Skip to main content

Kenneth B Gorton

Litigation Attorney at University Place, WA

5.0   22 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State WA
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Kenneth

Learn Kenneth’s areas of practice.

INJURED & THINK YOU HAVE A CASE? CONTINGENCY BASED, CALL FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION.

Kenneth Gorton is a trial attorney in Washington. He has represented hundreds of clients in Court, including teachers, veterans, firefighters and police officers injured in the line of duty. He has recovered tens of millions of dollars in verdicts and settlements.

Mr. Gorton is rated 10 out of 10 (superb) by AVVO and recognized by Super Lawyers Magazine. He is also a member of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum, which only admits trial attorneys who have demonstrated “superior results in complex cases” exceeding one million dollars.

Mr. Gorton's qualifications include a doctorate in law and master’s in dispute resolution from Pepperdine University, as well as a master's in psychology from the University of Alaska. He served as a federal law clerk for the Honorable Robert Bryan, and then as a deputy prosecutor for Thurston County before entering private practice as a litigator. Mr. Gorton currently manages a busy law firm in University Place, Washington.

Please visit our website at for more information.

DISCLAIMER: EACH CASE IS DIFFERENT AND EACH OUTCOME IS DIFFERENT. PAST PERFORMANCE DOES NOT GUARANTEE FUTURE PERFORMANCE OR OUTCOME.

Awards

Client's Choice 2013
Client's Choice
2013

Photos and videos

Please visit our office in University Place.
Please visit our website at www.GortonLaw.net.

Location

Gorton Law PLLC
4113 Bridgeport Way West
Suite D
University Place, WA, 98466

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  22 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2013
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Deb | March 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgable, experienced, and hard working
My daughter was hit by a car while riding her bike and received injuries that will still take quite a bit of time to heal. Thankfully, Ken accepted her case after the first attorney abandoned it. Ken’s attitude, experience, knowledge, and hard work proved to be a winner. He clearly communicated throughout the process and explained everything so we could understand. It was such a relief to have an attorney who we knew was always looking out for her best interest! Ken patiently negotiated the best possible settlement for her and we are truly grateful for this. I would absolutely recommend Ken Gorton to those in need of a professional and caring attorney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Personal Injury Attorney
Kenneth represented me for a rear-end collision and I could not have asked for a better attorney. He was honest, professional, responded to my emails in a very timely manner, and always made sure that I was in the loop of what was happening with the claim. I was very happy with the way Kenneth handled my claim.
Posted by Shirley | June 21, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
Kenneth went over and above to meet the needs of our case. He did an outstanding job navigating this intricate case. He is knowledgeable, well spoken, and takes action. It was a pleasure working with Kenneth and I would highly recommend him.
Posted by anonymous | December 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding service and knowledgeable guidance
Mr. Gorton came highly recommended by a mutual acquaintance after I was seriously injured in a multiple vehicle collision. I had been struggling to navigate the insurance morass for more than a year before discovering my injuries had not been correctly diagnosed following several visits to doctors and dozens of painful physical therapy sessions that were making some things worse. Once Mr. Gorton was on board, I was able to take a welcome break in not having to deal with this very confusing and frustrating issue as he took control of the case allowing me to focus on recovery. This gave me time and freedom to find a doctor who finally figured out underlying issues leading to multiple surgeries and more PT without the pressure from insurance companies to resolve the case quickly or continual questions about progress that seemed "too slow" for their company processes. Mr. Gorton's extensive legal experience and deep understanding of the insurance profession led to a positive outcome. He used several specialists to create medical, financial and historical reports in preparation for court, which ultimately convinced the at fault party's insurance carrier to wisely settle pre-trial. I appreciated his pace, counsel, reassurance and patience in dealing with court and insurance. His calm demeanor and tenacious advocacy were a huge plus. This case began well before Covid hit, continuing through many months of court closures and slowdowns. He was there for me and my family every step of the way.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 13, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Picks up the phone
Picks up the phone. Straight forward guy. Went beyond what I expected. Would definitely recommend.
Posted by Courtney | February 11, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Impressive Resolve, Incredible Results
I basically cold-called Kenneth after I found out that my insurance company wasn't complying with state law after I consulted the statutes myself. Aside from being down-to-earth with a frank demeanor, Kenneth is a realist. He was polite but frank when he explained the multitude of ways that insurance companies can avoid accountability by destroying the resolve and wallets of policy-holders through elaborate feats of mental and legal agility. He didn't promise any specific outcome, but he did agree to represent me--and he came through with a glorious vengeance. Previously, my insurance company had refused to pay to fix any mechanical damage sustained from two accidents to the point where my car was actually confiscated by the dealer for being unsafe to drive despite my having had the car inspected almost immediately prior to--and in some cases directly after--the accidents to establish points of reference. While I torched $600 on rental cars during this ordeal, my insurance company--who stubbornly only agreed to fix a single part for about $1,500 and refused to budge from our stalemate--abruptly changed its tune after Kenneth called on my behalf. Not only were they no longer trying to bully me into a paltry settlement that would have saddled me with an unsafe car and a bad faith claim from hell, but they were legally no longer able to talk directly with me, which alleviated a huge source of stress in my life. When Kenneth called saying that they finally agreed to total the car, I was ecstatic. He was the one who originally reminded me about GAP coverage and suggested I look into it, and he was in constant communication as new developments arose. Also, he was highly adept at presenting multiple options depending on the outcome I desired and persevered until the insurance company acquiesced to my desired outcome. In this instance, he was grit personified. Truth be told, Kenneth is the most selfless lawyer I've had the pleasure of working with, and I could not be more impressed with the quality of his work, his tenacity, and the attention to detail he pays to ensure that his clients receive the best outcome they can given their particular circumstances. He thoroughly answered any questions I had along the way, and he really came through for me during a tumultuous transition in my life. There is no way I would have gotten these results had I tried to take on the company myself, especially when I learned how tightly they can circle the wagons to avoid opening the company coffers any more than they can get away with. I have generally had a good relationship with this company, but in this instance, I caught a glimpse of the seedy underbelly of the industry--and it was ugly. Thank God for principled consumer advocates like Kenneth. He was well worth the legal services he offered, and then some. I could not be more appreciative, and if there were a rating above five stars, I'd give him that. And to Kenneth personally--thank you for giving me my life back when I had all but lost hope. This review is long overdue, and if I could give twice the praise I am now, it'd only be half of the praise you deserve for untangling this mess. You've made a huge difference in my life, so I can only imagine what you've accomplished for others. Rock on, rock star.
Read less
Posted by Bryce | October 30, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Like a friend of the family
Kenneth, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I had an injury and no clue what steps to take or what to do in order to help myself. Kenneth, volunteered to hear my information and gave me great advice and instructed me on how to achieve the result I wanted. His advice helped me to receive double the amount which was originally offered. Finally, he helped me to reach my settlement by myself, but also offered to step into the case if I was unable to handle it. I very much appreciated him and highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by Cynthia | September 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best lawyer out there!
A few years ago Kenneth helped me with a personal injury claim against my university. I had an incident where my financial aid was incorrectly filed by school administrators - it put me in a position of either dropping out with two classes remaining or paying back $55,000 of loans in one lump sum to finish school. It was literally a detrimental life altering situation I found myself in. Prior to finding Kenneth, I notified my school of their error, they acknowledged it and told me they were working on it. After 3 months of no updates and reaching out to them 3 to 4 times a week, I realized I had a time limit of a month to have it fixed or I would automatically be forced to pay back my loans before finishing school. I called several lawyers before finding Kenneth and none would help because the end result wasn't financially rewarding enough for them to take it on. He took my claim on a contingency basis with no upfront costs, merely because he felt what was happening with my school was unjust. He fought tooth and nail for me and negotiated multiple times with my school's legal team to get the best result. In the end, my school paid off my remaining tuition and settled for nearly 30k. Not only did his actions as a lawyer show his competency, but his compassion and morality shined through as well. Kenneth is one of the best lawyers out there! He changed my life and I am forever grateful.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very knowledgable strategist for my employment disability case
I needed help pursuing a employment disability claim against a private insurance company. My disability was neurological and not blatantly obvious, so it was more challenging than some other types of cases. Ken's expertise was critical in winning approval of my claim. He was responsive, informative, and knew how the insurer would push back and what would be needed to prevail. Like any case, he needs to know everything and asked me hard questions to make sure the case was solid. It was a long process of position, getting various doctor reviews, preparing and submitting paperwork, and eventually gaining approval. I'm convinced Ken's efforts made the difference, he was a consistent advocate guiding me throughout the process.
Read less
Posted by Krista | September 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced and professional
I’m so glad I was referred to Gorton Law. Kenneth is extremely professional and stays the course. His experience and persistence were ultimately what helped us get a good outcome from a bad situation. I’d recommend Gorton Law to anyone.
Posted by Brad | April 9, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Clear, creative, and effective
After being told by my existing law firm that they didn't think I had much of a case, a friend who also suffered the loss of a child due to negligence suggested I call Ken. Ken listened, and then shared with me the variety of ways that my case might go. He was up front about our chances for success and the length of time it may take to resolve. He was always available by phone, email or text, and he always took the time to explain just where we stood. In the end, Ken achieved more than I had hoped for, and provided me with the resources to create monuments to my children's lives, raise awareness of fire safety issues, and purchase a home in which to start over.
Read less
Posted by James | June 25, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome lawyer
We hired Ken over a warranty dispute and he was very focused on solving our claim without going to litigation. He kept us updated on the progress and gave us advice when decisions needed to be made. He he very personable and easy to talk to yet very professional. If we ever have legal issues again we will definitely call him. In my opinion he's the best lawyer and we are very pleased with the results.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 23, 2014
Truly Spectacular Attorney Helps Unique Client with Unique Case - 10 Stars
It took me almost a year to find an attorney that would take my case, which without the unique circumstances would have been hopeless. For me hopeless was not an option, I need to take my power back. Mr. Gorton was able to share my vision for a positive outcome and even mentor me to understand an even better one than I could have imagined. He is responsive, highly intelligent and shows with deliberate action that he cares about you as a whole person and not just a client. From everyday personal injury cases to highly unique ones that require creative action, Mr. Gorton is the only choice!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 1, 2014
a great personal injury attorney
Kenneth represented me in 2 cases. He was diligent and hardworking. I trusted him. I was happy with the outcome. I would recommend him for anyone in a personal injury case.
Posted by David | February 24, 2014
Recent MVA
Gorton Law was very supportive when my car was totaled by another driver on I5 in late December 2013. While I have continued communicating directly with the insurance company, Kenneth has interjected at key times when they were attempting to "finalize" a settlement for the claim. While the claim is far from settled, I am confident Ken will support and ensure the best outcome possible.
Read less
Posted by George | September 30, 2013
Career Ending Disability With a Positive Outcome due to Mr. Gorton's Expertise
I was a career firefighter. I lived and breathed my profession, it was all I knew. Due to the negligence of a business owner, I suffered career ending injuries. Ken was able to help me through this difficult and personally devastating situation. Ken's knowledge in premises liability combined with his negotiation skills with Labor & Industries was in a word, outstanding. This was a difficult time for me but Ken's professionalism, litigation, and negotiations skills helped me through this confusing time. My life will never be the same again; however, when Ken settled my claim, I was able to see a light at the end of the tunnel and made it easier for me to move on and move forward with my life.
Read less
Posted by carol | September 7, 2013
Kenneth Gorton - Very Professional
Mr. Gorton stepped in on my case in mid course. Picked up on everything immediately. Was in contact on all aspects.
Posted by Kyle | September 3, 2013
I am glad I had Ken on my side.
Ken handled a very complicated case for me involving two auto accidents and three insurance companies. I expected it to take a very long time to settle but Ken had a strategic plan and worked hard to bring my case to a close. I got frequent updates on the status of my case. I feel Ken went above and beyond his responsibility to assure a fair settlement. I would also say that Ken is very easy to talk to and was very prompt in responding to any questions I had.
Read less
Posted by Ron | September 3, 2013
Excellent Service
I spent three years working with Mr. Gorton on my case involving an MVA while I was working on-duty. There were several entities (L&I; Agency; 3 insurance companies; multiple lawyers, etc) involved, and only one group (my lawyers) who were actively looking after my best interest. I found Mr. Gorton to be very respectful to all parties during the litigation and most importantly, was confident that his advice to me was always principled with options along with recommendations regarding a reasonable resolution that would bring the settlement that met my best interest. Excellent work and thank you.
Read less
Posted by Kevin | September 2, 2013
Highly Recommend
Ken Gorton represented me in a very complicated product liability case involving a government agency, a large corporation, L&I, State and Federal Court. The opposing attorneys in the case worked for large, well funded law firms and were representing a multi-billion dollar company. I am a firefighter who was injured on the job while fighting a fire, my injuries threaten to end my career. During the years leading up to trial Ken successfully guided us through several pitfalls where one wrong decision would have been disastrous. I would best describe the case as a high stakes chess match with my job, future medical care and financial well-being on the line. Ken was "Brilliant " through-out the trial, he is truly a "Master of his Craft". Having Ken represent me in this case was one of the best decisions ever, and not just for the fact that we won. During the hours and hours that Ken and I spent together, it became very evident that he truly cares for his clients. He balanced the monetary aspects of the case while ensuring I would continue receiving medical care and that my job was protected. I had never met Ken prior to this case, I now consider him a friend. I highly recommend Ken Gorton. Thanks again for everything Ken Kevin
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Attorney
  • Gorton Law PLLC
  • 2013 - Present
  • Litigation Attorney
  • Private Civil Practice
  • 2007 - 2013
  • Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
  • Thurston County Deputy Prosecutor
  • 2006 - 2006
  • Federal Clerkship
  • The Honorable Robert Bryan
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Clerkship
  • NASD Dispute Resolution Center (Los Angeles)
  • 2004 - 2004
  • Clerkship
  • Aidikoff & Uhl (Beverly Hills)
  • 2004 - 2005
  • Clerkship
  • Steptoe & Johnson (London)
  • 2003 - 2003
  • Student Editor
  • American Bar Association Student Journal
  • 2003 - 2004
View all work experience

Education

  • Pepperdine School of Law
  • Doctorate in Law
  • 2005
  • Pepperdine School of Law
  • Master's Degree (Dispute Resolution)
  • 2005
  • University of Alaska
  • Master's Degree (Psychology)
  • 1997
  • University of Alaska
  • Bachelor's Degree (Psychology)
  • 1996
View all education

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Wrongful death in fire - Lewis County
  • $2,000,000.00
  • Firefighter injured in line of duty - King County
  • $1,125,296.00
  • Motor vehicle collision - King County
  • $900,000.00
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Washington State Association for Justice
  • Eagle Member
  • N/A
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Washington State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Washington Court of Appeals
  • Member
  • N/A
  • United States Court of Appeals For the Ninth Circuit
  • Member
  • N/A
  • United States District Court (Western District of Washington)
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Federal Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top Ten Best Attorneys - Client Satisfaction
  • American Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2015
  • 2013 Client's Choice Award
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Certificate of Professionalism (Five Week Jury Trial)
  • Pierce County Superior Court
  • 2013
  • Life Member
  • Million Dollar Advocates Forum
  • 2011
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • American Bar Association
  • 2003
  • Certificate of Appreciation (National Campaign for Tolerance)
  • Southern Poverty Law Center
  • 2002
View all awards

Publications

View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Seattle University
  • Guest Lecturer (Criminal Procedure)
  • 2014
  • Green River College
  • Guest Lecturer (Criminal Law)
  • 2014
  • Seattle University
  • Guest Lecturer (Criminal Procedure)
  • 2013
  • Seattle University
  • Guest Lecturer (Criminal Justice)
  • 2012
  • Brady-Gorton Legal Hour
  • Former Radio Show Host (Attorney)
  • 2007
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (7)
Given (12)
Endorse Kenneth
Personal injury Attorney | Aug 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community."
Personal injury Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Kenneth. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Personal injury Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked with Ken on several cases over the last two years. He is smart, hardworking and a good team player. I would recommend him to anyone who is looking for a good lawyer to associate with on a personal injury or other tort claim."
Personal injury Attorney | Nov 28
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse Ken lawyer. He is dedicated to his clients and to providing them with the highest legal representation. Ken is experienced in this area of the law and well respected."
Personal injury Attorney | Nov 27
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Ken is a very intelligent and competent attorney. He treats counsel and litigants with respect. He is a well prepared and effective advocate."
Personal injury Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I have worked opposite Ken on a couple of matters. I always found him to be deeply invested in his client's cause, showcasing both professionalism and passion. He is a skilled attorney and a wonderful advocate."
Personal injury Attorney | Mar 24
Relationship: Co-worker
"Ken and I are attorneys with the same firm, so I have had the opportunity to observe both the quality of his work and the passion he brings to representing individuals who have been injured. I am consistently impressed with his dedication to his clients, and the quality of his representation. It is a pleasure to work with him on a daily basis, and I endorse him as both an excellent example of an advocate, and an example of professionalism for other attorneys."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury

Avvo Contributions

8 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
University Place Litigation Lawyer Kenneth B Gorton
Kenneth B Gorton
Litigation Attorney
University Place, WA
Licensed for 18 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available