Skip to main content

Lisa Anne DuFour

Divorce and separation Attorney at Seattle, WA

4.9   44 reviews

About Lisa

Learn Lisa’s areas of practice.

I want clients to know that they can make it through this. It may be emotionally  difficult, but I will be there to help them make sound decisions that will enable them to resume normal life again.

Photos and videos

Licensed for 28 years
State MT
Status Active
Acquired 2016
Updated 11/14/2022
State WA
Status Active
Acquired 1994
Updated 09/20/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Lisa

Integrative Family Law
901 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2800
Seattle, WA, 98164

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  44 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
2%
Posted by Ivan | April 24, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Choice I EVER Made! Kind, Caring and the Consummate Professional that GETS RESULTS
I had not spoken with Lisa for 5 minutes when I realized she was THE attorney I need to represent me and my interest in what was a very contentious divorce. She exudes Confidence, Knowledge and Total and Complete assurance that she can get the job done correctly … AND SHE DID. During negotiations the opposing attorney would make outlandish demands, causing me stress and shock, and Lisa would say calmly "well that's not going to happen" and she made sure it didn't. She was such a calming force during such an emotional time for me that I truly believe God sent her to me as an answer to my many prayers! To anyone who is lost and hurting as I was, I would absolutely recommend Lisa without hesitation. Lisa is an outstanding attorney who is fair to her clients and truly cares about their well being. My experience with her exceeded all expectations and made a terrible time for me and family close with as little angst as possible and I was totally satisfied with the outcome. If you are looking for THE BEST to represent you I believe you have found them with Lisa!
Read less
Posted by Marie | December 21, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lisa DuFour: Best Attorney I have ever hired in King County! Smart, fast paced, you will get the RESULTS you want!
Lisa DuFour (attorney) is amazing. I called her (during a day when my ex had with- held my child for a week during my custodial time) and despite going to several emergency court hearings where I could not get my child back, I consulted with Lisa in a time of crises & she immediately (same day that I called her) helped turn the situation around favorably to me! By hiring Lisa DuFour, not only did I get my child back immediately, I also got a lot of extra make up time including holidays! Lisa immediately reassured me, she put a plan into action and she helped me execute it in a time of personal crises and despair for me. She is very fast paced, she is great in dealing with emergencies or complex legal crises. After having hired several attorneys in the past 6 years in a high conflict child custody case with a highly litigious ex, I wish I had met Lisa 6 years ago. She can quickly assess the situation, give you immediate advice on "what to do" and "what not to do", she takes half the time ALL other attorneys in Seattle have taken me in writing legal motions or responses. Lisa is positive, easy to work with and gets right back to you. You are in good hands with Lisa and you get twice the work accomplished because of how fast paced and devoted she is to your situation! Lisa is super smart, strategic, fair, and the best DEVOTED ADVOCATE you could ever have on your side, and her price is SUPER FAIR for what you receive!!! Lisa provides immediate outstanding quality work (all the other attorneys I hired sent drafts back n forth multiple times, for days on end for editing (wasting you time & money): Lisa cuts to the chase and types up a legal brief quickly and concisely not wasting you any time or money. Lisa knows all the players in the legal field in Seattle, and has a lot of wisdom having practiced law in Seattle for over 15 years. While Lisa will fight for your cause, her temperament is even, consistent, predictable, and calm. She is very respectful to her clients (I point this out after having several attorneys who seemed to have mood disorders, raging verbal abuse or anger management issues). You are treated with the utmost respect by Lisa; and she puts you first. I am a professional myself in Seattle and expect to be treated with courtesy. She asks you a lot of good questions and gives you choices. Lisa is a devoted advocate to your family law legal cause, not worried about being liked or fitting in ( I have found so many attorneys in King County are more worried about being liked by other attorneys or judges versus advocating for your children's welfare) , Lisa is firmly and professionally focused on the end game! Hire Lisa DuFour and you will thank your lucky stars!!! I only wish I had found her 6 years ago. The legal product you will receive will be top flight and a great steal for the price. She sets the bar high, no one compares to her legal expertise in King County! Sincerely: Marie
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Attorny!!!!
Lisa literally cares about her work and the people she represents. I could have never have gone through what I have gone through without her. She was strong when I wasn’t and when I was bullied and put down she fought for my family. I was able to go on family trips, phone calls, holidays, residential time when my ex tried to take it away from me. Thank you Lisa for saving my life and my family!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 8, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A fighter and passionate attorney - one I would not want on the other side!
