mother taught daughter sexual acts to perform on step brother to get molestation charges on him so the children would not be able to visit at fathers house anymore, this was revenge for ex leaving her for other woman. daughter was told what to do , then what had to be said in court etc..? daughter was told by mother bad thing would happen to them if they didnt do this?
This happened 35 years ago? What was the result? Is what you are saying now, or could it be, newly discovered evidence that was not discoverable at the time? The best thing to do is to go see a criminal defense attorney who has practiced for many decades. You can report the crime, and the state will decide whether to press charges.
R. Jason de Groot, Esq. We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made. I am only licensed in Florida.
Duplicate post. Nevertheless, I'm very sorry to hear about this. 35 years later, practically speaking, threre's very little chance of a successful prosecution, but feel free to report the crime to law enforcement where the crime occurred and let them handle it from there.
Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney--Former Prosecutor--Put my experience to work for you!
In California if their was sexual molestation of a child, and that child did not remember the incident until adulthood, the statute of limitations is three years from the time of memory. The victim needs certification from a psychologist or psychiatrist confirming that there was psychological injury, and that the injury was caused by the molestation.
Thirty-five years is a long time, and evidence and witnesses may be difficult to find. A private citizen cannot "press charges," only the District Attorney can do that. Report the incident to law enforcement, and if they believe there is a chargeable offense, they will forward the report to the D.A. who will make a decision about prosecution.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline