Skip to main content

David Nelson Jolly

DUI and DWI Attorney at Bellingham, WA

5.0   81 reviews

About David

Learn David’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. DUI and DWI
    90%
    Nearly my entire practice is dedicated to the defense of those accused of driving under the influence. However I also defend those charged with other driving offenses. As such, my focus is solely on defending my clients and protecting their rights in court and in front of the Department of Licensing. This focus has led to my authoring 8 DUI and traffic books, more than any other DUI attorney.

    25 years, 5,000 cases

  2. Criminal defense
    5%
    As a former prosecuting attorney of nearly four years I saw most every misdemeanor case imaginable. The attorneys at my law firm have the experience and nuance to fight successfully for every case and find every defense imaginable.

    25 years, 10,000 cases

  3. Speeding and traffic ticket
    5%
    Traffic tickets cost money, affect insurance and may even suspend your driver's license. Do not risk your insurance or driver's license being affected. Please call us to discuss your ticket in Whatcom County and how we can help defend your case.

    25 years, 10,000 cases

I have more than 23 years of experience in Washington State representing those accused of  DUI and driving crimes. It is a privilege representing people and I work very hard at gaining the best result for every client I represent. I have published more than 30 DUI and legal books, more than any other DUI attorney in Washington State. I am also a certified instructor for field sobriety testing and a local Pro Tem Judge. My practice emphasizes DUI, criminal driving charges, traffic tickets and personal injury.

Author of:

  • The DUI Handbook For the Accused (2007)
  • DUI/DWI: The History of Driving Under the Influence (2009)
  • The DUI App for the Accused (1st DUI App (iTunes) for Defendants)
  • The DUI Handbook for the Accused, Vol. II (2011)
  • The DUI Investigation Handbook (2011)
  • The Drug DUI Handbook (2011)
  • The Traffic Ticket Handbook (2011)
  • The Ultimate Washington State DUI Handbook (2011)
  • The Washington State DUI Pocket Handbook (2011)
  • The Personal Injury Handbook (2012)
  • The Car Accident Injury Handbook (2012)
  • The Slip and Fall Handbook (2013)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook (2013)
  • The Snohomish County DUI Handbook (2013)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook (2013)
  • The Island County DUI Handbook (2013)
  • The King County DUI Handbook (2013)
  • The Marijuana DUI Handook (2015)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook - 2017 (2017)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook - 2018 (2018)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook - 2019 (2019)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook - 2020 (2020)
  • The Whatcom County DUI Handbook - 2021 (2021)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook - 2017 (2017)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook - 2018 (2018)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook - 2019 (2019)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook - 2020 (2020)
  • The Skagit County DUI Handbook - 2021 (2021)

Please call for a free consultation (360) 336-8722 and FREE DUI BOOK

 

 

My law practice takes a unique view of the practice of law.  Our DUI Defense look at each and every case from different perspectives.  Obviously we look at the DUI case from a Washington DUI Defense attorney's perspective and how we can defeat each case or portions of evidence, but we also like to think outside the box.  For example, there is always a chance that our client's story, the things that make our client unique and inherently good, cannot be ignored.  While this personal approach doesn't work in every case, there are many that it will. Therefore it cannot be overlooked.

 

Our DUI defense lawyers service most of Western Washington from Skagit County, Whatcom County and Snohomish County  We have two offices serving our clients.  For Skagit County DUI cases we have an office in downtown Mt. Vernon near the courthouse.  For Bellingham DUI cases we have a Bellingham office conveniently located next to the Jail, Whatcom County District Court and Bellingham Municipal Courts.

 

Our representation is not limited to these County courts however.  We have an active practice in Lynnwood Municipal Court and in fact, I have practice Lynnwood DUI cases since 1998 when I became the City's prosecutor.  I believe we have the best team of Lynnwood DUI attorneys because of intimate knowledge of the Lynnwood DUI system.  We have also represented hundreds of clients who have received a DUI in Mill Creek, Edmonds, Mukilteo, Marysville, Mountlake Terrace, Bothell, Monroe and Arlington.


We have always maintained a very busy presence in representing those charged with DUI in Skagit County.  I had an office in Anacortes for more than 8 years and have represented hundreds of fine people charged with DUI in Anacortes and Mount Vernon DUIs for more than a decade. We maintain our busy Skagit County criminal defense practice so call today if you have been charged with a crime in Skagit County. 

Finally, we work hard to earn our clients respect.  That is probably why they speak so highly of our group of lawyers in their client testimonials.  No matter if you have been charged with DUI, a misdemeanor criminal charge, or a traffic ticket, my practice an my fellow attorneys are here to help.

Photos and videos

View more
Licensed for 25 years
State WA
Status Active
Acquired 1997
Updated 11/25/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact David

Law Firm Of David N. Jolly Ps
218 W. Champion Street
Bellingham, WA, 98225
Law Firm of David N. Jolly
410 Myrtle Street
Mount Vernon, WA, 98273
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  81 customer reviews
5 Star
 
99%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
1%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Danger | July 26, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Saved Me - Great Lawyer
I don't often review anything but David did so much to help me that he deserves it. David helped me in Skagit County. I messed up but he (and Janean) were so compassionate and helpful. He promised he would work hard and he did. We got a better result than I thought and want to thank him and Janean. Phew - glad it's over but happy I had him by my side.
Read less
Posted by William | July 26, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Walk Taller with David Jolly
I cannot say enough about David and his staff or thank him enough. Thank you, thank you. The result he got for me was a neg 1 from DUI and I think I am lucky. The case wasn't good but he helped me from the very start and was persistent with getting the best deal, not just any deal. Janean was great and helped me understand the license stuff and was great on the phone. If you're looking for the best package with lots of experience and a great reputation, look no more. Thank you David and Janean.
Read less
Posted by Sherri | August 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Most Attentive Compassionate, lawyer and staff
Having the misfortune of a DUI, obviously scared and Ashamed I was lucky enough to find David Jolly and his wife as well, felt totally at ease speaking with both of them and never felt judged He worked very hard on my case and I ended up with a very Favorable outcome, I never had a Doubt! Hope to never see him again in this kind of setting but I would recommend him Highly if you need the Best
Read less
Posted by David | August 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best of the best, literally wrote the book on DUI defense (many)
So I wish I would of met David under different circumstances but as it was he defended me in a DUI case. The team of David and Janean at David Jolly Law is really an uplifting breath of fresh air for anyone that hasn't navigated this brutal and broken process. They help you go through every step of the way, from dealing with the DOL to Alcohol assessment all the way to trial if it comes to that...everything. I don't know how people do it alone or with a public defender. I also encourage you if you're facing this decision in northwest Washington to read David's book. It really helps anyone understand. My case came out as good as it possibly could have and more importantly I had someone by my side helping which I am most thankful for.
Read less
Posted by Dustin | May 12, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Lawyer
Had the misfortune of being charged with DUI and the great fortune of finding David. Incredible result with a reduction and no supervised probation - and my DUI wasn't pretty. Thank you David and team.
Response from David Jolly July 22, 2022
Thank you for the generous comments. We know the matter was hard for you. I was a real pleasure working with you. Thanks again.
Posted by anonymous | February 24, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Would highly recommend David Jolly
Our daughter was cited/arrested for a DUI based on a improper turn. She was released a hour later and was expected in court early the next morning. I phoned the offices of David N. Jolly. David sprang into action, meeting us prior to the court hearing and providing us with exceptional guidance. David represented our daughter with empathy and compassion; the charge was ultimately reduced to a reckless driving violation. I would highly recommend David Jolly - he was profession in the courtroom and navigated our daughters charge with expertise.
Read less
Response from David Jolly July 22, 2022
Please forgive the very delayed response to your kind message. It was a real pleasure helping your daughter and working with her (and you!). Nice comments are great to hear and these ones particularly. Thank you.
Posted by Bob | January 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The right stuff!
David exemplifies how a good attorney should handle a case of law. I found him to be attentive, knowledgeable, compassionate and a good listener. I give him my highest recommendation to anyone considering an attorney. (Also a high five to Janean, his assistant)
Response from David Jolly July 22, 2022
I am sorry for the delayed response - BUT, I can tell you that your very nice review and kind words are appreciated more than I can tell you. Thank you and hope you're doing well.
Posted by anonymous | November 19, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best DUI Attorney Around
I gave David 0 help with this case. As in the police report was damning and stacked against us. David kept a cool head on his shoulder and in plain English dealt out the options for me. With my record plus this new charge, David was able to make a smooth transition to a positive outcome. Even getting less time with some of the state punishments than we thought possible. I needed an attorney that could help me let the judge see I was taking this charge extremely seriously. David is a great attorney and extremely affordable for the package you get. Thanks again David.
