Skip to main content

Madanmohan Singh Ahluwalia

Divorce and separation Attorney at San Jose, CA

4.9   54 reviews

also known as Madan Ahluwalia

Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 29 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1995
    Status
    Active Lawyer disciplined by state licensing authority in 2005

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2005. See details

About Madanmohan

Learn Madanmohan’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Divorce and separation
    40%
    We handle marital dissolution/divorce, child support and spousal support, child custody and property division matters in as holistic way as possible based on your life situation.

    15 years, 45 cases

  2. Child custody
    20%
    Child custody is most sensitive and close to heart. We handle these cases delicately. Madan Ahluwalia is also trained as Minor Counsel for the court.

  3. Child support
    20%
    Child support is based on party's income and expenses, timeshare and multiple factors. We help you understand the basics and come up with agreements or seek appropriate orders so that you can focus on raising the kid, and not worry about money.

  4. Alimony
    11%

  5. Child abuse
    9%

EACH CASE IS UNIQUE JUST LIKE YOU ARE. CALL OUR OFFICE TO SET A SESSION TO EXPLORE WHAT WE CAN DO FOR YOU.

Madan Ahluwalia has been a lawyer since 1995. He is experienced Minor Counsel and Settlement Officer.

Madan Ahluwalia graduated from the San Francisco Law School with a Juris Doctorate degree in 1994. He passed the California Bar Exam in November 1994 and immediately began his career as an attorney by going into private law practice.

Madan has numerous clients giving testimonial to his legal expertise. Madan makes his clients feel comfortable with the legal process by initiating communication on a regular basis and being truthful and straightforward throughout a case. He talks to clients in a way that they can understand-cutting out all the legalese. Therefore, Madan ensures a quick turn-around time, and he always keeps clients posted about the progress of their cases. Madan's philosophical approach is to educate the client to enable him or her to make smart practical decisions.

Photos and videos

Location

Ahluwalia Law PC
255 N. Market Street, #248
San Jose, CA, 95110

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  54 customer reviews
5 Star
 
93%
4 Star
 
7%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | April 29, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Trust
It was the first time working with a lawyer and Mr. Ahluwalia far exceeded my expectation. I highly value his professionalism, trustworthiness, integrity, and caring attitude. He guided me every step of the way and explaining things to me with great patience. He definitely has my best interest in mind and I totally trust him. Highly recommend!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 5, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Family Trial Lawyer in the country
I came as a client after being referred to. Mr Ahluwalia comes out to be a very honest person and a good human being. We had inconsistent discussions too regarding my case, but he got me onboard right away. He is an excellent trial lawyer and worked with me on my trial for many hours or days I must say. He never gave any false hopes and guided me through the process. We had days of disagreement and we had great days for trial, but boy was this person working with me. I give him all stars and a stellar review because he was with me and after working with so notable law firms he came out as a jewel. I was a tough client and he told me that he now works for me. Such a notable person who listens when nobody listens and give you law IDs and such.
Read less
Posted by Susan | December 21, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Real Estate Attorney
I had the pleasure of working with AHLUWALIA LAW on a real estate transaction. The professional demeanor and knowledge demonstrated made this transaction go smoothly and efficiently. I highly recommend this firm for any client’s needs from start to finish.
Posted by anonymous | August 19, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience and Support
I approached Ahluwalia P. C and had the pleasure of working with Madan Ahluwalia. Starting from our very first meeting, Madan was very resourceful, upfront, detailed, and it helped me to make the decision and file for divorce petition. It was clear to me that he was providing all the suggestions with my best interests. Sometimes I was not able to completely follow his effective solutions, but Madan understood my challenges and stood by me through all the difficult decisions. He was also very considerate about my children and made sure that their upbringing, wellbeing, and future are prioritized in the judgement. Madan is very prompt and makes sure all the documents are filed on time. Overall, working with him was a great learning experience for me and I understood that besides understanding the law and my rights, managing finances and emotions are also very necessary in this process.He provided me with resources to handle all the logistics.  He showed me what are the long term solutions and challenges that I should be ready to face with the outcome. He continues to check on our status and it is a sense of peace to have such a support behind you. 
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 26, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Caring, Thorough, Expedient, and Cost Conscious
Madan took the time to understand our situation. He read through our documentation, explained possible scenarios, and helped us to make the right decision for our family. I was amazed at how quickly we came to a good resolution after first meeting with him.
Posted by Rahool | January 1, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Family Lawyer
Madan has been exceptional in handling the Domestic Violence and Divorce case which I filed. Right from the beginning, he helped me understand my situation and options with clarity. Madan is extremely efficient in his work and communications, which ends up saving you money. He helped me out of tough situations in my case multiple times which literally saved me from pitfalls. He was the driving force behind keeping the case proceedings timely. He kept my expectations realistic but also never compromised on things that were important for me. Madan is very ethical in his work and he doesn't take nonsense from anyone. I am really glad I chose him to represent me and I couldn't have done better.
Read less
Posted by William | September 9, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very pleased
Attorney Ahluwalia made my divorce process smooth and as stress free as it could go. He was timely with responses, informative and offered experienced insight that proved to be very helpful. Additionally, his fee’s were reasonable (I was quoted thousands more by other lawyers) I would very much recommend him.
Posted by Shalini | April 15, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Erudite and Compassionate Attorney for all his clients
I had multiple attorneys (4 in total) on my case (18FL003681) before *I hired Mr. Ahluwalia in Jan2022*. Being a law student along with a foreign attorney, I self-represented my case for sometime, until I hired an attorney Nov2021 that twisted my case, by not filing for a DCSS trial, due to her lack of sincerity towards my case. So when I hired Mr. Ahluwalia 2days prior to my DVRO Trial, I was giving him a twisted case with an aggressive OP counsel Walia Law Firm and highly contested matter that no attorney would have touched. Mr. Ahluwalia took his time almost refused but then came onboard. He vigilantly took his time to understand my case, my strategies, my goals and the results I was seeking. "He is extremely organized, prudent n ingenious" BUT most above all erudite and compassionate. Though Mr. Ahluwalia shares a good repo with Ms. Walia having multiple cases with each other, professionally he stood his ground against their unethical tactics in my case which included him working late hrs for my case. He knows what to present to the court for an optimum outcome and even though many mistakes were made by the OP Counsels already in my case still they kept pushing the buttons of the Court. Even my husband (OP) felt the burden of his attorneys and today we are out of the Court system and into mediation. Mr. Ahluwalia is family for me. He did not agree to all my view rather showed me the better way around and is an expensive attorney but He never lets his clients lose in the Court even if they are as difficult as I was, he never leaves them in btw a difficult case alone like many family attorneys resort to. I was not a high paying client as I was not working still Mr. Ahluwalia stayed on. I highly recommend him. Attorneys can n might get disciplined for any minor, out of their control or even procedural default which is not even related to their professional ability or integrity towards the system and law. This should not be construed or judged against them as Attorneys, they have the caliber, understanding and knowledge to clear the State Bar which in itself is a big deal and their experience in the profession should be the proof. *Note- This is not a paid review and is made in public interest based only on my personal case and experience without prejudice. I m against no one and no harm is intended to anyone named herein*
Read less
Response from Madanmohan Ahluwalia May 10, 2022
Thank you! Wish you all the best.
Posted by anonymous | March 10, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney
Madan was very professional and knowledgeable with my case. He remained very supportive and guided me through the right directions during the entire time. I'm lack of words to adequately express my gratitude for the services I received during the course of my journey. A big thanks to Madan for guiding me to remain positive and hopeful in the most stressful phase of life.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 21, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Family Law Attorney
Madan was very responsive, knowledgeable and dedicated family law attorney who helped me with my divorce. He gave good advice and was straightforward.He educated me on the pros and cons of getting a divorce. He will explain everything in detail and made the process a better learning experience. And just in general a man of his word and a great man overall!
Read less
Posted by Joanna Schulhof | May 11, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best Help
I will be always grateful to Mr. Madan Ahluwalia. He have helped me with his profecional advise and an empathy at the most difficult times. He is a wonderful human being. I would definitely recommend his services to my friends.
Posted by Kaveeta | April 26, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer. Highly recommended.
I had a great experience having Mr. Ahluwalia as my attorney. He is very proficient and knowledgeable. I highly recommend him. He reviewed my case and made the necessary amendment. Now I am officially divorced. Thank you!
Posted by Sandeep | March 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Ahluwalia is the best chance you have in court!
Mr. Ahluwalia is the attorney you should have hired yesterday! I had the privilege of Mr. Ahluwalia representing me in family court with ruthless efficiency at a time when I didn't know how to handle the legal assault on my life by an ex who had finally shown her true colors of being a malignant narcissist. Mr Ahluwalia demonstrated legal acumen that adapted to the ever changing dynamics of my case, and eventually secured a favorable order from the Superior Court of California by successfully arguing a nuanced position that got me the much needed closure I desperately needed. It is hard to summarize 1.5 years of legal drama (exacerbated, in part, due to COVID-19) that Mr. Ahluwalia protected me from. However, by the end of the case, I walked away a wiser person due to the legal and spiritual guidance from Mr. Ahluwalia that helped me steer my life's ship in the right direction. I strongly urge anyone who needs an honest, unbiased and unfiltered wake-up call about how to fight for your rights, to pick up that phone and schedule an appointment with Mr. Ahluwalia. You are welcome.
Read less
Response from Madanmohan Ahluwalia March 11, 2021
Much appreciated.
Posted by Namrah | October 6, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce case
Spouse attacked my integrity and sought nullity based on fraud. Mr. Ahluwalia counselled me and helped with very detailed and well organized counter attack which forced him to not only withdraw his petition for nullity but settle the entire case. We settled very quickly and favorable terms with lowest fees possible. Mr. Ahluwalia is very professional and dedicated. He used to reply me right away and was always concerned. He gave me the best advice always and for sure made me deal with the situation in a very strong and positive way. It was my first time dealing with any lawyer and i got lucky. He is always there for you. He was my biggest support in my toughest time and it’s amazing how he deals with his clients. He is professional yet very caring. I would strongly recommend him because he sure is the best.
Read less
Response from Madanmohan Ahluwalia October 8, 2018
Thank you so much. it is great to work with a client who is well educated and focuses on practical outcome and willing to forget the past. You are definitely one such client.
Posted by N@veeN | August 3, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable, Understandable, On-point discussion,Good Suggestions.
I had hired Madan Ahluwalia for Divorce case. In our first meet, I felt He is knowledgeable on seeing/receving the quick resolutions and alternatives of the case and same reflected in his work. He explained everything patiently and clearly though same questions were asked multiple times. My case was complex as my wife doesnt want to accept the Divorce and dint hire an attorney for dragging the case. He coordinated very well between both of us for resolutions. He had some good discussions with my wife and asked me for reconciliation as he felt that she is genuine in her explanation. But after observing all the facts which were happened before and after filing the Divorce, I explained Madan that reconciliation is not a wise decision because of lot many reasons (I dont want to put them in this forum). He helped me in analyzing and providing complete financial disclosures without hiding anything for a reasonable settlement. As per the settlement process, My wife wanted the money which was supposed to receive from me to be donated to Orphanages/Girl welfare associations as her last wish and I assure that her wish will come true once all the False/Fake Allegations/Cases filed against me and my family got cleared back in India. Madan coordinated and I received timely court hearings and resolutions. Thanks Madan for supporting and providing good suggestions which improved my insight in observing and taking appropriate decisions in various situations.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 23, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Family Law Attorney
I consulted with Madan after a recommendation to obtain counsel in my divorce. He is very knowledgeable, calming and gets great results. Madan also bills very reasonably and strives to not waste your time.
Posted by Meghana | July 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce case
We pushed hard for spousal support and attorney fees and got a good deal. We pushed hard on date of separation which was big item and used to negotiate good settlement. We had a fair balance of discovery, settlement and attorney fees (which were reasonable and he paid for most of it). Madan Ahluwalia handled my case very efficiently. He gave excellent advice that not only gave me peace of mind, but also solved the issue.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A lawyer whom you can trust.
Mr. Ahluwalia, have helped me in troubled time. His Honest, straightforward and valueable guidance wriggled me out of tough situation. Hiring him for my case turned out to be a very sensible decision. I would highly recommend him.
Response from Madanmohan Ahluwalia March 19, 2018
Thank you. We worked as a team and your own commitment to find solutions and reach agreements out of the court was a key factor. Wish you the best.
Posted by anonymous | January 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend Madan Ahluwalia for Divorce Resolution
Madan Ahluwalia helped me with a very contentious divorce the past few months after I fired my previous lawyer and I am very pleased with his service. He was very clear and helpful about what to expect and was prepared for all the possible contingencies, so I really appreciate his candor and professionalism. He was confident in answering my questions, as well as listening well too, being professional and friendly. My case was a relatively complex case that dragged on for 18 months and was also an emotional case because my ex was doing everything in his power to make my life miserable. While I am hoping that I do not have to have any other legal issues in the future, if anything were to occur, there is no one I would ever consider to represent me but Madan Ahluwalia.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 8, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Reasonable, Realistic, easy to work with
I worked opposite Madan on a difficult family law matter involving intense custody and visitation issues. Madan was realistic in his approach to resolving the outstanding issues and exercised great client control and set realistic expectations for his client. Working with Madan made an otherwise ugly and unpleasant case bearable.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.5 (Excellent)

Professional misconduct

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2005.

Discipline with Actual Suspension issued in CA, 2005
updated on 01/20/2016

This sanction means the attorney lost his or her license to practice law for a period of time. The attorney typically returns to practicing law when the suspension expires.

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Ahluwalia Law
  • 1995 - Present

Education

  • San Francisco Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1994
  • Punjab University
  • Bachelor of Laws
  • 1987

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Gulati v. Gulati
  • My client won. The court did not find fraud in marriage.
  • Narvaez vs. Brosnan
  • Settled right before the trial

Associations

  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • Santa Clara County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • San Mateo County Bar Association
  • MCLE Committee
  • N/A
  • San Mateo County Bar Association
  • Membership Committee
  • N/A
  • National Network of Estate Planning Attorneys
  • 2001 - 2002
  • San Francisco County Bar Association-Immigration Committee
  • President
  • 1996 - 1997
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Hindi
  • Urdu
  • Punjabi

Honors and Awards

  • 10 Best
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Outstanding Service-Indo American Community
  • CA Legislature
  • 1999

Speaking Engagements

  • GNA Meeting
  • Uninsured and Underinsured Coverage
  • 2012

Attorney endorsements

Received (10)
Given (7)
Endorse Madanmohan
Unknown Attorney | Mar 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"An excellent lawyer who treats clients with patience, care, understanding, and utmost professionalism - an even better person and I wholeheartedly recommend for future services."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jan 30
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have worked with Madan on various cases and he has been very professional and easy to deal with. He is willing to work with opposing counsel on getting the matter resolved quickly and efficiently."
Family Attorney | Jan 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I've work with Mr. Ahluwalia on several cases. I find him to be very consciences devoted to his clients."
Personal injury Attorney | Feb 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Contracts and agreements Attorney | Feb 15
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I found him to be highly professional, appropriately aggressive as an opponent, and looking out for the interests of his clients."
Business Attorney | Feb 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Madan has illustrated a genuine concern for his clients, excellent follow through and a rare ability to be able to be part of a team and involve other legal specialists when it is in his client's best interest. He is goal oriented and seeks to achieve client goals in a time and cost effective way."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known Mr. Madanmohan Ahluwalia since more than 7 years and I have also worked under him for sometime. I find him to be knowledgeable, detail oriented and sensitive to the client's requirements. He had also successfully and competently represented my close family member in obtaining his immigration status."
Business Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Over the last 26 years in practice, I have met many lawyers who talk a lot but do nothing. Madan and I recently worked on a business matter together, and he has shown himself to be competent, reliable, and acting at all times with the utmost sincerity and integrity. He has a keen grasp of important business issues, always has the clients best interest in mind, and otherwise focuses on the truly critical issues. I heartily endorse Madan as a fellow professional."
Immigration Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Friend
"I endorse this lawyer. He handled a matter for a family member of mine relating to immigration and we found him competent and courteous."
Immigration Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Top notch immigration lawyer who cares about his clients. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing an attorney in his area."
View more endorsements