Skip to main content

Juliet Elaine Peck

Criminal defense Attorney at Salinas, CA

4.8   25 reviews

Licensed for 28 years

Free consultation

About Juliet

Learn Juliet’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    We handle all criminal related matters. I can and will fight for you. Give me a call and ask me what I can do for your case. Available 24/7.

  2. DUI and DWI
    20%

  3. Domestic violence
    10%

  4. Sex crime
    10%

  5. White collar crime
    10%

Juliet Peck graduated from Santa Clara University School of Law in 1994. She is a fixture in the criminal courts of Monterey County. Juliet is known by her colleagues as a tenacious, assertive and creative criminal defense attorney. From 1995 to 2006 she worked as a deputy public defender in Monterey County, where she represented hundreds of clients and was counsel in several high profile cases.

Juliet has brought her 11 years of public defender experience to her practice at the Law Offices of Lawrence & Peck. She fiercely represents the rights of her clients including public officials, law enforcement officers, her many former public defender clients and others from all backgrounds. Her determination and honesty has won her the respect of the legal community.

Juliet is a member of the California Attorneys for Criminal Justice, California Public Defender’s Association, Monterey County Women Lawyers Association and Women Lawyers of Santa Cruz County. In 2012, Juliet was President of the Monterey County Bar Association and she continues to serve on that Board as an Officer. She is also a member of the Board of Directors of the 6th District Appellate Program (SDAP), which oversees indigent appellate representation in the 6th District, encompassing Monterey, Santa Cruz, San Benito and Santa Clara Counties. In addition, she serves as a member of the Monterey County Bar Foundation and the Monterey College of Law.

Photos and videos

Partners Michael Lawrence and Juliet Peck
View more
Licensed for 28 years
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 1994
Updated 09/12/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Juliet

Law Offices of Lawrence & Peck

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  25 customer reviews
5 Star
 
96%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
4%
Posted by Marcos | May 31, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Extraordinary
Juliet Peck and her team are extraordinary. I am so grateful for how they represented me throughout my trial. The legal consequences attached to my car accident put my future at a standstill and created so much uncertainty in my life, but in the midst of it all Juliet and her team gave me hope. Their humanity, skill, and professionalism helped me achieve the best outcome for my case. Cynthia Negrete, an attorney for Peck, played a pivotal role on Peck’s team in regards to the development of my case. Together they had the ability to create a high caliber defense for me and pick me up when I was at my lowest. Overall, Peck and her team are a powerhouse.
Read less
Posted by Eric | October 8, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Pulled off a miracle for me!
Juliet Peck and Cynthia Negrete were in charge of my case. Mrs. Peck was very thorough in our intake meeting as it lasted over two hours. She used this to strategize a compelling defense that would address my goal for the case which was to not go to jail. The case was about me getting 3 DUI's and to this day they tell me it's very likely 3 out of 5 more cases like this would see jail time. From intake to home base Cynthia worked with me and was very professional and prepared making me feel no anxiety and instilling in me confidence I'd not have any concern I'd go to jail. I would have hands down worked with them if I were in the same place.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Misdemeanor charge while on a misdemeanor probation
I was in a complicated, difficult situation. I was scared of what I would have to face if my case wasn’t handled right. I reviewed online The Lawrence and Peck Law Firm and called right away. They listened to my situation and immediately I felt some relief because they organized my thoughts back to me in a way that made sense and we started right away. They were extremely organized, proficient, and efficient with their time and mine. They handled everything this way professionally and personally (how I saw things/how I processed information), prioritizing how to work through the situation in a clear step-by-step manner. Everything came together and the charges against me were dismissed!! Cynthia Negrete, working with Juliet Peck, and the entire staff are an iron clad team, that represent whole-heartedly, by the law, for the benefit of their client. I would recommend their services to anyone in need of solid, successful, representation.
Read less
Posted by Stacy | July 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Peace of Mind
I was referred to Juliet Peck after being accused of a criminal act. She and her associates immediately put me at ease and walked me through the entire process. They were always in contact with me and kept me informed of what was happening with my case. They investigated and were very proactive. They asked the right questions of me and were very thorough in answering all my questions. They gave me the peace of mind I needed since I had never been through anything like this before. Most definitely would recommend.
Read less
Posted by Nicolas | April 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely Wonderful Defense
Ms. Peck was absolutely wonderful during a time in my life when the circumstances were anything but wonderful. In fact, it’s taken me well over a year to write this for her because my case was particularly daunting and emotionally difficult. Even so, I’ve been meaning to put into words just how thankful I am to her for her incredibly thorough, and passionate, work on my case. I came to her with a very complex situation, involving serious terms, that took nearly a year and a half to dissolve. During that period she not only believed in me, but really fought for me and for my justice. She is altogether prepared, resourceful, and well-respected in the courtroom. I can tell you that you will feel a great deal better with her on your team. Lastly, but certainly not least, I am Christian and I know that God Himself placed her in my life, so that we would not fail. Thank you again, Ms. Peck
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional services that make feel protected.
Mrs. Juliet and her team were respectful, not judgemental, and always professional. Since day one, they made me feel that everything was going to be okay, and that could go on with life during the process. Mrs. Cynthia always answered my calls when times of uncertainty delivering educated advise, and Mr. Bernie always attentive with excellent customer service. I strongly recommend this excellent team.
Read less
Posted by Patricia | May 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
All Charges Dropped!!!
I want to express how overwhelmed with gratitude I am for Juliet Peck and her team for taking such good care of our family during the most stressful time of our lives. She came highly recommended to us by an attorney friend of ours because our previous lawyer was not doing a very thorough job, and we were losing ground quickly. Ms. Peck and her team were extremely thorough and hands-on, leaving no stone unturned in preparing our case for trial. I can honestly say that Juliet goes above and beyond in taking excellent care of her clients. She invested her heart and energy in the wellbeing of her client, making sure he felt safe and secure. In the end, we didn’t end up going to trial because before the trial date, all charges were dropped!!! (Thank you, Jesus!!!) Ms. Peck is truly gifted at what she does. Her talent and skills are way above par. Juliet Peck, you are forever in my heart and prayers. Thank you for all you did for us, and for securing a successful outcome.
Read less
Posted by Herbert | May 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Retired College Professor
Juliet Peck conducted herself in a very professional manner throughout our engagement. She thoroughly reviewed the facts of the case, asked probing and relevant questions, and quickly absorbed the essence of the case. she then determined the best way to proceed and never missed an opportunity to question the prosecution or offer reasonable alternatives to the "assumed" facts.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 10, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
achieved the BEST outcome for my case
With my first run in with the law, i was scared, nervous, and extremely confused. After speaking with numerous firms, I was recommended to Juliet's firm by a close friend, and after speaking with her, it was obvious she was the best person for the job. I hung up the phone with all my questions answered and feeling confident that there was a way out of the situation I had gotten myself into. Throughout the process, I was constantly kept in the loop, given homework, and was represented incredibly well. She was able to negotiate a dismissal during the pretrial conference, which was the absolute BEST possible outcome. I am so grateful to have maintained a clean record, and cannot express how pleased I am with the representation I was given by Juliet and her firm.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer and an even more excellent human being
Daily I thank my lucky stars I chose Juliet and her team. She, Bernie and Cynthia were extremely kind, sensitive and empathetic during a very difficult time in my life. Juliet helped me towards a positive outcome I never imagined would be possible and was by my side every step of the day. She was always upfront and honest about the process the entire time and was genuinely concerned for my well being throughout. I can not recommend her and her team enough.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 6, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Job
Juliet was compassionate and responsive to my needs. She and Bernie worked with me and at no time did I feel I was not in very capable hands. The case was settled out of court in my favor.
Posted by anonymous | August 26, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Confident and Determined
Juliet Peck is a great lawyer. She talks with you about your case in such a clear and understanding way. She realized the fears I had and empathized with possible impact a conviction could have on a young man's future. Ultimately she was able to get the prosecutor to dismiss the charges. I am so grateful that she was recommended to me.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI
I would like to thank the office of Lawrence & Peck for all of their hard work and for being so available. I called their office at almost 9pm one day and someone answered and was able to help me right away. My case was so overwhelming but Ms. Peck got me through it. Her and her staff are professional and truly a great support. I ended up just getting an infraction and only paid a small fine.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Criminal Defense Attorney
Juliet handled my Domestic Violence case with determination, grace, knowledge, fairness, expertise and kindness. She is an amazingly bright attorney with an exceptional attitude of compassion to her clients. She keeps calm even in the wake of hysteria from her client (me) and is able to defuse the hysteria with solid facts and a gentle demeanor. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Juliet. Her area of law is one which carries its share of panic, anxiety and fright and Juliet is able to relieve those feelings in her clients. Fabulous attorney and a wonderful person.
Read less
Posted by Dawn | July 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
From Shock and Chaos to Clarity, Calm and Hope
In one, brief sentence: a resounding YES - hire this attorney and her associated firm! They will not steer you wrong. Words do not express the depth of gratitude I hold for Ms. Peck, her associate Mr. Lawrence, and the staff of Lawence & Peck. I was arrested in the fall of last year and found my life, my world, completely shattered. This is my first encounter with the criminal-law system, therefore, I knew nothing. My initial phone call was met with calm, understanding, caring and a clear "art of listening". The staff took the time to hear my situation and then began to form a plan of action. My initial information was provided to Ms. Peck from whom I received a follow up phone call and appointment to meet. I will not go into detail of those various meetings, however, what IS important to say is that as the details of my case came to light, there were more questions asked, more fact finding, more fact checking toward the task at hand: how to position me for the best possible outcome for my given situation. I was provided with cost and fee expectations to consider and a clear Contract Agreement that Ms. Peck and I signed. What stands out for me is the consistency with which Ms. Peck continued instruction and information regarding my case; ever reminding me of my obligations to the case, my agreements and ultimately toward my own well-being. I was convicted of a criminal act. This fact will stay with me the rest of my life. Ms. Peck, Mr. Lawrence and their staff have been forthright and honest with the severity of my circumstance, yet, they have been kind and empathetic to how I ended up in such a circumstance. They have not painted a rosey picture or sheltered me from hard truths. Ms. Peck explained and clarified the steps along the way to make sure I understood the legal process as it applied to my case. Constantly explaining the possible directions my case could go and what those outcomes could entail. I have been informed, educated and guided all along the way so that when the time came for me to make decisions toward my case, that only I could make, I felt armed and ready to do so. Today I have hope. Hope that I can live with this chapter of my life and rebuild something new that I can be proud of. To find oneself facing a criminal sentence is no easy road to walk. Ms. Peck showed me dedication, a fierceness, toward the best possible outcome on my behalf. If you've read this far - thank you. With deep gratitiude and the highest respect, I recommend my attorney, Ms. Juliet Peck.
Read less
Posted by CHRISTOFFER | December 8, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
dui
The best lawyer in Salinas, she helped me stay positive through my exhausting long trial any questions I needed she or her team where there to assist, saved my life with no equivocations . would recommend highly to anyone in need .
Posted by Kalvan | November 21, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Impeccable professionalism
Ms. Peck and her team kept me informed and involved with what was happening with the case through the whole process. They worked closely with me to get the facts and gather the evidence needed. She was honest and straight forward from the beginning in telling me what I needed to do for her to be able to best handle my case. I am extremely pleased with the outcome of things and truly believe hiring Ms. Peck and her team was the best decision for my money and my freedom. These are people who love their job and care about the people they're representing. Thank you Juliet, Kristen, and Bernie.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 23, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you
I would like to thank the office of Lawrence & Peck for the very good job they did on our case. It was a complex situation, and we were grateful to have Juliet Peck handling. I cannot thank Juliet enough for her help during this ordeal. She is solid, compassionate, creative, and always very responsive- willing to take the time to explain all the difficult twists as they arose. From start to finish she was always extremely conscientious of our limited finances, and is just a wonderful person to work with. Her staff, Kristin, Nelson, and now Bernie, are equally supportive, caring, and thorough. Thank you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 15, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Stellar Representation, Compassionate Approach
When our family member was facing serious criminal charges, we had no idea of where to turn. Juliet Peck and her entire team were Godsends during one of the most challenging times we had ever faced. From day one, we were treated with exceptional compassion and respect that went above and beyond our expectations. Not only did our family member receive excellent, professional representation, the care and respect we were given by Ms. Peck has not faltered throughout the lengthy legal process. Ms. Peck's reputation as a esteemed professional is known throughout the legal community, which only enhances her ability to provide outstanding representation. She takes a personal interest in her clients and always keeps their best interests at heart. We are thankful for the exceptional job she has done and we are confident that our family member will have the best possible outcome with Ms. Peck as her attorney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 14, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Representation Criminal Defense
I am very happy with the service, attention to details, helpfulness and support I received from Ms. Peck. Going through the criminal process can be nerve racking and confusing at times. Mr. Peck was always candid, caring and she took the time to insure I understood the process and options available. Her knowledge and experience of the criminal justice system is impressive. The amount of time and effort she put into my defense was far beyond my expectations. Ms. Peck fought hard for my rights and for justice in my matter. I highly recommend her services as a criminal defense attorney.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Law Offices of Lawrence & Peck
  • 2006 - Present
  • Deputy Public Defender
  • Monterey County Public Defender's Office
  • 1995 - 2006

Education

  • Santa Clara University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1994
  • University of California - Santa Cruz
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1991

Legal Cases

  • Woman Avoids Being Charged With Murder
  • Prevented charges from being filed
  • Cop Accused of Going Rogue
  • Not Guilty
  • Businessman Faces Severe Jailtime
  • Not Guilty

Associations

  • Monterey College of Law
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Monterey County Bar Foundation
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • Women Lawyers of Santa Cruz County
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • Sixth District Appellate Program
  • Board of Directors
  • 2010 - Present
  • Monterey County Women Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Monterey County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • California Public Defenders Association
  • Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • Monterey County Bar Association
  • President
  • 2012 - 2013
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2020
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2019
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2018
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2017
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2016
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 2015
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyer
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Stanford Student Discussion
  • Legal Conference for Students
  • 2015
  • Standford Student Discussion
  • Legal Conference for Students
  • 2014
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (1)
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 26
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have seen her practice for over 15 years with some of the most challenging cases. She is exceptionally hard working and talented. She always takes the best possible care of her clients and judges and prosecutors all know it."
Criminal defense

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Salinas Criminal defense Lawyer Juliet Elaine Peck
Juliet Elaine Peck
Criminal defense Attorney
Salinas, CA
Licensed for 28 years
Free Consultation