When I was 15 I got caught smoking weed in the bathroom. I went to court did the things they asked (community service, drug tests, and some drug/alcohol information class). I believe possession and misdemeanor are on my record. I'm 18 now, will th...
In Washington State, juvenile records may be sealed when eligible. You will need to check your local jurisdiction to determine eligibility. Please do not assume that juvenile history "goes away" when you reach the age of majority. Many jurisdictions require a Court Order to seal the record. Please contact an attorney in South Carolina. The public defender office, juvenile division, may be a good place to start for information.See question
Sex offense as a juvenile... Already had been dealt with but I have been running through the issue for almost 5 years now.
Juvenile Court generally has original and exclusive jurisdiction for offenses committed by persons under 18. Once a person turns 18 years old, Juvenile Court is divested of jurisdiction and the matter is heard in the Adult Court. There are exceptions to this general rule. For example if a person is 16 or 17 and the alleged offense is one specifically noted in the Revise Code of Washington, the case is filed directly into the adult Court. There are also categories of misdemeanors like driving, boating or fish and game violations handled in adult courts of limited jurisdiction.See question
I got a ticket for 50 mph in a 25 mph school zone, with teenagers present and I went to court and chose to fight it because I did not think I was going that fast. So I got another court date and I turned 18 before the court date.
This is an infraction and not a criminal matter. In Washington State, courts of limited jurisdiction have authority to adjudicate traffic infractions. Courts of limited jurisdiction are commonly municipal (city) courts and district (county) courts. The sames laws and procedures apply to juveniles and adults in courts of limited jurisdiciton.See question
he is 18 years old and has no priors it could almost be self defense.
An Assault in the First Degree is a serious violent Class A felony. For a person with no criminal history the standard sentence range is from 93 to 123 months in the Department of Corrections. It is a very serious charge. Self-defense is a complete defense to an assault charge.
This eighteen year old should have an attorney immediately.
screaming at me. I kept telling her to back up into the room. she lost self control and she did not back up. I was afraid we were both going to go over the ledge. She finally went back into the room. I was in terrible fear of OUR lives. is t...
There are three recognized definitions of "assault" in the State of Washington: 1. an attempt, with unlawful force, to inflict bodily injury upon anotjher; 2. an unlawful touching with criminal intent, and 3. putting another in apprehension of harm whether or not the actor intends to inflict or is incapable of inflicting that harm.
Your inquiry describes life threatening circumstances. Your cousin's intent is not clear from your inquiry. An assault is committed by one of the three methods described above. I would need more details of the event to advise you.
well my daughter was caught shoplifting at a store in a mall for something that was worth like 6 bucks shes never done this or has ever gotten any citations/tickets for any matter ever she is 16 yrs old. i need to know what will happen in court an...
In most jurisdictions a simple shoplift is a misdemeanor theft. A first time juvenile shoftlifter may have alternatives available which will keep the matter out of court and off her record. Check with a local attorney or public defender to determine whether your daughter qualifies for a "diversion" or the low level alternative available in your juvenile court.
In addition to the criminal matter, the store may seek a civil monetary sanction and/or issue a trespass admonishment, requiring her to stay out of the store for a period of time.See question