Ms. DuFour represented me a few years back regarding parental/custody issues. I was so relieved when I had my consultation with her, feeling that I finally found an attorney who would truly go to bat for me. Boy, did she ever! To this day, I respect her as an attorney and a person - her strength, knowledge and passion is out of this world. Thank you, Ms. DuFour, for making me feel like I mattered!
Read less
Posted by Ashley | May 9, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Honest and dependable
When I was a seeking relocation order so I could move with my children, Lisa was up front and honest about the process and what I should do. I am thankful to have had Lisa in my corner. I have worked with Lisa a number of times since in making adjustments to my Parenting Plan. I can't imaging a better attorney than Lisa and I highly recommend her!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lisa DuFour is the best!
From the moment I hired Lisa, she was professional, understanding and, most of all, prepared at every turn. I was granted sole custody of my daughter with Lisa's help and expertise. I had experience with several other divorce/family law attorneys before I met Lisa. Undoubtedly, Lisa is THE best!
Posted by Michelle | November 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best divorce attorney!!
Lisa is the best divorce attorney ever!! Lisa didn't get me divorced, she got that terrible mistake annulled!!! 18 months after the annulment I then received a check from the terrible mistake I married, repaying all my attorney fees. Lisa filed a judgement against him, the looser, and when he sold his house he had to pay all the attorney fees plus 12 percent interest. What a great Thanksgiving present Thank you Lisa
Read less
Posted by Karen | September 29, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A smart, professional and caring attorney.
I was fortunate that a Seattle attorney I knew referred me to Lisa DuFour for my case which involved CPS and dissolution. From the first meeting, she made it clear her focus and priority was a positive outcome for me and my child. Lisa was professional, knowledgeable, extremely patient and understanding. I was impressed by her thorough knowledge of the family court system and appreciate that, even as the case went on for a year and a half, her attention and focus never waned. She is astute and thorough - and impressively handled trial which, despite repeated delays, had a result more positive than I had expected.
Read less
Posted by James | August 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
School Relocation - Mediation/Arbitration
We were fortunate enough to have Lisa represent us in dispute resolution regarding a schooling relocation matter, despite an extremely compressed schedule. My ex refused to discuss a school change civilly and we only had a couple weeks until the start of the school year. Lisa was very forthright in advising us that we had an extremely difficult challenge ahead of us with very little chance of success if we filed with the courts. Luckily, all parties agreed to mediation and legally binding arbitration before school started and Lisa’s "Two Steps Ahead" approach resulted with the outcome we desired; approval to relocate schools before the beginning of the school year. We spoke for the first time with Lisa on a Tuesday and by Thursday the arbiter approved our request to relocate…3 days!!! This is obviously not the norm, but I have no doubt this wouldn’t have even been possible without Lisa’s tremendous abilities and talent for litigation. Leading up to the mediation and arbitration, Lisa was extremely communicative and responsive; we didn’t have time to waste and she was acutely aware of that fact, despite her workload. She helped guide us through what to expect from the event itself and helped to formulate and construct our petition’s supporting documentation for arbitration. Within mediation Lisa was level headed, sensible and advised me as to strength and legal impact of possible settlement discussions and offers. But, during arbitration, Lisa’s overwhelming ability and two steps ahead approach took over. She was articulate, concise and above all calm while interacting with my ex who was combative, argumentative and dismissive. Each and every point that was made was addressed and countered by Lisa leaving my ex's side with nothing left to argue. I couldn't be more impressed and satisfied with the counsel Lisa provided and highly recommend her.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Complete Dedication, Unbelievable Compassion & Strategic Excellence
Lisa was on top of every detail from start to finish. My lengthy Parenting Plan modification, a tedious and stressful process, was expertly navigated by Lisa. She always made me feel like I was her only client by being responsive, understanding, professional and strategic at all times. She is excellent at looking ahead in the process and planning accordingly. Not only did Lisa handle the entire process with ease, but the results that Lisa obtained have improved the lives of myself and my children in ways beyond words. A million thanks to Lisa! There is no one other than Lisa whom I would want by my side for divorce/parenting plan/child support/custody issues.
Read less
Posted by Michael | April 27, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced and well rounded
