I received a speeding ticket in Oregon, Josephine County to be precise, and I have been granted permission to appear in court over the phone since I live in WA. The officer claims I was going 89 in a 65 but I have never pushed my car that hard. I ...
If you have a clean driving record over the past couple of years, then generally speaking, judges will reduce the financial penalty of a ticket. I can tell you that you will have a much better chance of success in getting some breaks if you appear personally in court. If you appear, you can discuss the ticket with the officer, who may be willing to offer you a reduction or even the opportunity to take a traffic class and achieve a dismissal of your ticket. Attorneys who handle traffic cases like myself are well-versed in the court system and which police agencies will work with you or not, and which courts are more or less difficult to work with. Call an attorney for some advice before making a decision to appear by phone. I can tell you from hearing other people call-in their case, the likelihood of success is very low.See question
I was charged in 1996 as a juvenile sex offender, at the age of 15. i served 5 years under OYA correctional facilities, and was released 15 years ago. I have been relieved of registration for nearly ten years. my record has never been an issue un...
The laws regarding juvenile expungement in sex cases have indeed changed quite a bit. There is a limited exception for sex-crime expungement under very specific circumstances, including that the offense was a class C felony, you were under 16, and the victim was at least 12, among other circumstances. Please feel free to give me a call on this, as this is a particular area of my expertise.
In regards to background checks and applications, you have to be careful as to what question is being asked. If the question asks for criminal convictions, then you can answer no, as to this adjudication, as it is not a criminal conviction but rather a juvenile adjudication. If the question is more broad, then you may have to answer yes, it just depends on the question asked.See question
Ignition Interlock Device required for two years. I was told that I could drive our other vehicles without the device as long as one vehicle had it installed.
I agree with my colleague Mr. Kahn. Every vehicle that you intend to drive must have an interlock device installed. The exception is for an employer-owned vehicle or in limited medical circumstances.See question
Back in 2013 i got a duii felony my question is can i get a work permit? my disabled daughter that has a lot of appointments. if i write the courts restate my license if that would work. i have pay all my fine and done all that the courts ask me t...
Unfortunately, there is no work or hardship permit available for a lifetime revocation imposed with a felony DUII. However, you can petition to reinstate your license after 10 years has gone by since the revocation began. For you, that appears to be 2023. Beyond that, I am not aware of anything else you can do to get your license back before then.See question
The other day I was headed to the water with some friends. We had open beers. There was a Gladstone Police officer sitting in his patrol car and flashed his lights. I was given an Oregon Uniform Citation and Complaint for $720. It's been listed as...
The first thing to do is to not post further details about this matter online, as law enforcement can read what you post, and attempt to track you down. Secondly, you should contact an attorney right away to answer your questions. Generally speaking, if you plead no contest, a payment plan can be set up with some additional fees tacked on. Refusing to pay is not a good idea. You should talk to a lawyer right away to discuss your options with this.See question
Greetings I am in Oregon and i was curious if i could find a lead for my conceal carrying case in this instance a approx 6" combat knife was in my back pack in the lobby of the court room i intend to fight the case as i dont like the plea offered...
The first thing you should do is not post any further details about this matter online. This site is public, which means that law enforcement can see what you post. Secondly, you absolutely need to get a lawyer to help you. Preparing your own defense is not in your best interest. There is nothing wrong with trying to figure out some basics, but only a lawyer can accurately discuss your options and potential punishment you may face due to this situation. My recommendation is to contact a lawyer immediately to discuss your case.See question
I'm trying to become a martial arts instructor and am worried my record will disqualify me in a background check. Also, is sealed the right way to go about getting through a background check or should I be trying to get my record expunged?
Unfortunately, the DUII's cannot be expunged. Oregon's expungement law does not permit that. However, you may be able to get your PCS cases expunged, if you meet the eligibility requirements.
The general requirements for expungement (which is the same as sealing your record) is that you must wait 3 years from the date of conviction, or 10 years for multiple convictions, you must have no current pending charges, and you must have completed the conditions of probation/post-prison supervision successfully.
Call an attorney, and they can discuss with you if and when you may be eligible for expungement of the PCS cases. Good luck!See question
Good evening Lawyers, thank you for taking the time to read my query. My arrests and convictions for D.W.I were committed over a 25 year period and in none of the cases was anyone ever injured. They were all routine pull over scenarios where I ble...
The answer to your question is that you may be able to get your license back. Generally speaking, if your license is revoked "for life," that means 10 years in Oregon before you can petition to get your driving privileges back. Whether your privileges are reinstated depends on a number of factors, and it sounds like you are going in the right direction with being sober and working to help others with such. Getting your license back is purely discretionary, meaning you may, but are not entitled, to get your license back. Call an attorney and they can tell you what are the possibilities for your particular situation.See question
recently turned 18, committed the crime out of state ( actually lives in California)
You will need to speak with a California lawyer about this. In the mean time, do not post further details about this incident online, and find a good lawyer in your area. Oregon law is very different from California law in many respects, so talking to an Oregon lawyer will not help you. Good luck.See question