Skip to main content

Michael N White

Admiralty and maritime Attorney at Seattle, WA

5.0   5 reviews

About Michael

Learn Michael’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Admiralty and maritime
    35%

    29 years, 50 cases

  2. Personal injury
    30%

    35 years, 200 cases

  3. Litigation
    20%

    39 years, 500 cases

  4. Wrongful death
    10%

    32 years, 10 cases

  5. Medical malpractice
    5%

    29 years, 10 cases

I have been praciticing law since 1980. I was an assistant district attorney, then District Attorney.  When I was 31, in  1984 I was appointed to be  a judge by the Governor.  After a few years. I dedcided that I wanted to try cases again and I went into private practice and became a partner in a large Seattle firm which is now K&L Gates. In 1993, I joined Rick Friedman and Jeff Rubin and the firm became Friedman, Rubin and White. I opened my own practice in 2007 and still work with Friedman and Rubin of counsel.  My practice focuses on all aspects of litigation, including wrongful death, serious injuries, vessel injuries and product liability.  I am admitted to practice in Alaska and Washington and actively handle cases in other states with the help of local lawyers. 

 

I pride my self on being available to clients 24/7.  I am selective about the cases I accept. I will only take a case if I believe in it.   If I accept your injury case you will have my cell phone number and be able to get hold of me at any time. I will keep you well informed about the progress of your case. 

 

I've never had a bar complaint or had a complaint from a client.  If I accept your case I will try my hardest to get you justice.

Licensed for 43 years
State WA
Status Active
Acquired 1998
Updated 11/25/2022
State AK
Status Active
Acquired 1979
Updated 09/08/2022
State MA
Status Retired
Acquired 1981
Updated 09/19/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Michael

Friedman Rubin
51 University St
Suite 200
Seattle, WA, 98101
Law Office of Michael White
51 University St
Suite 200
Seattle, WA, 98101
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  5 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Brandi | March 11, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced, knowledgeable and dedicated
Mr. White was absolutely exceptional at representing my husband in a maritime personal injury case. We were overwhelmed with what to do to ensure he was taken care of as a result of his injury. Mike was so knowledgeable of the industry and really cared about our well being, it's what helped get us through everything. Mike handled everything with the utmost professionalism and fought hard for my husband to receive the proper outcome of his case. We are extremely grateful for all that he did for us.
Read less
Posted by Paulette | January 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Good Result
mr White was extremely competent and always well prepared. He worked hard to get a good result on our medical malpractice case. He was sympathetic and understanding which was a huge help during a stressful time.
Posted by David | January 15, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
EXPERIENCED, FIRST-RATE LITIGATOR
I consulted with Mr. White many times during our years of private and public practice. His litigation skills and legal abilities are formidable. Anyone seeking an experienced, effective advocate will be well-served with Michael White as their lawyer.
Posted by Lisa | January 14, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Our go-to attorney
Mr. White has provided legal representation to our company for over 25 years. Initial services were maritime related, with counsel and litigation services for seafood processing entities, fishing vessels and an independent fishing fleet. He has represented countless fishermen over the years before the State of Alaska. He has a positive reputation with the fishing fleet for successful resolution in his representation of them for fishing violations. During the season, the time constraints for filing are often difficult to meet, but his network with the processing companies and fishing fleet facilitate timely completion of the process. Fishermen are always grateful for the referral. As the company has diversified over the years, we've also used him for regulatory issues as well as issues related to real estate development. Mr. White has a knack for cutting through all the minutia and getting to a solution quickly and efficiently. He always responds timely, professionally and is cost effective. A fine legal mind coupled with common sense. He has been integral to the success of our company. He is the first one we contact if any problems come up.
Read less
Posted by Lindsey | January 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helpful and Considerate
Mike White is very helpful and considerate. Our family was referred to the law firm he practices at. Mike was available to help us and answer questions throughout the process. He responded to all communication in a very timely manner, even when he was on vacation out of the country. We were dealing with the loss of a immediate family member and he was very considerate and respectful of our feelings while we processed and grieved. Mike negotiated the best possible deal for our family with the insurance company and workman's comp. They were very detailed in the fact finding process conducting interviews and research. Mike always kept us updated with where we were in the process and choices we had. He also helped coordinate our family working with a local law firm to process the estate and filings. I highly recommend Mike White. I would of rather met him under different circumstances, but he and his staff were great to work with.
Read less

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Contingency 33%-40%

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Of Counsel
  • Friedman Rubin
  • 2013 - Present
  • Owner
  • Law Office of Micahel White
  • 2007 - Present
  • Partner
  • Friedman, Rubin & White
  • 1993 - 2007
  • Partner
  • Preston Gates & Ellis
  • 1987 - 1993
  • Judge
  • State of Alaska Court System
  • 1984 - 1987
  • District Attorney
  • State of Alaska Department of Law
  • 1979 - 1984
View all work experience

Education

  • Northeastern University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1979
  • University of Califonia at Berkeley
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1976

Associations

  • Washington Trial Lawyers Assn
  • Eagle
  • 2003 - 2008
  • American Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - 2007
  • Alaska Academy of Trial Lawyers
  • Member
  • 1994 - 2007

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2012
  • Steven Sharp Public Service Award
  • American Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2005
  • Board member
  • Alaska Board of Marine Pilots
  • 1997
  • Anchorage Public Service Award
  • Municipality of Anchorage
  • 1992
  • Alaska Bar Disciplanary Committee
  • 1992
  • MADD Service Award
  • MADD
  • 1990
  • District Court Judge
  • Governor William Sheffield
  • 1985
  • District Attorney, Second Judicial District
  • Attorney General Gross
  • 1982
View all awards

Publications

  • Unknown
  • Evidence in Alaska
  • 1992

Speaking Engagements

  • CLE
  • Landlord Tenant Law
  • 1991
  • Trial Practice
  • Trial Practice
  • 1990

Attorney endorsements

Received (2)
Given (2)
Litigation Attorney | Jan 25
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mike is a great advocate for his clients, a talented court room litigator and a wise and experienced legal advisor. I would want him to represent me in litigation and would highly value his advice."
Personal injury Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Mike was associated with me on a wrongful death case. He brought energy, competence, persistence, leadership, reliability and excellent judgment to the case - an outstanding lawyer!"
Intellectual property
Wrongful death

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Seattle Admiralty and maritime Lawyer Michael N White
Michael N White
Admiralty and maritime Attorney
Seattle, WA
Licensed for 43 years
Free Consultation