishment - a testament to the fact that a lawyer's peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence." Fewer than 8% of attorneys achieve an AV Preeminent rating. I also have the highest ranking – “superb” – on Avvo. The above answer, and any follow up comments or emails is for informational purposes only and not meant as legal advice.Ask a similar question
New York law states that no-fault benefits do not apply to motorcycles. That is your insurance company will not pay for your medical bills, loss wages, etc. However, you may recoup these costs against the offending vehicle.Ask a similar question
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.