Skip to main content
Peter Todd Stevenson

Peter Stevenson’s Answers

192 total


  • How many years in prison for assault first degree-serious physical injury, armed criminal action, and felonious restraint?

    How many years can some one get for assault in the first degree-serious physical injury, armed criminal action, and felonious restraint? A person close to me is currently being held and charged for all 3. Before now they have a clean record. Is th...

    Peter’s Answer

    Facing 10-30 or life on the Assault and he'll serve minimum of 85% of sentence; 3-life on the ACA; up to 7 on the felonious restraint. He needs to retain an attorney right away as he is facing serious time.

    See question 
  • Can he get into any trouble?

    In the state of Missouri what is the legal age for teens dating. Can 16-20 year olds date? Missouri statue 566.064.2 looks that way but I don't want my 18 year old getting in any trouble for having a 16 year old girlfriend.

    Peter’s Answer

    For dating? No. For statutory rape? No, that requires one person to be 21 and the other under 17. For second degree child molestation? Technically yes, based on the way the statute is written.

    566.034. 1. A person commits the crime of statutory rape in the second degree if being twenty-one years of age or older, he has sexual intercourse with another person who is less than seventeen years of age.

    2. Statutory rape in the second degree is a class C felony.

    566.068. 1. A person commits the crime of child molestation in the second degree if he or she subjects another person who is less than seventeen years of age to sexual contact.

    2. Child molestation in the second degree is a class A misdemeanor unless the actor has previously been convicted of an offense under this chapter or in the course thereof the actor inflicts serious physical injury on any person, displays a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument in a threatening manner, or the offense is committed as part of a ritual or ceremony, in which case the crime is a class D felony.

    See question 
  • What can i do?

    I purchased a car 5 days ago & the motor blew off 3 days after i got it! Iv been calling the dealer where i got it from to see if i can get a borrow car while mine is getting fix but they wont called me back. the car has warranty but i dnt know if...

    Peter’s Answer

    There may be ways to void the sale and possibly go after the dealer. But, you will need an attorney to help you with this.

    See question 
  • In March 2014 my husband and I purchased a vehicle.Shortly after we split up and he had the truck.I was listed as the driver.

    He crashed the truck and I was no where around. Now they are suspending my licence...But I am not at fault..can they do this or can I fight it?

    Peter’s Answer

    You can - and should - fight it. You will have much better luck with an attorney helping you. I am going to switch this question to the appropriate area, however, as this is not a lemon law issue.

    See question 
  • I bought a car signed contract,it broke down 3 hours after i got it they have had it for 2 months ,not fixed yet,can i get out

    i traded truck plus 250 dollars can i get it back

    Peter’s Answer

    Missouri's lemon law does not cover used vehicles, unfortunately. However, you may have a case under the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. You should contact an attorney and explain your situation.

    See question 
  • Car title issues

    I bought a car from dealership in St Louis Mo I received a title that didn't have all owners signatures when I got it back it was the wrong name Title no good owner says he not responible

    Peter’s Answer

    You will need an attorney who handles consumer law to help you with this.

    See question 
  • Can I sue my car dealer?

    On May 30,2015 I put a down payment of $1,000 down on a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The following week I took them $250.They asking asking price was $3,900.I went to a used car lot but I had a 60 day warranty which really covered 50% if Transmission/En...

    Peter’s Answer

    You may have a claim under the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. You'll want to speak with a consumer rights attorney right away.

    See question 
  • What can I do if I bought a car 2013 Volkswagen May 28,15 and June 7,15 the motor goes out..June 26 same thing happen? GMT AUTO

    They towed the car June 8 I got the car back June 25 they said with a new engine.. June 26 I arrived to work and pull out the drive way and seen oil on the ground and my oil light like before.

    Peter’s Answer

    More information is needed. Did you buy it new or used? If you bought it used, the Lemon Law does not apply, but you may have a claim under the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. Did you buy "as is?" Did you buy from a dealer or private party? If you bought from a dealer, did the dealer give you a valid inspection? These are questions that an attorney will ask you. You should contact an attorney who handles consumer cases.

    See question 
  • My son is sitting in county jail domestic charges I am guessing his third one. Iam reading on the in internet her could get 7

    years for this, is this true?

    Peter’s Answer

    If it's 2nd degree, then yes, that is a Class C Felony, range of punishment is up to 7 years.

    See question 
  • I'm being charged with 1st degree child endangermment ...me and my wife overdosed in gas station parking with our kid in the car

    I was a passenger in the car I don't see how I cam be charged with 1st degree child endangerment and the charges stick any advice or case law that will help me beat this or get it dropped to a misdemeanor

    Peter’s Answer

    You need to hire a lawyer immediately, and not post things on public forums. Delete this post if you can. This incident made the news in Springfield, so either edit or delete your post!!

    See question