Skip to main content
M David Daniel

About M Daniel

About me

     Representing clients in Oregon, numerous states and Mexico, Canada, Hungary and the Philippines since 1986. I taught clinical law at Willamette University College of Law for 18 years serving both as Supervising Attorney and Director of Clinical Programs. I currently teach at the Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) in the Forensic Psychiatry Department as a guest lecturer. My practice includes Family Law, Estate Planning and Probate. Part of my time is dedicated to consulting with patients at the Oregon State Hospital.

     I am a 1986 graduate of Willamette University College of Law where I earned a Doctor of Jurisprudence degree. My undergraduate degree in psychology was granted by Western Oregon State College in 1983 after attending both Indiana University and what is now Western Oregon University.

     My work experience and best education came from working, and working hard. As a youth, besides the pre-teen jobs shoveling sidewalks and driveways in the winter and mowing lawns in the summer (One client was a former Governor of the State of Indiana. ) I also deliverd newspapers, I was a salesperson at a clothing store beginning at age 14. I also mowed my grandfather's hay fields with a sycle bar mower pulled with a FordI was a counselor and then Waterfront Director at a summer camp through my high school years. I pumped gas when we had two grades, regular and ethyl and gasoline generally cost $0.24.9; yes that is 24.9 cents per gallon. I was a janitor at Harry Stevens Oldsmobile while I was a student at Indiana University where I had a full academic scholarship. 

     After my sophomore year at Indiana University (Go Hoosiers) I moved west, first to Idaho and then to Oregon. When I arrived in Oregon I worked as a farm hand on a dairy farm. Folks, that is hard work from morning till night. The usual workday was from 5:30 a.m. until 9:30 to 10:00 p.m. I still have work days like that in my legal practice.

     Post farming experience I worked with mr/dd adults in a group home and independent living environment. This employment got me through my years at Western Oregon and my first year of law school when you are advised not to work. You do what is necessary to keep afloat.  My wife and I were both graduate students at the same time and we both worked to make ends meet.

     After my first year of law school I was a law clerk at the Oregon Department of Justice in the Natural Resources Section and the Trial Division. My assigned attorney in the Trial Division allowed me to appear and argue motions in a number of cases. He also taught me the importance of working as a team and providing positive critical reviews of our work to each other.

     Upon graduation and gaining membership in the Oregon State Bar I went into private practice in a 5 lawyer firm in Salem, Oregon. That was followed by my 18 years teaching at Willamette University College of Law.

     I returned to private practice in 2006. I am fortunate that in my practice I can say the I enjoy my clients. Practicing law can be stressful, so working for people I enjoy is added motivation and makes my life easier. 

     I have appeared in every Circuit Court in Oregon, the Oregon Court of Appeals and the Oregon Supreme Court. I have also had cases in the United States District Court for the District of Oregon. I am a member of the Oregon State Bar, the U.S District Court bar and the United States Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit. I am a member of the bar of the Tribal Court for the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde where I have appeared in both the Trial Court and the Tribal Court of Appeals.

     I spent years as an umpire primarily for kids in the little leagues in the Salem/Keizer area. I also umpired at the high school and collegiate level.  I was a member of the board of directors for Keizer Little League serving a number of different roles. 

     As of February 2012 I have Emeritus Status as a board member for the Salem Keizer Community Development Corporation, a not for profit corporation  developing low income housing and social services. after serving on the board for 19 years.

     In my life outside of work I enjoy playing guitar. hopping in the kayak, looking at my wife's photos, and listening to music.  I listen almost exclusively to vinyl even though I have a large CD collection. I have a large garden where I grow 6 to 7 feet tall tomatoes of the indeterminate type as well as corn, beans, garlic, carrots, onions, peppers from mild to hot (habanero), eggplant and much more. 

     I own a 1953 International Farmall Super M tractor. My friends question my sanity on that one. I bleed Farmall Red and Hoosier Crimson.

     My favorite role in life is being a father. One son lives locally, one is in Las Vegas and the youngest is studying abroad in Graz, Austria.

     Experience in life, more than the study of law, has formed my capabilites to assist clients in obtaining positive results. Knowledge of the law is vital to a good practice, but knowledge of people, their motivations and concerns anchors my ability to help people. 

     If you are in need of a lawyer in my practice areas I hope you will give me a call. We are a LAW FIRM DEDICATED TO PROBLEM SOLVING


Photos and Videos

1490852 1332314721