Skip to main content

Scott Andrew Taylor

Criminal defense Attorney at San Luis Obispo, CA

5.0   13 reviews
  • State Years
    California - CA 19 years
    Kansas - KS 18 years
    Missouri - MO 18 years
  • Licensed for 19 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2005
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State KS
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State MO
    Acquired 2005
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Scott

Learn Scott’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    29%
    I spent 4 years as a public defender in Kansas City Missouri. I represented indigent clients ranging from DUI, drug cases, to rape, robbery, and murder. In 2010, I joined the Air Force where I both prosecuted and defended Airmen facing cases ranging from letters of reprimand to sexual assault and treason. I started the Taylor Defense Firm to represent members of my community accused of crimes as well as continuing to represent military members facing adverse action.

    19 years, 1,047 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    20%
    I began my career handling DUI cases ranging from first time DUIs to clients facing 8th or 9th time DUIs. I have had success representing clients through negotiating the best deal possible to earning Not Guilty verdicts in the courtroom.

    19 years

  3. Domestic violence
    20%

    19 years

  4. Military law
    20%
    I joined the Air Force in 2010 as a JAG Officer. I served two years in the legal office where I prosecuted the most serious cases my base litigated with a 100% conviction rate. In 2012, I was hand selected to run the Area Defense Counsel Office. As the ADC, in 29 contested cases I earned 3 partial acquittals, 7 full acquittals, and 8 dismissals. I am still working as a Reserve Officer in the JAG Corps.

    14 years, 781 cases

  5. White collar crime
    10%

    19 years

  6. Family
    1%
    I represent younger enlisted members of the military with divorce problems on a pro bono basis. I take these cases on as my caseload allows.

    13 years

I started the Taylor Defense Firm in 2014.  I began my litigation career at the Public Defenders Office in Kansas City, MO.  I represented indigent clients ranging from DUI and drug cases to rape, robbery, and murder.  In 2010, I was challenged by a Judge who was a mentor of mine to finally follow my dream of joining the military.  In 2010, I left the public defenders office to join the Air Force JAG Corps.  I served two years working in the base legal office at Vandenberg AFB prosecuting Airmen who committed misconduct.  After that assignment, I was hand selected to run the Area Defense Counsel Office at Vandenberg and spent two years travelling the country defending Airmen facing adverse actions by the Air Force.  In 2014, I made the decision to separate from the Air Force and begin the Taylor Defense Firm.  I represent clients accused of crimes in California Courts as well as military members accused of crimes.  If you are facing criminal charges, call me for a free consultation!

Photos and videos

Let the Taylor Defense Firm help you!

Location

Taylor Defense Firm
679 Monterey Street
San Luis Obispo, CA, 93401

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  13 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Samantha | October 8, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
So thankful for him!
Scott was so great to work with. I received a dui while I was visiting California from Nevada and he was able to get everything handled for me with me being out of state through the whole process. He also was able to get my dui dropped down to a wet and reckless which was so amazing. If you live in the central coast area I definitely recommend Scott!!
Read less
Posted by SAH | February 24, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Passionate and Experienced
I contacted Scott after a through search for help in my DUI case. Passionately, he helped me very much with making me calm at the beginning, since I was confident that I’m in good hands, now! Patiently, he took my case all the way with as much as possible good results. Scott discussed various options all through the process and provided me with his recommendation when I asked him for. With high level of legal knowledge and experience, I did observe, that he tried any way for my case to end with best ending. I would definitely not hesitate to ask for his help, again, or recommend him to my family, friends or anybody who needs legal help.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 29, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Great Consultation
Scott responded to an urgent consultation request, and was very helpful clarifying important questions and pointing me in the right direction.
Posted by anonymous | November 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing!!
After talking with several attorneys we hired Scott. He was very good at communicating every step of the process. Easy going and doesn't pressure your decision. Very good in the court room.
Posted by anonymous | October 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
Very patient and doesn't rush. Would highly recommend for DUI. Amazing in the courtroom.
Posted by anonymous | August 7, 2015
Great Job
Mr. Taylor handled my case very prompt and professional. He sat down with me and went over the process and walked me through this hard time in my life. I recommend Mr. Taylor to anyone who has been put in the same situation that I was in.
Posted by JJohnson | January 16, 2015
AMAZING!!!
When my friend was faced with jail time and had no idea what to do, or who to talk to he called Scott. He was very understanding and compassionate. He truly goes above and beyond to make court less stressfull and he was able to reduce the fines and the sentence. He truly is the best decision my friend ever made. Thank you so much Scott!!!
Read less
Posted by Vicki | January 2, 2015
Scott Taylor, Taylor Defense Firm
My son was dealing with some traffic law issues that eventually escalated into something much more serious.  Faced with a court date, fines, possible jail time, and legal terms we knew nothing about, we turned to Scott Taylor of the Taylor Defense Firm for help.  Even though we were only few days away from our court date, without hesitation Scott Taylor assured us he could help.  He quickly gathered all of the information and jumped into action.  Once in court, Scott Taylor was extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and confident.  He knew the process and exactly what to do from start to finish, we absolutely would have been lost without him.  Legal issues large or small can be complicated and stressful and it's so comforting knowing that someone like Scott Taylor is in your corner every step of the way.  I absolutely trust Scott Taylor 100% and would not hesitate to recommend him to my family, friends or anyone needing a great attorney.   Thanks to Scott Taylor my son can put the matter behind him now.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 31, 2014
Former Client
I am deeply indebted to this outstanding attorney. When I found myself in a jam I'd never dreamed I'd be in, Scott was there. His strategic thinking, creativity, and endless supply of energy won my case hands down. Throughout the process he was extremely sensitive and supportive of my family and their concerns. As busy as he was handling multiple cases, he made me feel like my case was the only one he was working. He was extremely patient with my family and always had time to answer their questions and allay their concerns. If you find yourself in need of a top tier defense attorney, I cannot recommend Scott highly enough!
Read less
Posted by John | December 9, 2014
The best
In a recent bout of legal issues I encountered I had been through two different attorneys before hiring Scott Taylor as my third. While the others were professional and knowledgeable in their own right (one of which was a partner in a very expensive Santa Barbara law firm), Scott was clearly a notch above. He was always ten steps ahead, and it was really evident to both me and my wife that he truly cared to provide me with the best service possible. As with any profession or craft, whether it be a mechanic, a doctor, or in this case a lawyer, there will always be those who live to serve their clients and those who have other priorities. It was clear throughout the entire process that Scott was there for me, whether it was keeping me informed, always being available, or answering as many questions as my wife could throw at him with patience, grace, and understanding through what was a very stressful time in our lives. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful always and without question. I couldn’t have been more fortunate to have had him represent me, and I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking legal counsel.
Read less
Posted by Rudy & Tracy | December 3, 2014
Our family can't recommend Mr. Taylor enough. We are forever grateful to him!
Our family recently went through some serious court proceedings. We felt like we had the world against us and couldn’t trust anybody. The prosecutors assumed the worst and came after us with EVERYTHING they had. During the most stressful time of our life’s Scott Taylor stood up and fought for us. While he was our Lawyer, Scott did EVERYTHING he could for OUR family’s best interest. It wasn’t just a job for him either, it was obvious that he cared. We had dealt with few different defense attorneys and Scott was by far the best. It made us appreciate his efforts even more. If I ever had to be in a courtroom again I want Mr. Scott Taylor defending me. I would like to add that Scott has continued to help our family well after everything has been completed. We can’t recommend him enough and if we ever need a lawyer we know who to call.
Read less
Posted by Theresa | December 3, 2014
colleagues and friends
Scott has one of the finest legal minds I have ever worked with. He genuinely cares about his clients and maintaining his stellar reputation. I would never hesitate to hire him or work with him. His passion and humanity and trial skills awe me.
Posted by anonymous | December 3, 2014
OUTSTANDING Defense Attorney!
I HIGHLY recommend Captain (Mr) Scott Taylor to anyone who is need of a defense attorney. While on active duty, Captain Taylor represented me in a General Court Martial. I was facing up to 13 years in prison for the preferred charges. To say that my family and I were extremely stressed out is an understatement. At the time, I had over a decade of honorable service and now I was faced with a discharge and losing all of my benefits plus the possibility of prison time. Captain Taylor worked really hard prior to the trial on witness interviews and he found numerous holes in the government’s case. His presentation during the trial was flawless. Ultimately, the verdict speaks for Captain Taylor’s expert ability and trial experience: FULL ACQUITTAL. In other words, NOT GUILTY of ALL CHARGES. If you are in need of expert representation, Scott Taylor is the man for the job.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Taylor Defense Firm
  • 2014 - Present
  • Judge Advocate General
  • United States Air Force
  • 2010 - 2014
  • Assistant Public Defender
  • Missouri State Public Defender's Office
  • 2006 - 2010

Education

  • University of Oklahoma College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2005
  • Texas A&M University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2002

Sample of Legal Cases

  • US v. SSgt H
  • Partial Acquittal
  • US v. A1C H
  • Not Guilty
  • US v. SSgt G
  • Not Guilty
View all legal cases

Associations

  • San Luis Obispo County Bar Association
  • Criminal Defense Section Chair
  • 2014 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Top 40 Lawyers Under 40
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2018
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Commendation Medal
  • United States Air Force
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2016
  • Top 40 Lawyers Under 40
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2016
  • Air Force Commendation Medal
  • United States Air Force
  • 2014
  • Organizational Excellence Award
  • United States Air Force
  • 2014
View all awards

Publications

  • The Reporter (Office of the Judge Advocate General)
  • Street Racing
  • 2015
  • The Reporter (Office of the Judge Advocate General)
  • PreForclosure Settlements - Advising military members how to get out of a bad mortgage in uncertain economic times
  • 2011

Speaking Engagements

  • Preventive Law for fraternities
  • Preventive Law for fraternities
  • 2016
  • Greeks Against Sexual Assault
  • A Modern Legal Guide for Fraternities
  • 2016
  • Got Consent Program
  • Sexual Assault in the military
  • 2014

Attorney endorsements

Received (15)
Given (26)
Endorse Scott
Military law Attorney | Jan 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Scott is a dynamic attorney, and as a former JAG officer, he is an authority on UCMJ matters. I have personally observed him relate and communicate well with a great many clients, across many different backgrounds."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Scott has an outstanding reputation in the courtroom. I have witnessed firsthand how much Scott cares about his clients and cases. I highly recommend Scott for any criminal case."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Scott is an outstanding defense attorney. I regularly consult with him on complex matters and do not hesitate to refer clients to him. His expertise in criminal defense means that his clients usually get better deals because he is known as a fierce litigator by the local prosecutors."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 27
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer and the remarkable work that gets done for clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I strongly endorse Scott for any case involving criminal defense or military law. He has an impressive background as a deputy public defender, as an attorney with the Air Force JAG Corps, and as a private criminal defense attorney. Even more impresive than his extensive experience and expertise, Scott is a person of integrity who will genuinely care about you and fight for you in your case. I am a fellow criminal defense attorney in private practice, who has also represented members of our Armed Forces. I personally find it to be a badge of honor that Scott has dedicated so much of his practice to providing the best possible representation to those who have fought for our freedom. Scott is my "go to" referral for a criminal defense attorney in the San Luis Obispo area whenever I have a client seeking representation there. He will get you the results you need and he will stand by you. You can count on that."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Scott Taylor is an excellent attorney and professional. Having worked closely with him in several complex cases, I quickly recognized his keen legal mind. His instincts are spot-on, and the creativity and charisma of his approach are lethal to the cases of his opponents. He makes it look easy, but it is all built upon the thorough and careful preparation he puts into each and every case. All the while, he treats his clients with dignity, respect, and responsiveness. I strongly endorse this exceptional advocate."
Military law Attorney | Feb 16
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Scott and I worked together as a prosecution team. He previously had spent time working at the public defenders office and his hard earned experience showed when it mattered most in court. Scott has proven to be an outstanding advocate. I strongly endorse this lawyer."
Military law Attorney | Jan 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I met Scott when we started practicing military law together in 2010. Scott is dedicated defense attorney and seeks the best possible results for his clients. Skillful and articulate, he goes after the win."
Unknown Attorney | Jan 05
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Scott is a tenacious and zealous litigator and deserves nothing short of my highest endorsement. His creativity and drive to go that extra mile for his client(s) is unparalleled. In addition, Scott has been an incredible mentor. He is always willing to lend a helping hand. I'd place Scott amongst the best lawyers I've had the pleasure of working with."
Military law Attorney | Dec 30
Relationship: Friend
"I have know Scott for years, and I know him to be a zealous advocate for his clients. I wholeheartedly endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 25
Relationship: Co-worker
"I have had the pleasure of witnessing first hand the kind of representation that Scott brings to the courtroom. We worked together for several years at the Public Defender Office in Kansas City and he constantly obtained excellent results for his clients including major acquittals. Scott knows how to effectively represent the needs of his clients as well as garner major victories against opposing counsel."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 15
Relationship: Family member
"Scott is incredibly smart and one of the most hard working and trust worthy attorneys I know. He is a zealous advocate in each and every case he represents and will fight until you win!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 04
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. He has the motivation and experience to make some great things happen for his clients. I wouldn't hesitate to hire him if I were in a jam. Thanks, Greg Watt"
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 03
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I give highest marks to Mr. Taylor. We have worked together and been opposing counsel on several matters over the past few years, and I have always relied on his professionalism and legal analysis. His ability to extract a favorable ruling from a jury is second to none. He cares about his clients, is a tenacious litigator, and an all around great guy. Highly recommended!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 03
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Scott is one of the best attorneys I've ever had the privilege of working with and against. On the cases we worked as co-counsel, it never ceased to amaze me how Scott found a way around any obstacle to meet our burden. When Scott served as a defense attorney, I dreaded trying cases against him because I knew he would push me to the limit. His cross examinations are devastating, and the creativity of his strategy was only bound by his imagination and cleverness (which seems limitless). On more than one occasion, I've seen him convince a jury in favor of one his clients even though I thought he would have had absolutely no chance of winning. The guy is relentless. If I ever need an attorney to get my out of a jam, I will call Scott. Without reservation, I fully endorse this fantastic lawyer."
View more endorsements
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Military law
Criminal defense
Military law
Criminal defense
Litigation
Military law
Military law
Social Security & Disability
Criminal defense
State, local, and municipal law
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
San Luis Obispo Criminal defense Lawyer Scott Andrew Taylor
Scott Andrew Taylor
Criminal defense Attorney
San Luis Obispo, CA
Licensed for 19 years