Skip to main content

Dylan Forest Taylor

Criminal defense Attorney at Salinas, CA

5.0   14 reviews
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Dylan

Learn Dylan’s areas of practice.

1
Practice area
  1. Criminal defense
    100%
    Criminal Law Specialist certified by the California Board of Legal Specialization since 2020.

Dylan Taylor has spent the last two decades fighting to protect the rights of the people in Salinas and the larger Monterey Bay area.  A third generation Californian, Mr. Taylor was raised in a legal culture where equality and justice were paramount.  His father, now a retired Superior Court Judge of over 30 years, was a Legal Services attorney for a decade before being appointed to the Bench.  It was in this environment that Mr. Taylor first came to understand the importance of zealous representation, justice for the under-represented, and fighting against what can seem overwhelming odds.

Mr. Taylor spent two years studying at the University of California, Riverside, before transferring to the University of California, Davis.  There he achieved a Bachelors’ of Arts degree in Literature.  He continued his studies afterwards, becoming a Masters’ Candidate at Sonoma State University.

Substituting literature for law books, Mr. Taylor travelled to the State’s capitol to attend the University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law.  While obtaining his Doctorate, he put into practice the core values he had been raised on by clerking with both Legal Services of Northern California and the Office of the Federal Defender.  As chief law clerk at the Federal Defender, Mr. Taylor represented individuals charged with crimes on federal lands as well as on military installations.  It was in this role that Mr. Taylor’s passion for advocacy and justice burned brighter than ever.  He then graduated with Honors, earning membership in the prestigious Traynor Society for academic excellence.  He also completed and was awarded a Criminal Justice Concentration.

While in Monterey County, Mr. Taylor has represented thousands of clients.  He has appeared before every Judge in the criminal courts and has done battle against every District Attorney in the County.  He thrives in the legal battle field and has spent countless hours litigating and defending the rights of the accused.

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Taylor & Dolowich, A Professional Law Corporation
241 Salinas St.
Salinas, CA, 93901

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  14 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | December 10, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lawyer Experience
The knowledge and experience is what help me understand the situation I was facing in the court system. Without the guidance from Mr. Taylor I believe I would have had a much harder time. He gave me the proper guidance and explained to me anything that I did not understand with law.
Posted by Amber | June 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Dylan has been so helpful during my expungement. I was granted the expungement and I feel he was honest and upfront with me through the process as well as always keeping me updated. Highly recommend to anyone, I am so glad I hired Dylan!
Posted by David | September 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
At 64 the sentence the A.D.A. recommended was thesame as a life sentence.
Dylan Taylor stood up for me in the court room when four others quit the case because of my previous record. Dylan has a special place in his heart for Vietnam Veterans and I notice his courage and composure in the courtroom before I even hired hem. I knew if any lawyer could help my case he was the one that would fight for me by telling the real story and then I wouldn't haft to die a old man on prison. Thankyou Dylan Tylor Sincerely David R.
Read less
Posted by Catalino | July 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Godsend and Creme de la Creme!!!
I have been a law abiding citizen of the United States of America. I have never been in trouble with the law until I was wrongfully accused and charged by the DA with a serious Misdemeanor last September 2016, thanks to my ex-wife! I was caught unawares. I already hired two criminal defense lawyers here in Salinas to handle my case and prove my innocence in court. I was bleeding financially because I was paying exorbitant attorney fees. Both of these criminal defense lawyers were telling me to take the fall and be accountable and take responsibility for my own actions. I was telling them I am innocent of the misdemeanor crime charged against me. I guess they already heard this statement "I am innocent" too many times with their clients in their years of legal practice. The second lawyer I hired told me bluntly, the actions I did were "Visceral" and "Not Virtuous" and that he cannot see a way out for me without getting a conviction. He was recommending for me to accept a plea bargain for a lesser crime like Battery or Simple Assault, nolo contendere, if ever it gets offered on the table by the DA. This was in February and early March 2017. The problem was my life, my liberty and my livelihood will go down the drain either way. I then decided to go another route and called the office of Atty. Dylan Taylor to get a third, mind you, third legal opinion. I spoke with Atty. Dylan over the phone and he immediately scheduled me for a face-to-face appointment in his office. The first question I asked was how much do I need to pay to get their legal services because I was in financial difficulties already. I was surprised how much affordable it was compared to the two previous lawyers I hired. I even joked to them that they need to review their business model because what they were charging was really a bargain compared to other lawyers in town. I digress. Atty. Taylor and Atty. Dolowich were godsend. Atty. Dylan talks the talk and walks the walk. He's the real deal. He did not promise me anything during our initial appointment, no lawyer would because they don't have a crystal ball, but I saw a glimmer of hope after that initial interaction. Atty. Dylan is very intelligent, master of his craft, professional and courteous, honest and sincere, calm and composed, has excellent customer/client service skills and most importantly for me CARING and COMPASSIONATE! I never felt these with my two previous defense lawyers. Every time I gave him a call in the office to clarify some pertinent questions about my case, Atty. Dylan would answer it if he's available otherwise he would return my call the same day and answer my queries. The same thing holds true with his partner Atty. Jamey Dolowich. When I requested an appointment in the office, they would readily accommodate me even with their busy schedules. When you are going through a serious criminal case, you want your lawyer to be available for you as the client to update you about your case and in so doing partially allay your fears and anxiety to make it more bearable . In one of our appointments, I would never forget what Atty. Dylan told me when I asked him "What are my chances if I go to a jury trial?". He calmly replied, "You have a good shot and all is not lost." That's the only thing I wanted to hear and I told him and Atty. Jamey, as long as they do their utmost best, I can live with the outcome no matter what. The outcome far exceeded my expectations. Instead of facing a nerve-racking and precarious jury trial scheduled Aug 2017, my case got finally DISMISSED in the furtherance of justice by the DA last June 2017. Thanks be to God! Thanks to Atty. Dylan Taylor and his partner Atty. Dolowich. Among the criminal defense lawyers here in Monterey County, Atty. Dylan Taylor is definitely CREME DE LA CREME! If ever you get in trouble with the law, I highly recommend the law firm of Taylor and Dolowich! You won't regret it. They will be ready to go to the mattresses to defend YOU!
Read less
Posted by Martin | April 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Criminal Defense Attorney!!
Dylan Taylor handled my criminal case against me and did an excellent job in my defense to the point where I no longer had to worry or stress about the future of my career. He is the best lawyer I have worked with, from professionalism, to attention to detail, to being personable and very reachable by phone and email. He clearly care about his clients and does superb job. He is very knowledgeable, and was very team oriented in his approach with working with another professional. I don't know anyone who works harder than this guy 7 days a week, he was available for questions and consultations, and gets back to you extremely quickly so you are not left hanging. He is really great at what he does and I highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyers in town
So pleased with the outcome of my case thanks to Dylan and Jamie's expert experience and professionalism. I was arrested on a warrant from 2013 (first arrest in my life) and charged with three counts of felony for what I felt I was initially being over charged with for the little amount of evidence the police filing report explained on those felonies. Anywho, Dylan who was dealing with my case more actively explained to me that everything was going to turn out just fine and it did, my case lasted about 3 months and I ended up taking a plea bargain of two misdemeanors, 3yrs probation and 30 days of community service and of course all those additional court fees. Rather that than 3 counts of felony on my record for a petty theft which lacked so much evidence to begin with but then again I decided not to fight due to the fact I work and live in SF and didn't have time or the patience to have this case linger on. Thank you Dylan for taking care of business just as you promised. I recommend these two outstanding lawyers to anyone.
Read less
Posted by Yung | September 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best attorney!!
I didn't know what to expect from our legal system when my son got himself in trouble with a law. We didn't know a thing about what to do in our situation. We expected the worst scenario possible. Amazingly, somehow, we had a consultation with Dylan Taylor by chance. And he has exceeded beyond our expectations!! He is compassionate and professional. He guided us through step by step with his expertise in law. The outcome was incredible. I believe he is the best attorney you will find when you are in a need of help with your case. Thank you Dylan.
Read less
Posted by Peter T | June 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Believes in Justice!!
One encounter can change our viewpoint forever. This is the impact Dylan had on my life. I was arrested for possession of a controlled substance with intent. I was no stranger to being arrested, incarceration, and prison. Through a series of bad choices I found myself once again headed to prison. I knew this because I had no money for a private attorney and would be appointed a Public Pretender. That is what I used to call the Public Defenders before meeting Dylan. The first time I met Dylan he explained the offer that the DA was presenting and the reason for such a lengthy prison term.....my past. He asked me a series of questions all normal. I answered as honest as I knew how, truthfully. I'll never forget how he looked me in the eye in the midst of my despair and said, "Forget that.". He never settled for anything less than justice. This man believed in me, but more importantly he believes in the law and justice. As a result of his thorough know of the law and his dedication to justice I was given a drug diversion program. Because of Dylan's dedication I was set on a path that today has saved my life, my family, and my sanity. Thanks Dylan.
Read less
Posted by Cynthia | April 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Attentive and Professional
I knew I was in the right office the moment I stepped in for a consult. I felt at ease discussing my case as he was fair and straight forward in regards to his thoughts and pricing. During trial, Dylan's confidence lifted mine. His pre-trial preparation payed off with a favorable outcome. I don't know how this stressful situation could have gone any better.
Read less
Posted by Anslie | April 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
the best of the best!
I have to say that they are the best. They move so quickly to get things done, and they get them done. Also they are so nice, and they take care of their clients. He helped me and a love one with a case, and we got the best possible outcome.
Posted by Art | February 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Lawyers in Town...
I would like to write this review on Dylan Taylor's behalf. I hired this man on a criminal case he was always kind and he always addressed any concerns about the case immediately, he was always available when I had an questions about the case, this man is also very organized an as professional as you can get. He definitely knows what he is doing in his profession, he is very attentive to your needs he will always make time for you about your case and best of all he will go the extra mile and do what it takes to get you the best outcome for your current situation, he will fight extra hard for you on your case. I will definitely recommend his service to anyone. If you are looking for a go getter top notch lawyer here he is. I believe he is the new big name in town...
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Among the Best
Dylan Taylor is a real defense attorney. He is tough and very smart. I feel I am in the best hands that I can possibly be in. I am glad I borrowed the money to hire him.
Posted by Everardo | December 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Expectations Exeeded
I contacted Mr. Taylor with the uncertainty of a person who has never hired a defense attorney before. It was difficult times for me as well as for my family but from our introduction meeting, he made me feel I was going to be well represented. He assessed my case and made every possible effort to set me up for success on the first hearing. He anticipated what could have been next, based on his great level of expertise on his field. I am positive that certainly made a difference on the long run. I strongly recommend Mr. Taylor. He will go the extra mile to get any of his clients moving on the right direction. I am more than content with the outcome of my case and that is greatly due to Mr. Taylor's perseverance and knowledge of the laws. I can say that he met and exceeded my expectations and will look for his advise on future matters, no doubt about that.
Read less
Posted by Jordan | December 7, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Attorney!
I personally have had the privilege over the past years to have Dylan Taylor as my attorney for all of my cases. He was nothing but outstanding. If it weren't for his vigor and expertise, I wouldn't be here writing this review today. From my experiences I can honestly say Dylan Taylor will go the distance no matter how far for his clients. When he steps into court on your behalf he fights only for your best interests, and with his expertise of the law he comes prepared to handle every parameter of the case with intelligence and creativity. Dylan Taylor has earned my respect by his diligence and tenacity and I’m quite positive he will earn yours too, if you decide to hire him as your attorney. Beyond his professionalism in the court room you’ll notice Dylan Taylor displays much courtesy and compassion with family members and friends. If you’re in a circumstance as I was where you’re able to get to know Dylan Taylor you'll be glad you did. Dylan Taylor is well respected in the area and he is the first person I’d call if I found myself in any legal predicament.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.4 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Taylor & Dolowich, A Professional Law Corporation
  • 2015 - Present
  • Deputy Public Defender IV
  • Monterey County Public Defender's Office
  • 2006 - 2015
  • Research Attorney
  • Office Of The Public Defender, Sacramento County
  • 2004 - 2005
  • Law Clerk
  • Office of the Federal Defender, Eastern District
  • 2002 - 2004
  • Legal Intern
  • Legal Services Of Northern California
  • 2001 - 2002
View all work experience

Education

  • McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2004
  • Sonoma State University
  • Masters Candidate
  • 2001
  • University of California - Davis
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1995
  • University of California - Riverside
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1993
View all education

Sample of Legal Cases

  • People v. Joel Cervantez
  • Motion to Suppress granted. All charges dismissed.
  • People v. Francisco Avila
  • Found Not Guilty by the Jury and released from custody that day
  • People v. Antonio Arredondo
  • Jury returned a Not Guilty verdict on one count of possession for sales, hung on the other. DA then dismissed second count.

Associations

  • Monterey County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • California Public Defenders Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • State Bar of California
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Certified Specialist, Criminal Law
  • Board of Legal Specialization, The State Bar of California
  • 2020
  • Best of 2019 - Criminal Defense - 4 Consecutive Years
  • Salinas Award Program
  • 2019
  • Best of 2018 - Criminal Defense - 3 Consecutive Years
  • Salinas Award Program
  • 2018
  • Top 10% of Lawyers in the USA
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2017
  • Best of 2017 - Criminal Defense - 2 Consecutive Years
  • Salinas Award Program
  • 2017
  • Best of 2016 - Criminal Defense
  • Salinas Award Program
  • 2016
  • 5 year Service Award
  • Public Defender, Monterey County
  • 2012
  • Academic Excellence Award
  • Traynor Society of the University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law
  • 2005
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • California Conference of Arson Investigators Training
  • Cross Examining an Arson Expert
  • 2012
  • DUI Trial and Sentencing for Students
  • Consequences of a DUI
  • 2008

Attorney endorsements

Received (9)
Given (4)
Endorse Dylan
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 07
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"During the last few years of my career as a public prosecutor Mr. Taylor and I litigated well over a hundred cases against one another. While we disagreed on virtually everything from my choice in shoes to the meaning of res ipsa loquitur he always impressed me with his strong sense of ethics, his passion for defending his clients, and his love of the law. Mr. Taylor's most impressive attribute was his certainty of purpose and the clarity of his arguments while in trial. Even as the prosecutor I'd have to remind myself not to get overly wrapped up in his presentation. I have no doubt Dylan will serve you well."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 02
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I've had the privilege of working with Dylan for almost 8 years. I am proud to call him my partner in private practice. Dylan practices law at a very high level. My approach to my cases and my clients has been shaped by his influence. Dylan has a real passion for helping his clients. He holds himself to the highest standard, which is why he works exhaustively on all of his cases. He cares for his clients, he relates to them on a personal level and he has compassion for each person he represents. His hard work and expertise have earned him amazing results for many many clients. After I watched him win a very tough jury trial for a client who was facing life in prison, I had the opportunity to speak with one of the jurors. The juror told me he was rooting for Dylan from the very beginning because there was something very familiar and likable about him. His clients all feel the same way. I have learned a lot from watching and working with Dylan. He's a lawyer's lawyer."
Violent crime Attorney | Jan 26
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have seen Dylan handle all types of difficult cases with tenacity and grace. He is highly respected in the legal community for his commitment to his clients and for getting good results."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Taylor is truly one of the county's most effective and successful attorney's in the courtroom today. He is aggressive while maintaining composure, which has earned him the respect of judges and DA's alike. Mr. Taylor is one of those lawyers that belongs in the courtroom and it is always apparent that he is well prepared for each case. As a peer, I admire his commitment of serving those in need of legal representation. i endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Taylor has years of experience and regularly represents people in the most serious cases. He has an established reputation in the community and is not afraid to fight for his clients."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Mar 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Dylan Taylor is an excellent attorney. Anyone seeking a criminal defense attorney can't go wrong selecting Mr. Taylor."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"When I was a prosecutor and Mr. Taylor was in the Public Defender's office I had occasion to oppose him on a number of cases. He is among the most competent attorneys I have ever faced. If you are fortunate enough to have him as your lawyer, I can assure you that you will be well represented. He is an outstanding talent."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Taylor has been a great resource not only for his community but for other attorneys like myself. His willingness to help people extends beyond his clients. I constantly call upon Taylor and Dolowich to draw upon their many years of experience in all aspects of criminal defense. Mr. Taylor is a great asset to the legal community. I endorse Mr. Taylor."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Taylor and I were colleagues at the Public Defender's Office, assigned as partners in the same felony department. We discussed our cases, and saw each other in court every week. Based on my experience working with Mr. Taylor, I would heartily recommend him as an intelligent, compassionate, and successful criminal defense advocate. He is well respected by other lawyers and judges, is thorough in his case preparation, and is not afraid to take a case to trial. He is also creative when it comes to plea bargaining, and has maturity and wisdom based on actual work experience. I endorse him."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Salinas Criminal defense Lawyer Dylan Forest Taylor
Dylan Forest Taylor
Criminal defense Attorney
Salinas, CA
Licensed for 18 years
Free Consultation