Lisa has represented me in two separate cases and did an outstanding job in both. She is very knowledgably in many areas. -Lisa helped me with my relocation case. She has a very good demeanor about her and handles herself well. She makes sure I understands the processes and was completely honest with me. - Lisa also helped me with child support issues. In both instances, I felt very confident that she knew the laws and explained them to me in detail. Furthermore, she was very responsive to my questions and concerns all the way through the processes. I would certainly recommend her to any of my friends. Regards
Read less
Posted by Rebecca | March 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent outcome of a complicated custody case
Lisa was my attorney for a parenting plan modification case that had a lot of complicating issues that were not necessarily in my favor. She gave me excellent focused advice about what I needed to do and the type of documentation I needed to gather as well as being a supportive adviser through an incredibly stressful time. I ended up with the best possible outcome I could have asked for in mediation due to her expertise and ability to keep things on-track with my challenging ex-husband.
Read less
Posted by A grateful grandmother | October 7, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you, Lisa!
Lisa DuFour is a diligent, kind and empathetic lawyer who represented our son in a contentious custody case. She came to court organized and well prepared. She was respectful but assertive, her points straightforward and succinct. her demeanor very professional. More simply put, she cared about making things right for our son and his children, and she did her job well.
Read less
Posted by Diana Gustafson | September 11, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
I highly recommend Lisa. She is a top family law attorney in Seattle. She was able to handle my case and skillfully addressed a year of motions and counter motions. My case was complex and there were many problems dealing with the opposing side as the case took on an adversarial climate. Lisa was able to successful bring the case to Mediation after multiple court appearances. Lisa listened with compassion and responded professionally at all times. I am so grateful for her care, legal expertise and the entire team at Integrative Family Law. I would highly recommend Lisa Dufour for your family law case.
Read less
Posted by Michelle | July 8, 2015
Lisa Du Four is top
Lisa is the best attorney ever. I was in a horrible marriage, abused and married for my money. Lisa got a annulment after being married to the looser for 6 months!!! That's unheard of in Washington, my other attorney before Lisa said I could not get a annulment, she made it happen. Lisa was very informative and on task at all times. Her rates were actually reasonable for the super star she is. If your getting a divorce I highly recommend Lisa Du Four for a successful outcome.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 4, 2015
compassionate
Lisa is kind and compassionate. She stepped in when my first attorney created a mess and took over fantastically. When going through a difficult process, she brings humanity and empathy, and I know that she gave me time that she never billed me for. I recommend her as a knowledgeable, kind, and fair advocate.
Posted by Rick | May 4, 2015
Temporary rulings in custody and relocation
Lisa has been very professional and very supportive during our daughter's dispute regarding custody and relocation of our granddaughter. Although initially committed to settling out of court (we had 2 mediation sessions), Lisa soon determined that the baby's father and his mother were never going to mediate in good faith unless they got everything they wanted. Lisa then decided we needed to get in front of the judge which was a very good strategic move despite the worries of "how will a judge see things?'. The judge ruled in favor of my daughter on the issues before the court and acknowledged the potential alcohol and anger issues in his decision. As this was just a preliminary hearing on relocation and a temporary parenting plan, I will update this review after final rulings.
Read less
Posted by Mary | March 5, 2015
Professional and Empathetic
I found Lisa Anne DuFour to be both effective and kind. She was no nonsense and so knowledgeable about interest that I discovered I was owed far more than I thought, which was a wonderful surprise. Her office team was prompt and helpful. I felt I had a real friend in my corner, which was huge since my divorce had grown hostile and I was very nervous, but after one meeting my ex paid up rather than engage with her. I would recommend her with pleasure!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 15, 2014
What a relief
What a relief to have some one on your side that not only understands all the overwhelming legalize but also my specific situation. Its a very emotional time and Lisa Dufour is very professional, knowledgeable as well as very empathetic to my situation.
Posted by Eric | December 13, 2014
Professional Attorney
Lisa was very helpful in taking care of my case and understood the complications related to my military career. Her knowledge of the court system and how it relates to military families going through a divorce was advantageous in settling my cases in a short amount of time. Lisa was efficient, kept the emotion out and was able to complete all the divorce paperwork quickly while always keeping me informed. I would recommend Lisa to both friends and family based on my outstanding experience working with her.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Integrative Family Law PLLC/Carol Bailey and Associates
  • 2012 - Present
  • Senior Associate
  • McKinley Irvin
  • 2010 - 2012
  • Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney,
  • King County Prosecuting Attorney, Family Support Division
  • 1995 - 2010

