Skip to main content

Michael P Brodsky

Criminal defense Attorney at Bellingham, WA

4.9   74 reviews
Licensed for 26 years Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Licensed for 26 years Free consultation Virtual consultation available

About Michael

Learn Michael’s areas of practice.

AGGRESSIVE REPRESENTATION FOR DUIS & CRIMINAL CHARGES . DON’T SETTLE FOR A LESS EXPERIENCED LAWYER!

My goal is to provide aggresive competent, compassionate and timely legal representation to you and your loved ones. I welcome the opportunity to talk with you and to discuss how I can be of service. I am a sole practitioner located in Bellingham, Washington. I have been practicing criminal defense almost exclusively for 17 years, with extensive experience with DUI/DWI cases and related criminal traffic and licensing issues as well as more serious criminal charges. One of the leading complaints about lawyers is their failure to return calls and answer emails.  You will never have to wait more than 48 hours for me to return a phone call or email!  Please call for a free consultation.

Awards

AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating
Client's Choice 2020,2019,2018,2017,2015,2014,2012
Client's Choice
2020 2019 2018 + 4 ...
Top Contributor 2014,2013
Top Contributor
2014 2013

Photos and videos

View more
Licensed for 26 years
State WA
Status Active
Acquired 1998
Updated 05/19/2023
State WI
Status Resigned
Acquired 1996
Updated 03/05/2023

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Michael

Law Office of Michael Brodsky
120 Prospect Street
Bellingham, WA, 98225-4300

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  74 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2020
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by anonymous | March 4, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Traffic ticket dismissal
Represented me at the Whatcom District Court on a speeding ticket, it was dismissed. His office told me he has a 100% dismissal rate and I can say that my case has not proved to be the exception yet, so I highly recommend him for this purpose.
Posted by anonymous | October 26, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Expert representation
Mr. Brodsky and his team provided expert representation. I followed all of his advice and we achieved our hoped-for outcome. I highly recommend this lawyer.
Posted by Jagjeet singh | July 7, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Hi
He’s good lawyer I recommend this lawyer good knowledge lawyer My name jagjeet singh sidhu
Posted by Michael | October 12, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
killed it
He did a good job and was on point with keeping communication. I was not in state and he did everything for me via zoom which was super helpful. Would highly recommend.
Posted by anonymous | September 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Grateful to Michael Brodsky
My husband had an issue and at his age we were very concerned. Michael was immediately kind and helpful and the issue was quickly resolved. High recommend him for your needs. An excellent experince.
Posted by Donna | March 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Can I give ten stars?
Mr. Brodsky handled my speeding ticket painlessly. The office staff were incredibly helpful. I was very worried as I have 100% clean record and no tickets in 25+ years. Thanks to them I still have a perfect history and NO raise in my insurance rates. Thank you, thank you, thank ou!
Posted by T.C. | December 26, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Firearms Rights Restoration
Michael did a great job! He and his staff were always friendly and helpful and he got my rights restored as he said he could do from the first time we spoke. I would recommend him to my friends and family. Thank you Mike and Tanya!
Posted by Masha Bos | December 10, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Job!
Awesome service and great results. Dismissed my infraction that I got on my birthday.
Posted by Chris | November 12, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney!!!
Mr. Brodsky helped me out with a protection order filed against me. He was able to work out a resolution with the opposing side that far exceeded my expectations. His communication was excellent throughout the whole process before, during, and after the proceedings.
Posted by anonymous | August 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lead Foot Speeder
I had received a speeding ticket coming back from Whatcom County. Needless to say, I was not a happy camper. That same day I hired Michael and HAVE NOT REGRETTED IT!! A family emergency came up and I had to fly out of state to attend to it. While I was gone, Michael handled my case. I was worried, since I was out of state, that something would come up that would need my attention. Because of Michael's professionalism and efficiency, I didn't have to worry. I am still out of state when I received an email from him saying that my ticket was dismissed. So, that is one less thing I have to stress about during this stressful time with my family. Let me put it bluntly, people: If you don't hire Michael P. Brodsky, you are shooting yourself in the foot! Hire him. Like RIGHT NOW!
Read less
Posted by Ken | August 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
He has 5 stars for a reason
So I hired this awesome dude to help me with my speeding ticket situation. He did exactly what he said he could do. Super professional and a pleasure to deal with. Helped me get my speeding ticket dismissed at a very reasonable price. Just an honest good guy. Can’t go wrong with him.
Posted by Eileen | July 16, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful Attorney life savor
I contacted the office for advice on a traffic violation. He and Tanya are above and beyond helpful and putting my mind at ease. For a very low cost Michael took care of everything and follow up was excellent. He truly has respect and consideration for the law and for his clients. I cannot thank him enough and Tanya.
Posted by G | June 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sealed juvenile records without any hassle - a life changer
Working with Michael has literally change my life for the better. He was always very communicative throughout the process of sealing my juvenile records, so I felt supported throughout the entire process. That said, it only took a month or so to seal my juvenile records! I've been followed around by the stigma of a childhood felony for my entire adult life, and having my record "cleared" in this way essentially is a second rebirth, a second lease on life, a second chance to focus on career and family without worry of my record getting in the way. Thank you thank you a thousand times thank you Mike!! If you're thinking of trying to seal a record, Mike is your guy!
Read less
Posted by Steve R. | December 11, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Michael is Fantastic!
I am so thrilled that I found Michael. He exceeded all of my expectations. If you find yourself in a legal challenge you are in good hands with Michael. I would use him again in a heartbeat. I highly recommend!
Posted by Parminder | November 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Michael is GREAT.
He helped me to dismissed my ticket. I highly trust him and recommend him. It was not my mistake when I got this ticket, so I contacted Michael and he helped dismissed my ticket. He helped to keep my driving records clean. Thanks to Michael P. Brodsky. I highly recommend him.
Posted by Jeffrey | November 3, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional
I was cited for obstruction of a police officer. I was referred to Mr. Brodsky by one of my supervisors. My citation unfortunately occurred during a high profile incident which in turn now made my citation a high profile incident after it was released to the newspaper. I was looking at a max fine of 10000 dollars and up to one year in jail. Mr. Brodsky was direct and honest. Long story short Mr. Brodsky was able to get my citation dropped down from a criminal gross misdemeanor, to a simple noise infraction. I paid a small 250 dollar fine and did 20 hours community service. Best of all, I got to keep my clean record. I can thank Mr. Brodsky enough for his professionalism, honesty and efficiency. I whole wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Brodsky to anyone in need of an attorney.
Read less
Posted by Liana | August 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Criminal Defense Lawyer
Mr. Brodsky did an incredible job handling two cases of mine in different counties and did so in a timely and professional matter. He always kept me updated with what was going on and was respectful and supportive during the process. Would high recommend.
Posted by Denise | July 31, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best!
This had been my 3rd or 4th time using Mr. Brodsky for traffic violations and I’ve been pleased every time! The ladies in the office are always polite and kept me in the loop for what was happening. Thank you!
Posted by Andrew | July 11, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Help me on traffic ticket
Mr. Brodsky helped me on traffic ticket. His work is very professionally and communication is very efficiently. Though we contacted by email and phone, I could always get the latest updates of my case in very timely manner.
Posted by Austin | May 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding ticket
Brodsky did a great job keeping me in the loop of what was going on and I was very happy with the out come. I would highly recommend him for traffic tickets
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.2 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Defense Attorney
  • Law Office of Michael Brodsky
  • 2003 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Snohomish County Public Defender Association
  • 1998 - 2003
  • Attorney
  • Law Office of Michael Brodsky
  • 1996 - 1998
  • Owner/Proprietor
  • Harvard Square Art Center
  • 1984 - 1993
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Wisconsin Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1996
  • Northeastern University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1992
  • Berklee College of Music
  • 1984

Legal Cases

  • Assault in the 2nd Degree with a Deadly Weapon
  • Acquitted after trial
  • White Collar Charge Dismissed
  • Dismissal

Associations

  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Graduate
  • N/A
  • National Criminal Defense College
  • Graduate
  • 2002 - 2002
  • Whatcom County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2011
  • Washington Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2011
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2010
  • Washington State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2011
  • National Institute for Trial Advocacy
  • Graduate
  • 1996 - 1996
  • Legal Defense Program
  • Law Student
  • 1995 - 1995
  • Vanderbilt School of Law National First Amendment Moot Court Competition
  • Competitor
  • 1995 - 1995
  • University of Wisconsin Law School Moot Court Board
  • Member
  • 1995 - 1995
  • Legal Assistance to Institutionalized Persons Program (LAIP)
  • Legal Assistance
  • 1994 - 1994
  • Immigration Law Project
  • Legal Assistance
  • 1994 - 1994
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Lead Council Rated
  • lawinfo.com
  • 2013
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • Award for Academic Achievement in Political Science
  • Northeastern University
  • 1992
  • Honors Independent Study
  • Northeastern University
  • 1990
  • Dean's List
  • Northeastern University
  • 1989
View all awards

Publications

  • WHATCOM COUNTY BAR JOURNAL
  • Unethical Sub-contracting in Representation: Watch Out for This!
  • 2013

Speaking Engagements

  • Whatcom County Bar Association CLE
  • Jury Selection - CLE Chair
  • 2012
  • CLE Chair
  • Power Litigation—Communicating to Win
  • 2011

Attorney endorsements

Received (32)
Given (22)
Endorse Michael
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 30
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Michael. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mike Brodsky as an attorney for almost 20 years. I refer people to him with confidence."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. If you have a DUI or other criminal charge in Whatcom County, Michael is your man."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Brodsky is a strong litigator and a zealous advocate. I highly recommend his services."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is an energetic trial lawyer and frequently contributes creative legal ideas in an organization which we both belong to. I rely on his ideas in my own practice."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mike is a personable and knowledgeable lawyer who is respected in the Whatcom County legal community."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mike since I started practicing criminal defense in 2004. He is a dedicated lawyer and works extremely hard to obtain the best results for his clients. I have a tremendous amount of respect for Mike and for his work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 28
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I worked with Mike early in our careers in Criminal Defense. I know him to be experienced, knowledgeable, and dedicated to his clients. His considerable trial experience gives his clients the advantage of obtaining the best possible results when charged with a crime. The respect he has earned among prosecutors and judges ensures his clients get the best defense possible."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have tried several cases with Mr. Brodsky. He is dynamic, prepared and effective. Mike is a great criminal defense attorney who knows how to results for his clients results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wholeheartedly endorse Mr. Brodsky's work. He is a tenacious, effective advocate for his clients. The Snohomish County legal community was sorry to see him move up North several years ago. Whatcom County residents are lucky to have an attorney of Mike's caliber in their community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Michael for nearly 10 years now, and have seen his work in several counties throughout Washington, on a variety of cases. Michael always brings a high degree of skill, knowledge, experience, and care to the table for all of his clients. I have no issue in having referred clients to Michael for any legal need, because I am confident they have received the highest degree of representation. In fact, I have received calls well after the case was over thanking me for such referrals."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mike for over 7 years. I got to work against him when I was a prosecutor and with him as a fellow defense attorney. He works extremely hard for his clients and the results show it. He is one of the attorneys I ask for opinions. I endorse this lawyer's work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. I worked with Mike on dependencies also and found him to be compassionate, fair, thorough and knowledgeable. An asset to the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wholeheartedly endorse Michael. I've sought his advice on many occasions. Recently, he shared a legal brief on a pretrial motion I once argued in court. His legal analysis was spot-on, the cases were helpful, and I won the motion. Michael is there for his clients, and has a wonderful legal assistant at his side. He's a credit to the profession."
View more endorsements
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Personal injury
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
Bellingham Criminal defense Lawyer Michael P Brodsky
Michael P Brodsky
Criminal defense Attorney
Bellingham, WA
Licensed for 26 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available