Read less
Posted by Bob. | September 17, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very satisfied client
I was involved in a situation involving my wife that ended with me being arrested and charge with assault 4 with a domestic. I found lawyer on the internet and contacted them. Now mind you this was during the start of covid. After listening to David and hearing my options I retained this lawyer. We talked a few time while he was working on my case with the prosecutors. I'm very please with the outcome of my case I know this office did everything they could to get my case settled. I hghly recommend the law office of David Jolly
Read less
Posted by Judy | March 18, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
You’re hired !
A heartfelt thank you to David Jolly who I hired for a DUI violation that was reduced to reckless . This was a complex & difficult case during a time when I was at my lowest . Not only was he professional, he determined my case needed to be handled with compassion. He truly cared about me & through it all never wavered in his goal. Extra time & frustration didn’t stop him. He told me not to give up. We would do this together. I’ve never had the need for an attorney but I can assure you , his knowledge & caring manner wont let you down should you hire him.
Read less
Posted by David | February 12, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
This Team is TOP NOTCH
I met David Jolly after my 1st court appearance and he was very approachable and listened to me about my case. This was new to me but he does this everyday and he showed that I wasn't just another dollar. I appreciate the hard work and many phone calls David and his team took from me about my case and the crazy Washington laws. David and his team worked diligently on my behalf continuously fighting for a resolution that was acceptable to everyone. David told me the best case scenarios ad worst case scenarios. He was very compassionate but also up front and never sugar coated anything, which is great when dealing in situations like this. David and his team followed up with me when they said they would and even reached out when there was no need to talk case, just wanted to make sure I was taking care of everything I needed to.
Read less
Posted by Michael | January 15, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Rockstar at Law
David was thorough and clearly explained the process during our free consultation, regarding a DUI Marijuana charge against my minor daughter. We didn't have a referal, so we found him based on online ratings. We picked him due to his high ratings and the fact that he has offices in Bellingham and Mount Vernon. Our case was out of Whatcom county, but we live closer to Mount Vernon, so it was much more convenient being able to meet with him there. We called around to compare fees and his costs are in line with other local attorneys. We hired him just a few weeks before the initial court hearing, so the police report and blood results were only provided a day or two before the hearing...not enough time to consult again before the hearing. We expected to plead "not guilty" and request a continuance to review the reports. However, after looking over the reports, David went out of his way to take action before our hearing, meeting with the prosecuting attorneys. We met David at the court, thirty minutes before the hearing. He gave us a brief on his thoughts on the blood results and the police report. We walked into the court room with David. He took care to explain every step of the process, explaining where to sit and what would happen next. When the judge came into the court room, he immediately asked David if he had any motions to bring forward. My daughter went to the front with David and sat before the judge. The prosecuting attorney then said "we wish to move to dismiss all charges with prejudice." The judge said "well, I guess you won't have any objections to that". And just like that, the case was over...dismissed, never to be filed again. After the hearing, we spoke with David again. He had been 99% sure that the prosecution would drop the charges, but hadn't told us in advance because he wasn't completely sure. He explained how he had gone over the case with the prosecution and convinced them that they couldn't win. The blood test was negative and the roadside test had been done on snow... David said "I wrote a book on DUI. They have a copy." The guy is a Rockstar. My daughter was fortunate that the DUI case was weak, but David went the extra mile to get it nipped in the bud quickly, rather than drawing it out over several hearings. David even refunded a part of his fee because it was wrapped up so quickly. He did not have to do that. He did it because he felt it was the right thing to do. If you need a lawyer for DUI, hire this man. He is not only an incredibly attorney, but also honest and clearly well known and respected by others involved in these cases in Skagit and Whatcom counties, from the judges to the prosecuting attorneys. You can be sure that David will do everything he can to get you the best result possible. Of course we hope to never need his services again, but I keep his card in my wallet and feel comforted to know he'll be on my side if I should ever need him. Also, his legal assistant, Janean is wonderful. Both Janean and David respond to emails and calls very quickly and thoroughly. Couldn't be happier with their service and of course, the incredible results! Thank you David and Janean!!!
Read less
Response from David Jolly January 16, 2020
Michael - wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. The result in your daughter's case was the right result and credit to the prosecutor, they saw that too and acted quickly. Dragging out a case only brings stress and worry. It was such a pleasure working with you and your daughter (even thought it was ultimately rather brief!) - you're a wonderful father and she is a lucky daughter. Take care and if there is anything further we can do, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Read less
Posted by Brett | January 3, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
David Jolly really knows his stuff when it comes to DUi's. The case looked pretty grim with both the City prosecutor and with the Dept. of Licensing. David was able to find specific actions by the arresting officer which allowed for settlement down to a much lower charge- negligent driving and no license suspension. We are very grateful for his expertise.
Read less
Response from David Jolly January 16, 2020
Hi Brett - what a nice surprise to see your comments. Thank you! It was a pleasure working for you and if there is anything I can do in the future, please let me know.
Posted by Luke | December 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Promises Delivered
David and his staff represented me in Skagit County. It's funny I say he delivered on his promises because he told me it would be a tough case. He never promised me a reduction but what he did say is that he and his experienced staff would fight really hard and do everything they could to help. And they did. My DUI was reduced to Neg. 1 and they won my license hearing. Yes he's nice but he his tough and respected (watch how the Judges talk to him) and knows more than all the others. Thank you!
Read less
Posted by Nicholas | October 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI Case
Both David Jolly, and his team were very helpful and informative in my DUI case. They were quick to respond with any questions I had regarding the case. The lawyer fee wasn’t too costly, and he was very reliable and understanding through the entire court process. If you need a good lawyer, I’d definitely recommend hiring him.
Response from David Jolly January 16, 2020
Thank you, Nick. If there is anything further my team or I can do for you, do not hesitate to call the office. It was a pleasure working for you.
Posted by Neil | October 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Result better than ever expected
I had an unfortunate situation with my second DUI in two years. David has my first one reduced. I was so scared that I would be facing a very long time in jail on my second DUI. I called the Jolly law office and spoke to Janean, who was so nice and understanding. Six months later my case ended with another reduction. I guess there was a huge error made by the officer that David found. I did have to do some days on an ankle bracelet but no DUI and no jail. If you in trouble I can honestly tell you that you must call this office. Thank you David, Janean and all the staff.
Read less
Posted by Callan | October 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Law Firm and Great Result
I got a DUI several months ago. My case was in Bellingham and after my first court date I called the Jolly Law Firm. I met with David and was impressed with him and his assistant. I ended up meeting with two other lawyers but quickly called back David and hired him. He had my DUI reduced to a much less serious offense and no probation and no jail. I cannot say enough about the whole fire. I am really thankful. HIRE HIM!
Read less
Response from David Jolly October 22, 2019
Thank you Callan for the kind review. Enjoy your vacation - you have earned it!
Posted by Jye | October 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Case Dismissed!!
Thank you to the Team at David Jolly Law Firm. I had never been in trouble so it was really scary. David returned my call on a Sunday and met me on Monday morning. He quoted me the lowest retainer and a payment plan and was the only lawyer to give me helpful guides. His staff was great too. 6 months later the State dismissed my case. Me and my whole family can not recommend him enough as we are also so happy this case is over and there is no conviction. Thank you thank you so much.
Read less
Response from David Jolly October 22, 2019
Thank you Jye. It was a struggle, wasn't it! But a dismissal is awesome! I appreciate your perseverance and trust in us. Say hi to your family for me.
Posted by anonymous | October 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Law Firm
Got my DUI reduced and no probation. Great staff and very knowledgeable and friendly. Thank you.
Response from David Jolly October 22, 2019
Thank you so much for the very nice review. Also, thank you for coming by our office the other day as it was great to see you. If there is anything we can do, please let us know!
Posted by Laverne | October 9, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thanks David and Staff
I can not thank David and his staff for their support. Bad things happen to good people and David guided me through a world I had never been accustom to in my many years of life. I could not tell you how much it kept me steady through this and how they guided me through a process I had no idea of. I highly recommend this firm as they do care.
Read less
Response from David Jolly October 18, 2019
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. This was a long case, wasn't it?! However, the right result was the result that happened. It was such a pleasure helping you and I'm sorry the criminal justice system had to make this such a difficult period. We wish you the best and if you're in Bellingham, drop by and say hello.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • President
  • Law Firm Of David N. Jolly, PS
  • 2004 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Marsh Mundorf Pratt Sullivan & McKenzie
  • 2001 - 2004
  • Attorney
  • Law Office Of Lance R. Fryrear
  • 2000 - 2001
  • Assistant City Attorney
  • City Of Lynnwood Prosecuting Attorney
  • 1998 - 2000
  • Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
  • Kitsap County Prosecuting Attorney's Office
  • 1998 - 1998
  • Attorney
  • Seattle Unemployment Project
  • 1997 - 1997
  • 7-11 (Rule 9) Position
  • Criminal Law Project
  • 1997 - 1997
  • Legal Intern
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • 1995 - 1997
View all work experience

Education

  • National College for DUI Defense, Inc.
  • DUI/DWI
  • 2010
  • La Pier & Associates
  • Certified Instructor - Standardized Field Sobriety Tests
  • 2009
  • National College of DUI Defense
  • 2008
  • La Pier & Associates
  • Certificate of Completion - Standardized Field Sobriety Tests
  • 2006
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1997
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • Valedictorian
  • 1997
  • Columbia College School of Broadcasting
  • Associates Degree
  • 1991
  • University of Calgary
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1989
View all education

Legal Cases

  • Everett v. EA
  • Amended to Negligent Driving First Degree
  • State v. MM
  • Dismissal
  • State v. WH
  • Case dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Snohomish County DUI Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • Skagit County Bar Association
  • 2005 - Present
  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2004 - Present
  • Washington Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2004 - Present
  • Washington State Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • South Everett Mukilteo Rotary
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • Snohomish County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • Washington State Bar Association, Criminal Law Section
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • King County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1997 - Present
  • Washington State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1997 - Present
  • AVVO
  • Member of AVVO Pro
  • 2009 - 2011
  • Washington State Bar Association, Administrative Law Section
  • Member
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Washington State Bar Association, Litigation Section
  • Member
  • 2002 - 2004
  • Washington State Bar Association, Trial Practice Section
  • Member
  • 2002 - 2005
  • Washington State Bar Association, Ethics Committee
  • Member
  • 2002 - 2003
  • Washington State Bar Association, Real Property, Probate and Trust Section
  • Member
  • 2001 - 2005
  • Washington State Bar Association, Business Law Section
  • Member
  • 2001 - 2005
  • Washington State Association for Justice
  • Member
  • 2001 - 2004
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2001
  • King County Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division
  • Member
  • 1997 - 1999
  • Illinois State Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division
  • Member
  • 1997 - 1998
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1997 - 2001
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member - 7-11
  • 1996 - 1997
  • Illinois Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 1994 - 1997
  • Illinois Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Member
  • 1994 - 1997
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • French

Awards

  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Winner in Self Help Category
  • Reader Views Literary Awards
  • 2012
  • Sustaining Member
  • Washington Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • 2011
  • Level 6 Contributor
  • Avvo
  • 2011
  • Level 4 Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2011
  • Level 5 Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2011
  • Best Selling DUI Book in USA
  • Amazon.com
  • 2010
  • Paul Harris Award
  • Rotary
  • 2010
  • Certificate of Completion
  • South Everett Mukilteo Rotary
  • 2010
  • Certificate of Completion
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • 2010
  • Best Selling DUI Book
  • Barnes and Noble
  • 2010
  • Level 4 Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2010
  • DUI App for the Accused
  • Apple - Itunes
  • 2010
  • pro bono publico service award
  • Washington State Bar Association
  • 2010
  • First Place History/Science for "DUI/DWI" book
  • 2009 Reader Views Literary Awards
  • 2010
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • Washington Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • 2010
  • Best Selling DUI Book
  • Barnes and Noble
  • 2009
  • First Place - History Publications
  • Outskirts Press
  • 2009
  • Best Selling DUI Book in USA
  • Amazon.com
  • 2009
  • Rotarian of the Month
  • Rotary - South Everett Mukilteo
  • 2009
  • Nolo Verified
  • Nolo
  • 2009
  • Rotarian of the Month
  • Rotary
  • 2009
  • Certified Instructor - Standardized Field Sobriety Tests
  • La Pier & Associates
  • 2009
  • Certificate of Completion
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • 2008
  • Certificate of Recognition
  • Washington Defender Association
  • 2008
  • Certificate of Completion - SFST Student
  • La Pier & Associates
  • 2006
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • Snohomish County Bar Association
  • 2001
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • Washington State Bar Association, Criminal Law Section
  • 2000
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • Washington State Bar Association, Young Lawyers Division
  • 1998
  • Valedictorian
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • 1997
  • Dean's List
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • 1997
  • Volunteer of the Month
  • King County Bar Association
  • 1997
  • Chicago Moot Court Competition-Law School Representative
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • 1996
  • Moot Court Competition-1st Place
  • Nothern Illinois University College of Law
  • 1995
View all awards

Publications

  • The Island County DUI Handbook
  • The Island County DUI Handbook
  • 2013
  • The King County DUI Handbook
  • The King County DUI Handbook
  • 2013
  • Outskirts Press
  • The Personal Injury Handbook
  • 2012
  • Outskirts Press
  • The Car Accident Injury Handbook
  • 2012
  • The DUI Investigation Handbook
  • The DUI Investigation Handbook
  • 2011
  • Celebrity DUIs
  • Celebrity DUIs
  • 2011
  • The DUI App for the Accused
  • The DUI App for the Accused
  • 2010
  • Alcohol Evaluation Chart
  • Alcohol Evaluation Chart
  • 2010
  • Drug DUI Guide
  • Drug DUI Guide
  • 2010
  • The History of DUI - Summary Guide
  • The History of DUI - Summary Guide
  • 2010
  • The DUI Handbook for Lawyers
  • The DUI Handbook for Lawyers
  • 2009
  • DUI Chart
  • DUI Chart
  • 2009
  • Field Sobriety Tests Guide
  • Field Sobriety Tests Guide
  • 2009
  • Driver Licensing and DUI Guide
  • Driver Licensing and DUI Guide
  • 2008
  • The D.U.I. Handbook For the Accused
  • The D.U.I. Handbook For the Accused
  • 2007
  • Deferred Prosecution - How To Guide
  • Deferred Prosecution - How To Guide
  • 2007
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • DUI Radio Interview- KLAA AM radio in Los Angeles
  • Driving Under the Influence (DUI)- History
  • 2011
  • Northern Illinois University College of Law
  • Criminal Law and being a solo practioner
  • 2009
  • Rotary Conference
  • DUIs
  • 2007
  • Rotary Club Meeting
  • How to Avoid a DUI
  • 2007
  • Rotary Meeting
  • Driver Suspensions and DUI
  • 2006
  • Rotary Club Meeting
  • Employment Consequences of a DUI
  • 2006
  • Snohomish County Public Defenders Association
  • Criminal Law Updates - Prosecuting Attorney Perspective
  • 2000
  • Lynnwood Police Department Annual Legal Updates
  • New DUI Laws
  • 2000
  • Washington State Association for Justice, Criminal Law Section
  • Prosecuting Attorneys and Trials
  • 1999
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys
  • Annual Law Update
  • 1999
  • Lynnwood Police Department Annual DUI Law Update
  • New DUI Laws
  • 1999
  • Lynnwood Police Department Annual DUI Law Update
  • New DUI Laws
  • 1998
  • Kitsap County Bar Association
  • The Prosecuting Attorney's Role-Truancy Court
  • 1998
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (38)
Given (36)
Endorse David
Unknown Attorney | Jan 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have know David for about 18 years. He is among the smartest and most knowledgeable lawyers in the business. He is a skilled and talented trial lawyer. He is an excellent advocate for his clients and if I were in trouble I would certainly seek his advice."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wanted to take a few minutes and endorse Mr. Jolly for his assistance he gave my daughter when she had been wrongfully cited for a ticket for an accident she didn't cause. His office was able to get this matter dismissed with very little expense and headache. I would highly recommend him to my clients and to others."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 26
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 03
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Jolly is a skilled and respected member of the legal community. He is a zealous advocate for the rights and interests of his clients."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse David. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse David. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I'm a Texas criminal defense attorney. I had some questions regarding the interplay of DWI arrests and convictions with travel to/from Canada, so I called David and he graciously provided thorough answers to my questions. I sincerely appreciate the fact that David took the time out of his busy day to assist another attorney. It shows a lot about his character and professionalism. And if any of my family members in Bellingham ever need a criminal defense attorney (hopefully not!) I know exactly who they'll be calling!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. David works hard in order to get favorable results for his clients. His professional manner makes him well respected among other criminal defense attorneys, as well as, prosecutors."
DUI and DWI Attorney | May 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David Jolly is one of the top DUI/DWI attorneys around. Feel confident that you are receiving the best defense you can get with the amazing attorneys and support staff that work at the Jolly Law Firm."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse David without hesitation. He treats his clients, judges and all other court personnel with the utmost respect and in turn he deservedly receives the same. Quite simply, David is a true professional."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David and I both represented the same client with DUI charges in two different counties. David obtained a great result for the client in his court. I would not hesitate to refer a client to him."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. David is an amazing professional - well respected by the courts, his colleagues, and his clients. David is at the top of his game at all times - and someone I'm proud to call a friend. For top notch representation - go no further."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David is an outstanding advocate for his clients. I have had the opportunity to work with David on several cases and regard David as one of the most professional and thorough attorneys in the legal community. I strongly endorse this attorney."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. David is a conscientious and dedicated advocate for his clients. I readily endorse his work in all his fields of practice."
Unknown Attorney | Jun 22
Relationship: Co-worker
"I strongly endorse David. Since his practice focuses exclusively on DUI law, he is familiar with the courts, judges, and prosecutors in Western Washington. David has many years of courtroom experience and is a knowledgeable attorney and aggressive advocate for his clients."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Immigration
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
General practice
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
General practice