Education

  • University of Washington School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1983
  • University of Washington
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1979

Legal Cases

  • In re the Marriage of MacGibbon
  • In re the Marriage of Borracchini and Jones
  • State ex rel v. Wood

Associations

  • Montana State Bar
  • Attorney
  • 2016 - Present
  • Gallatin County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
  • Fellow
  • 2014 - Present
  • United States Supreme Court
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 2001 - Present
  • Washington State Bar Association, Family Law Section
  • Member
  • 1995 - Present
  • King County Bar Association, Family Law Section
  • Member
  • 1995 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Western District of Washington
  • Admitted to Practice
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2016
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2015
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2014
  • Pro Tem Commissioner
  • King County Superior Court
  • 2013
View all awards

Publications

  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Special Needs Children and Parenting Plans”,
  • 2016
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Family Law and the Rules of Professional Conduct”,
  • 2016
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “’Family Affair’ – The Co-Parents Handbook”
  • 2015
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • "Fraudulent Transfers: You Can’t Even Give Your Stuff Away"
  • 2015
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “What Happens When Mr./Ms. Right Turns into Mr./Ms. Wrong?”
  • 2015
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “How to Prepare a Declaration for a Family Law Hearing: A Novel Idea”
  • 2014
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Long Term Marriages and Divorce after 60(or 80)”
  • 2014
  • WSBA Northwest Lawyer
  • "Hit by a Bus at the Intersection of Probate and Family Law,”
  • 2014
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “The True MVP of Family Law Litigation”
  • 2014
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Favorite Parenting Plan Clauses”
  • 2014
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Why ‘You should do What I Tell You’ Does not Work”
  • 2013
  • WSBA Northwest Lawyer
  • “Fashion Tips for Gals”
  • 2013
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Top Ten things to Tell a Family Law Client”
  • 2013
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “A Paws-itive Way to Heal Child Abuse.”
  • 2013
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Rambo in the Courtroom: Dealing with a Mad Attorney”
  • 2013
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “In the Shadows: Dealing with Mental Health Issues”
  • 2013
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Working with Limited-English Clients”
  • 2012
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • “Roamin with a Child”
  • 2012
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • February 2012 Defending the Deposition: A Study in Preparation (co-author Kim Schnuelle)
  • 2012
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Don’t Get Tangled in the Web (co-author Kim Schnuelle)
  • 2012
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Grandparent Rights and Visitation
  • 2011
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Maintenance and Marriage: The Changing Nature of Support
  • 2011
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Split Decision: Is Divorce the First Course?
  • 2011
  • Tacoma Pierce County Bar Association
  • Military Moms and Dads: How to Protect the Rights of Deployed Parents
  • 2010
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Collecting Child Support Takes Many Forms
  • 2010
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Child Support Systems Protect Domestic Violence Victims
  • 2009
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Child Support Owed Share of Wealth Transfers
  • 2009
  • King County Bar Bulletin
  • Presumed Fathers Compound Family Structure
  • 2009
  • Washington State Bar Association Bar News
  • Using QDROs to Collect Child Support Payments
  • 2009
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Readying our Corps to Serve Washington Veterans Day of Service
  • “Calculating Child Support for Clients with Reduced Income”
  • 2016
  • 7th Annual Mary H. Wechsler Family Law Symposium for the King County Bench
  • “Calculating Child Support”
  • 2015
  • Presentation to Pro Tem Commissioners in Pierce County
  • “Military Retirement”
  • 2015
  • JAG: US Coast Guard, US Navy, US Air Force and US Army
  • “Military Families and Relocation”
  • 2014
  • Emerging Family Law Issues
  • Military Families and Relocation
  • 2014
  • Northwest Business Institute CLE
  • “Procedural Remedies to Combat Rambo Litigation”,
  • 2013
