1st offense, & will a calibration of the vechicle she drove be accepted by Judge? A request of a court appointed attorney, community service, 6 month restricted driving probabtion, be reasonable to request? Expecting a sizeable fine and as her parents feel she needs to be responsible in payment. We are a middle class family with another daughters college tuition due so us to afford the payment is not feasible. Is their a program availible for daughter to work and pay for fine assessed by Judge. It was her choice to speed and she needs to be responsible for repayment. Will we be responsible to pay?
That's really fast and serious offense in Virginia. Retain an attorney with specific experience handling traffic matters in and around that county. She might lose her license for a period of time.
San Diego Criminal Defense Attorney--Former Prosecutor--20 years experience.
Loss of license and jail time are normally on the table for that speed so I'd suggest retaining an attorney for your daughter who's familiar with that juvenile court.
An attorney-client relationship is only created by retaining my legal services. Also, none of my answers to questions on this forum should be considered legal advice.
You are looking at possible incarceration time and large fine. This complicated and and best to get directly to a lawyer on this. The learning experience of what you should have done , if you don't get help may likely be most costly in the long run. Stop the worry. Get a conference with a lawyer . Then make the decision.
Dear Abingdon - She is likely looking at jail tome for that speed - which judges deem to be ridiculously high!!! Being a minor will be helpful. Please get a lawyer form the area where the case will be heard - AVVO's find a lawyer is helpful. Also, be careful about posting thins on-line.
A calibration is always helpful if it shows the driver did not know the actual speed they were driving, however, having been charged with 32mph over the speed limit (never heard of a speedometer off that much) it will only help so much. Since you stated you are a middle-class family and your daughter is still your responsibility I doubt you will qualify for a court appointed attorney. In the Commonwealth of Virginia a conviction of reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or up to a $2,500.00 fine. Your daughter will not do the max but is facing jail time, fines, loss of license. I would strongly suggest you hire an attorney for your daughter. If convicted, her record will be sealed at age 18, as she is a juvenile, but you should also consider your car insurance rate which probably already increased when she was added to your policy. Reckless Driving is a 6 point violation at DMV and will cause your insurance to increase by quite a lot. Hiring an attorney to fight the conviction would be a wiser use of your money. As for the fines, most courts will work with you and some will let you set up a payment plan. I would also check into a driving improvement class.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline