Skip to main content

Jonathan M Corey

Divorce and separation Attorney at Portland, OR

5.0   25 reviews

Licensed for 18 years

About Jonathan

Learn Jonathan’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Divorce and separation
    30%

  2. Family
    30%
    Dedicated to cost-effective and compassionate resolution of family law disputes.

    17 years

  3. Child custody
    15%

  4. Child support
    15%

  5. Domestic violence
    10%

COMPASSION & EXPERIENCED IN THE MOST CHALLENGING FAMILY CASES.

 

            Jonathan has practiced law in Oregon since 2004. In that time, he has been mentored by several of the best Family Law attorneys and litigators in the state. As a result, he delivers a high level of experience, savvy and wisdom to each of his clients.  In 2014, he was recognized as a “Top 10 under 40” by the National Academy of Family Law Attorneys.  In 2015, he was named part of the “Nation’s Top One Percent” by the National Association of Distinguished Counsel.

 

            Jonathan’s client-focused approach drives him to find the right balance between strong advocacy, effective representation, and overall guidance on the transition that takes place during a family law matter.  Jonathan believes that every client’s needs are different; he strives to determine those needs and meet them in the most-efficient way possible.

 

            In addition to his client-focused approach, Jonathan also enjoys serving his community and charitable causes.  He is most proud of his pro bono representation of children in high-conflict custody proceedings – where Multnomah County Judges rely on Jonathan’s input to help resolve parental conflicts that are often injurious to innocent children.  “Representing children in high-conflict cases makes you understand the real impact that a family law proceeding has on the many lives it touches.  It’s a great service to the community and also a source of wisdom that I pass on to my adult clients throughout their case.”

 

            Also, as chairman of the Multnomah Bar Association’s Golf Committee, Jonathan is instrumental in raising thousands of dollars every year for the Volunteer Lawyer’s Project – a program designed to provide critical legal services for low-income people. Jonathan also volunteers for the Portland chapter of Guide Dogs for the Blind and loves raising his rescue dog.

 

            When he is not hard at work, Jonathan enjoys playing in a Portland Basketball league to keep his mind sharp. An avid sports fan, Jonathan will freely admit that he is happiest during football season.

 

Photos and videos

Licensed for 18 years
State OR
Status Active
Acquired 2004
Updated 12/11/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Jonathan

Corey Law Group
420 SW Washington Street
Suite 400
Portland, OR, 97204

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  25 customer reviews
5 Star
 
96%
4 Star
 
4%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Timothy | February 10, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
We couldn't have asked for more...
We couldn't have asked for more as our interaction with Jonathan was everything we had hoped for and more. He was knowledgeable, professional, and incredibly well prepared. We had seen him for another related matter a few years ago and when we met he had all of our documents laid out and had already read through them all again. During our meeting he also remembered points of our previous discussion and was able to tie them in with our current situation. Most impressive was his demeanor and how there was no doubt at all that our best interests, and not our dollars, were on the forefront of all of his advice. He helped us feel comfortable, while thoroughly explaining all of our options, even options that would not include utilizing a lawyer! Overall, he's remarkable and we would recommend him without hesitation to anyone.
Read less
Posted by Kris Z. | December 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
STRONG, DEPENDABLE, THE BEST LAWYER
Jonathan Corey has helped me through one of the most difficult time in my life- A Divorce. His communication and work ethic is top notch. He has fought for me and my child througout the whole process. He is very knowledgeable and dependable, especially with answering legal questions pertaining to the case. I would recommend him to anyone who is going through a divorce. He is the Best lawyer I have met.
Read less
Posted by Jesse | February 27, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
Jonathan Corey was amazing to work with. He’s very knowledgeable and was always quick to respond whenever I had questions. Divorce is never easy, but having a great attorney definitely helps. I’d highly recommend him if you need a family law attorney.
Posted by Scott | March 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jonathan is a great attorney that gets it done with compassion!
I was referred to Jonathan from another attorney friend of mine. I interviewed a total of 4 attorneys before choosing Jonathan. Two of the other attorneys I interviewed were on the top 10 list for 10 years in a row. I was out looking for the best attorney and not looking at the cost. I found Jonathan very easy to deal with. He made everything easy to understand. He walked me through the process step by step and we strategized together on what would be best for me. He seemed very personable and very knowledgeable. My ex-wife & I owned and managed our own rental properties. We had a fairly high net worth and we had to split up all the properties & assets. The divorce went very smoothly, it lasted about a year. I was also having some major personal issues going on in my life (outside the divorce) at that time and Jonathan helped me on a personal level through that. This can be one of the most stressful times in your life and it’s nice to deal with someone who has heart and compassion for what you’re going through. Jonathan always represented himself as a professional. The guy knows his stuff. He’s also a great guy! I highly recommend him and his price is very reasonable compared to the competition. You can spend A LOT more and not get represented as well. I give him 5 stars!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 4, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Solid attorney
Jonathan did a great job for me in my custody trial. He definitely knew what actions he needed to take and when the best opportunity was to put them in place. Very knowledgeable and attentive. Would highly recommend him to anyone in the same situation.
Posted by anonymous | January 4, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great divorce attorney
I hired Jonathan Corey to represent me in a divorce that had been strung out way to long. Jonathan was always very straightforward and represented things clearly. He had the respect of opposing counsel and his negotiations enabled us to get things wrapped up promptly and efficiently, thus putting this matter to rest and behind me. Should I ever be in the unfortunate position of getting divorced again, I would hire Jonathan, no questions asked.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 23, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very helpful and easy to work with
Mr. Corey was a great resource in my divorce. He provided great advice and coaching through the difficult and arduaous process. Jonathan was on point during the negotiations and now, three years later, is always quick to return a call/email on follow up questions and ongoing case maintenance.
Posted by Eric | October 23, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Smart, Consistent, Clear, and Calm
My experience with Jonathan has been excellent and as pleasurable as possible during unpleasant circumstances. Honestly, in desperation, I chose the firm for which Jonathan previously worked out of the phonebook. I had little time to answer a petition so my research could have been more thorough. I was so lucky to have found Jonathan! He immediately allayed my fears about my case. I felt that Jonathan took a personal interest in what was happening to my life and that I was not just another case and more casework. He was very quick to guide me through confusing paperwork, stood by me during difficult meetings, and was never more than a phone call away if I had any questions or just needed to talk. I appreciate this so much. Through Jonathan's expertise, determination, and clarity I was able to achieve a desirable outcome to my case. I would recommend Jonathan Corey to anyone, male or female, in need of a class act attorney. He has gone above and beyond the call of duty for me!
Read less
Posted by Curt | October 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jon Corey gets it done and very nicely!
I was impressed with Jon from my initial contact through the end of services for a divorce I hired him for. He is very insightful and caring and a good communicator. I would highly recommend Jon Corey
Posted by Vixen | October 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Parenting plan and child support
I was given Mr. Corey's name by a friend whom is a lawyer for equine law and she highly recommended him for family law. When I met him he was professional and very factual and upfront and honest. Mr. Corey assisted me first with updating an old parenting plan to protect my kids best interest and support their activities in August of 2014. Then when my ex decided to fight state update in child support in the beginning of 2015, I once again contact Mr. Corey and hired him for the child support case. He was very honest and up front, he tried to save me from the expense and tried to work with my ex's lawyers. He explained to them and myself that this whole case was only harming us more and we needed to get through it as soon as possible. He always listened to my concerns and addressed my questions. Mr Corey was great to work with even over the distance as I am located over 7 hours from his office. When we had the hearing Mr. Corey prepared me by explaining to me what would happen and what to expect. He helped me in knowing what they would be looking for and needing to know, he helped me gather my thoughts and not to be emotional but factually. He always defended me, my rural community ranching lifestyle and me as a mother. Mr Corey always listened to the facts and was up front and honest and truly a caring lawyer and I would highly recommend him to anyone thinking of or needing an attorney for family law. Jonathan Corey is truthful and honest and very knowledgeable.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 21, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer highly recommended
Our families experience was excellent!! Jonathan was straight forward from the beginning explaining to us from his previous experiences what to expect and not to expect when petitioning parenting time and custody. He was really easy to work with and great at explaining legal jargon, court terms and or court documents. Jonathan was always respectful and always thought about our interest. I will definitely work with Jonathan again and HIGHLY recommend him to anyone that is in need of legal counseling.
Read less
Posted by Kris | October 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney
I contacted Jonathan for a ugly custody case. I found him very easy to talk to and very knowledgeable. During the case multiple questions came up as they always do. Anytime I would contact Jonathan he would get back to me in a timely manner. Prior to submitting documents Jonathan discussed them with me to make sure I was comfortable with what he proposed (Other attorneys I have used did not do this). From consultation to completion of case, Jonathan stays on top of it with an open line of communication and a great attitude.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce attorney
Jonathan was warm and easily approachable. It was a very difficult phase of my life when things were falling apart. He provided very good advice and kept me focused on the bigger goals. He had a good understanding of the law and the opposing counsel, and he balanced this with a very realistic and practical approach. He was very empathetic during the process - listened patiently and explained as much as possible to me. He was always available, including weekends on his cellphone for any questions or concerns. He works really really hard with the client's best interest in mind. He was very open to consider the laws of another foreign jurisdiction as it applied to me, while we made some decisions during the process. In short, I would hire him again as my attorney if needed, and would recommend to family and friends.
Read less
Posted by Stephanie | October 19, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful Help During High Conflict Custody Battle!
I highly recommend Jonathan to anyone who is going through a divorce or custody situation. I had a high conflict custody situation with my son and Jonathan's level headed, sound, balanced approach to things help keep my emotions and feelings together. He is a good person as well as attorney and I always felt like he had my best interest as well as my sons in mind. He was prompt to return calls anytime day or night and always made me feel like he understood and had a personal interest in my families situation. He is a real person with a genuine passion for his job and helping his clients. Jonathan is a Great Attorney!
Read less
Posted by Lauren | February 1, 2015
Divorce Client
One thing that really stood out to me from the first day working with Mr. Corey was when he encouraged me with; "I know it may not seem like it right now, but really I promise you... you are going to be okay." He was right, within two weeks out from my difficult 9+ marriage and 12 year relationship; I really did feel exactly that, okay. Mr. Corey was a true advocate on my behalf, always working that little bit extra to make sure that things were taken care of and handled in a professional way. He is quick to put things in perspective in an easy way to understand and always helping with legal advice that explains what is most important to the case. He is quick to respond to any issue, thorough, highly trustworthy, and very knowledgeable. Not even just a few short weeks into working with him, had I already recommended him to a friend's friend who was also going through a divorce. Mr. Corey sees people as they are--human-- and their life situations as that, something to respect; unlike other lawyers who treat lives or divorce court like it is a game of winners and losers. With Mr. Corey everybody wins because his integrity and excellent communication commands others' respect and good faith no matter the circumstances.
Read less
Posted by Maria | February 25, 2014
Confidence and Professionalism helped calm my anxieties. Thank you!
I contacted Jonathan for clarification on some areas of my divorce decree, he was helpful in both a professional and a personal way putting my anxieties at ease. I had another issue arise and he fielded it promptly and precisely, getting me the result I needed. The only thing I wish were different is I wish he represented me more in the past. I would highly recommend his services. Easy and warm to work with.
Read less
Posted by Heather | January 22, 2014
Excellent Attorney! Thank you!
Jonathan was such a great advacate me. He always made time for me and listen to what I needed and what I felt. He was quick to offer advice and what was in my best interest. He even made himself available on the weekend when I needed it. Jonathan always kept me updated where my case was at and where he felt it was headed. I feel he was a great lawyer to hire and will hire him again if I need it. Thank you Jonathan!
Read less
Posted by Felicia | September 3, 2013
Highly reffered
Jonathan did an excellent job handling my case. He was very patient and empathetic dealing with and answering my many questions and concerns. He kept me focused at times that I was very frustrated dealing with the opposing party to make sure I made an informed decision with confidence. I appreciate that he was prompt in returning my emails and phone calls and easy to get a hold of. I feel very fortunate that he was on my side representing me in this matter . I would highly recommend Jonathan to anyone seeking an attorney in family legal matters .
Read less
Posted by Kiala | August 26, 2013
Jonathan Corey is an excellent attorney
Jonathan was professional, warm and reassuring. Divorce is an emotional, painful process and he made it as painless as possible. I would highly recommend Jonathan to anyone of my friends who needs a great, whip smart and empathetic (important in these cases) lawyer.
Posted by anonymous | August 25, 2013
Trustworthy, knowledgeable, insightful, efficient
When I was interviewing lawyers to take over my case (my last lawyer had to withdraw because of health problems) I had one tell me, this is really about how well you trust a person to represent you because it is difficult to evaluate someone on how well they do something that you have not done yourself and you know nothing about. Johnathan Corey or JC finished my divorce that was over two years old when he took the case, it was lost in motions to extend, unreasonable demands and failed communication. It had come to a complete halt. From my first interview with JC, he was solid and his actions communicated that he could be trusted. He analyzed the facts and understood the issues, he laid out the options and worked toward resolving the case with efficiency and expedience. He always had the bigger picture in mind. He was straightforward, honest and didn't pull any punches. If he thought I was off he would tell me, if he thought that the other side was fair he would tell me that as well. He was extremely strategic with great ideas but also managed my expectations. The great thing about JC was that he wanted me to hold him accountable as well. He took part in negotiations with the other side and wanted me to tell him when I thought the negotiations were no longer useful, and he listened. I felt like he was ALWAYS in my corner, we were a team. This was a difficult divorce given that our assets and liabilities were not complex and our child was older. A couple of the lawyers that I interviewed were not very optimistic about my case and were intimidated by the firm of the opposing counsel, I needed someone who believed in me and my case and would represent me regardless of the opposing counsel's firm; JC was THAT GUY! A divorce is a terrible thing but if you have to go through it, you need someone who will work with you to complete it in the amount of time that is necessary without doing things that are unnecessary. You need someone who helps you to move through it and get on with your life. Jonathan Corey is that type of attorney. He knows when to negotiate but is not afraid to litigate. He is an intelligent lawyer who is wise beyond his years. I would hire JC again in a heartbeat and I recommend him to others without reservation.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 400-400 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Corey Law Group
  • 2010 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Yates, Matthews & Eaton PC
  • 2008 - 2010
  • Attorney
  • Stahancyk Kent Johnson & Hook P C
  • 2007 - 2008
  • Attorney
  • Smith Freed & Eberhard PC
  • 2004 - 2006
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Oregon School of Law
  • Juris Doctor
  • 2004
  • Southern Methodist University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2000