  • NW Justice Project Legal Aid Family Law Lawyers CLE
  • Debt and Property Division in Dissolutions
  • 2012
  • Divorce Litigation: From Start to Finish
  • Enforcement and Post-Trial Modifications
  • 2011
  • CLE “Retirement Assets and Domestic Relations”
  • Military Pensions: Checklists and Resources for Dividing Disposable Retirement Pay
  • 2011
  • King County Bar Association CLE
  • Military Family Law Practice Tips
  • 2010
  • King County Division of Child Support Staff Meeting
  • Use of Supplemental Proceedings in Child Support Collections
  • 2009
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Sleuthing: Subpoenas to Supplemental Proceedings
  • 2009
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Unique Collection Tools in Child Support Cases”
  • 2008
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Unique Enforcement Techniques in Child Support Collection”
  • 2007
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Unique Enforcement Techniques in Child Support Collection”
  • 2003
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Unconventional Collection Techniques in Child Support Collection”
  • 1999
  • Division of Child Support Family Support Conference
  • "Unique Collection Methods"
  • 1999
  • WA Division of Child Support Family Support Statewide Conference
  • "Child Support Modification Procedures"
  • 1998
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • “Child Support Modification Procedures”
  • 1997
  • Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Statewide Conference
  • "Child Support Modifications"
  • 1996
  • WA Division of Child Support Family Support Statewide Conference
  • "Unique Collection Methods"
  • 1996
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (12)
Given (14)
Family Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Lisa is a highly knowledgeable and experienced family law attorney."
Family Attorney | Jan 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lisa is hardworking and dedicated to achieving client goals. Her command of family law makes her an effective advocate, and I readily endorse her."
Family Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I met Lisa in 2006 and hold her in the highest esteem. Lisa brings dignity and clear-sightedness to the most tumultuous situations. I highly recommend Lisa to anyone who seeks a powerful, compassionate family law advocate."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Lisa is always very professional with a very sharp legal mind. She is an excellent lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Jan 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Jan 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Sep 05
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Lisa is one of the most ethical and hardworking attorneys that I know. She was opposing counsel in one of my cases and I have worked with her in an office-share setting. She is extremely knowledgeable about the law and is dedicated to her clients. I endorse her 110% and I would recommend her to anyone that I know."
Family Attorney | Jul 28
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse Lisa Dufour as an experienced and well-practiced family law attorney. Lisa has been my opposing counsel on several cases, and joint counsel on one action. She tenaciously advocates for her clients, pursuing all available legal remedies. She is well-prepared for litigation and mediation, and is successful at both."
Family Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse Lisa. As opposing counsel, substituting in just before mediation, Lisa came up to speed quickly on the case and advocated effectively for her client. After settlement Lisa assisted her client with post settlement wrap-up. I would recommend Lisa to potential clients needing a bright and dedicated family law attorney."
Family Attorney | Feb 13
Relationship: Co-worker
"As a colleague at my firm, I have the utmost confidence in Lisa and would recommend her to anyone."
Family Attorney | Mar 30
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have the utmost respect for Lisa's legal skills. I have been on the other side of cases against Lisa. She is very knowledgeable and always well prepared. Lisa works tirelessly for her clients and really cares about them. When I have a question or need an objective opinion, I seek out Lisa's counsel."
Family Attorney | May 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Lisa Dufour's intelligence, determination and creativity in doggged pursuit of special collections of child support while working at a sister public agency resulted in success where traditional methods failed. I would recommend Ms. Dufour with no reservations to any person requiring a tough family law attorney."
View more endorsements

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Seattle Divorce and separation Lawyer Lisa Anne DuFour
Lisa Anne DuFour
Divorce and separation Attorney
Seattle, WA
Licensed for 28 years