Legal Cases

  • KB v PH
  • Custody awarded to Father; appropriate drug testing of Mother ordered
  • MG v GW
  • Father's Restraining Order upheld; Mother's Restraining Order dismissed; Father ultimately awarded full custody of young child.

Associations

  • Portland Women's Crisis Line
  • Sponsor
  • 2013 - Present
  • Multnomah Bar Association
  • Golf Committee Chair
  • 2011 - Present
  • Multnomah County Circuit Court
  • Pro Bono Child Advocate
  • 2010 - Present
  • Multnomah Bar Asscociation
  • Young Lawyers Society
  • 2010 - 2012
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top One Percent
  • National Association of Distinguished Counsel
  • 2015
  • Top 10 Attorneys Under 40
  • National Academy Of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2014

Attorney endorsements

Received (18)
Given (27)
Endorse Jonathan
Family Attorney | Jun 12
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jonathan is a very intelligent, experienced and thoughtful attorney. He has my endorsement."
Family Attorney | Jan 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jonathan is calm, collected and very knowledgable. He is the type of attorney that you want working on your behalf. I have no hesitation in referring family law matters to Jonathan."
Family Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jonathan is thorough and pragmatic. He has my endorsement."
Family Attorney | May 13
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jonathan Corey is knowledgable, professional, and keeps calm under pressure. In short, he is the sort of attorney we all strive to become. I cannot recommend him enough."
Family Attorney | Feb 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jonathan is an excellent attorney. He is a skilled litigator and has deep, nuanced understanding of family law. I endorse and recommend him without hesitation."
Family Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Corey is an excellent advocate for people involved in family law matters."
Family Attorney | Jan 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Corey is confident and commanding in presence, and is a strong advocate."
Family Attorney | Jan 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jonathan has been a great help to me with my law practice, and his legal and practical insights have been spot on. I am happy to highly recommend him."
Family Attorney | Jan 07
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jon is an exceptional attorney and gifted writer. He also has a wealth of experience working on family law matters. I regularly refer clients who need a family law attorney to Jon."
Family Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jonathan Corey is an excellent attorney. He and I were opposing counsel on a family law matter. Thanks to Jonathan's hard work, we were able to settle our case swiftly and efficiently to the satisfaction of both our clients. Jonathan is a conscientious lawyer who listens to and provides support for his clients while guiding them capably through the complex legal system. He is timely in his work, responds quickly to communications, and pays excellent attention to detail. In my opinion he is a professional in the truest sense of the word and I recommend him without reservation."
Family Attorney | Aug 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is very smart and works hard for his clients. I have referred clients to him in the past and they have been quite pleased with his work."
Family Attorney | Aug 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Jonathan is bright and personable, and represents his clients very well."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Aug 26
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"When John and I had a case in front of a Washington County judge, he did a very solid job presenting the evidence. Not all lawyers do such good work. As a result, I am comfortable endorsing John."
Family Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have the utmost faith in Jon's abilities as a family lawyer. While I live in Texas, I have friends and family in the Portland area, all of whom I refer to Jon when they have a problem."
Family Attorney | Mar 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I've always believed Jon to be a dedicated and more than competent lawyer. While I am a practicing attorney, I do not practice in the area of family law. However, whenever I receive a call from potential clients with family law issues, without hesitation, I provide them with Jonathan's contact information."
Family Attorney | Nov 15
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jonathon takes a smart approach to his cases. His diligence is superb."
Family Attorney | Oct 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements