Skip to main content

Jordan Cunningham

DUI and DWI Attorney at San Luis Obispo, CA

5.0   42 reviews

also known as Cunningham Law Group


Licensed for 18 years

Virtual consultation available

Free consultation

About Jordan

Learn Jordan’s areas of practice.

2
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%

    19 years, 1,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    50%

    19 years, 1,000 cases

DO YOU NEED A TRUSTWORTHY AND EXPERIENCED LAWYER? THE BEST LAWYERS HAVE A COMBINATION OF COURTROOM SAVVY, NEGOTIATING SKILL, AND THE RESPECT OF JUDGES AND OPPONENTS. CALL US TODAY AT (805) 706-8917

In brief, I am a former prosecutor in SLO County.  Prior to that, I was an attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice, law clerk to two federal judges, and corporate litigator.  In my career I have successfully tried dozens of cases to jury and court.  My experience as a former prosecutor helps me evaluate cases from both the prosecution and defense standpoints, which is a major asset in formulating a successful case strategy for your case.  

Most cases resolve short of trial.  But an optimal resolution requires an attorney that understands the system, the players, and can craft a resolution in your best interest. It also requires an attorney that the other side knows will try the case.  

 

Call us today at if you need excellent representation at a reasonable rate. 

 

 

Awards

Client's Choice 2018,2016,2015,2013
Client's Choice
2018 2016 2015 + 1 ...
Licensed for 18 years
State DC
Status Good Standing
Acquired 2006
Updated 06/08/2022
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 2004
Updated 12/01/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Jordan

Cunningham Law Group
1403 Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo, CA, 93401
Cunningham Law Group
1830 Spring Street
Paso Robles, CA, 93446
Cunningham Law Group
792 South Main St.
Templeton, CA, 93465
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  42 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2018
Client's Choice
Jordan received a significant number of 4+ stars in 2018
Posted by Steven | May 12, 2015
THE BEST. END OF STORY.
He listens. It wasn't about sympathy when he read and talked to me about my case and the issues involved. It was a sincere feeling of empathy. I was honest when discussing my side of things and that enabled a genuine sense of integrity between us. I would recommend Mr. Cunningham and would not hesitate to use his services if ever needed again.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Saved my future
I was looking at 4 felony charges (one of which was a strike) for a harmless to others, suicidal moment. Jordan worked very hard on my case and wouldn't settle with the DA until he was able to get me a plea bargain of JUST ONE felony (wobbler) charge with the GUARANTEE of reducing it to a misdemeanor if i were good on formal probation for a year. The year mark passed and we went to court expecting a quick, easy action on their promise--FAR from what happened. A new judge, a new assistant DA and a probation officer who interviewed me over the PHONE for 5 minutes (not my year long PO) decided they didn't want to go through with their promise and leave it a felony. It was too easy. After a long morning of a judge who didn't want to budge, he got tired of the games and threatened to get another judge and withdraw my plea. The only reason this judge didn't go against my PLEA BARGAIN was because Jordan knew his stuff and didn't give up. He obviously knows the law and cares about his clients. Thanks to Jordan I now live felony free after originally facing very large, unnecessary, felony charges!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 4, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
BEST Lawyer in SLO County!!!
I originally made the mistake of hiring a different attorney for my DUI case. The case at that point felt helpless and I was on my way to some hefty jail time and fines. Right before my court date, I decided I needed to take action and switch attorneys or else I'd be facing extreme consequences that would really put a halt on my life. I decided to switch to Jordan after I was referred to him by another attorney. Needless to say, Jordan was a LIFE SAVOIR. He went out of his way to make sure this case was dealt with in great timing and had the best possible outcome. He went above and beyond and got an even better outcome than we were expecting. Given that I no longer live in CA and we hired him right before my court date, this was not by any means a simple case. But Jordan appeared at all my court dates, I didn’t have to fly back to SLO for any of them, and he got me an excellent deal. Jordan is also extremely responsive, has a very reasonable rate and will go out of his way to make sure your needs are met. Because this case ended so well, I have been able to proceed with a normal life, once again (rather than spending several days behind bars and possibly in debt). The outcome and final deal of this case has taught me the importance of why: A. I cannot drink period B. I ABSOLUTELY will never put myself or others in such a situation again, and C. Jordan is the best attorney in SLO county!
Read less
Posted by Sarah | March 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Made thee absolute best of a worse situation!!!
I contacted Jordan after the worst experience of my life. I had no idea what I got myself into or how to get myself out. I hired Jordan because I knew he was the best and I wasn’t the slightest bit disappointed. Not only was he professional, but he was personable, humble, & compassionate. Thanks to all of these attributes combined with his highly refined professional skills and approach, my life has for the most part gone back to normal.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing DUI/DWI Defense
I will forever be grateful to Jordan and his firm and for the fact that I chose him to represent me in my DUI defense. He got the very best possible outcome and ended up saving me a lot of money and time(I would have been so lost in the process without his counsel). Definitely worth the hire!
Posted by Patrick | November 9, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great DUI Attorney
I hired Mr. Cunningham because my job needed to be saved. After never having been in trouble, and given that I work in the public safety field, I needed the best counsel possible. I was charged with a DUI and a refusal to take a test. Mr. Cunningham prevailed before the DMV, convincing them not to suspend my license for a year because of a refusal -- when I was really just confused over what the officer was telling me after hitting my head in an accident. He also got the DA to drop the refusal in criminal court. Without Mr. Cunningham, I would have lost my job. He's the best in the business and I strongly recommend that you call him if you need an attorney for a DUI.
Read less
Posted by Stephanie | April 25, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
God among men
Jordan has been the answer to my prayers! He is knowledgeable, professional, and always there to answer my questions, no matter what! He explained to me step by step the legal process and his game plan to defend me. He is articulate, confident, and an expert in his field. He seriously saved me! I would HIGHLY recommend him and advise anyone in need of a lawyer to hire him. He is on your side, he knows the laws like the back of his hand and he can help you get through the process as quickly and painlessly as possible. Thank you Jordan!!!!!!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 23, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
student
Jordan was easy to work with, he always responded to me in a timely manner when I had questions regarding my case. He successfully got my case dismissed with no conviction. Overall he is a great guy, who genuinely cares about his clients. I would recommend him to anyone in the SLO area.
Posted by Erika | August 11, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jordan Cunningham best Attorney around the Central Coast
We hired Jordan, on behalf of my teenage daughter. She had got into some trouble and had a public defender. We didn't feel like she had our daughter in her best interest. Jordan was a referral from another attorney. From the moment my husband and I met him, we knew my daughter was going to be in great hands. He walked into the court room was able to get her released to us, he was able to get her eligible on diversion. I feel that, if we didn't have Jordan, the public defender wouldn't have faught for her, the way Jordan did. In my eyes he went above and beyond for us, and for that I will be truly greatful and indebted to him forever. Without Jordan I do believe that the outcome would've been different. Thank you Jordan for everything.
Read less
Posted by Dennis | November 7, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Attorney Ever
I was very impressed with the level of professionalism that came from Mr Cunningham while he helped me to defeat a temporary restraining order that my neighbors try to have implemented against me. He made me feel like my case was the most important thing to him. His office staff was always there to help me, answered every question I had. Mr Cunningham exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend him if you need a lawyer.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 1, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Compassionate Attorney
I will always be thankful for the compassion and professionalism that Mr. Cunningham brought to my case. I hired Mr. Cunningham during a stressful time and his experience, knowledge and responsiveness was truly reassuring. I cannot recommend him enough for his great work!
Posted by anonymous | July 9, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
College Student
Jordan Cunningham helped during a very difficult time in my life and because of him I was able to learn from my mistakes while still being able to be productive member of society and my house hold. During the last few years since my incident I have been able to graduate from a 4 year university and retain steady employment.
Posted by anonymous | July 8, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jordan Cunningham
Excellent lawyer! Handled my case very well and was always available. Also no hidden charges. Quoted price was actual price. Highly recommend.
Posted by Don | March 3, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review of Jordan Cunninghams Performance in my case.
Jordan performed in a very professional and timely manner, achieved all of our discussed details and goals, no additional costs. During the hearings, I was kept informed as to status and the ultimate satisfactory resolution.
Posted by anonymous | February 27, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Owner/President
I hired Jordan to represent myself and my company on two criminal cases brought against me by fish and wildlife for a construction project adjacent to my business. Jordan was a very effective communicator. He gave me monthly updates and recommendations and made sure to expedite the process. He was able remove both counts against me faster then he originally told me the process would take which resulted in the costs being less then what he told me to anticipate the process to take. It was easy to sleep at night knowing that I had someone with knowledge and integrity fighting along side of me to ensure that justice would be served. Thank you Jordan for all of your hard work. Its nice to know that there is someone like you standing up for local business owners that are trying to do the right thing.
Read less
Posted by Jim | February 4, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Represented me well in my case
I suddenly had a legal case, never had a real legal issue before, and no lawyer. I knew Jordan by name (from State Assembly), so gave him a call. After listening to the details, Jordan took my case. I was an emotional wreck, so the first thing Jordan did try to calm me down by explaining the legal process and what he was going to do. He told me to “go live your life, let me take care of this, it’s what I do”. Over the next 8 months Jordan did everything to represent me. We talked on the phone, but I only physically met with him once. I had to appear in court that time, and even then I was dismissed before seeing the judge because Jordan had submitted a Brief to the ADA ahead, and he and the ADA came to an agreement while I was there. Jordan kept me updated of important events along the way, by phone call, email, or text. During the eighth month Jordan called to tell me the DA had offered a Plea Deal, what he and I had discussed and he had been working toward. I took it, and all that is behind me now. I don’t know how another attorney would have handled my case or me, but I know Jordan did a good job overall and I am very satisfied how everything came out for me.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hardworking Attorney
Jordan was responsive whenever I contacted him. He is very knowledgeable about DUI charges and is energetic working towards the best possible outcome for his clients. His fees are reasonable, his advise is realistic and he devotes attention to each case. I was more than pleased with my court outcome.
Posted by anonymous | September 25, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bad things can happen to good people
If you find your self in a situation that you cannot handle on your own Jordan Conningham can help level the playing field. Jordan helped to prevent any criminal charges from being filed, reestablish my insurance companies obligation to coverage and he helped to negotiate a resolution to a potential civil claim. I was very satisfied with the services he provided and would not hesitate to recommend Jordan to anyone that needed help navigating through a difficult situation.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 28, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great
Having Jordan represent me for my case was an excellent experience. I was able to continue with my life and work without interruption. The result exceeded my expectations. I was very happy with the outcome.
Posted by anonymous | November 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Possible Representation
I consulted many lawyers regarding my case, many who had no hope that the plea I received was even possible. He was realistic but determined. If you want the peace of mind that you are getting the best representation possible, Cunningham is the right choice. He is intelligent, professional, and compassionate.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Cunningham Law Group
  • 2015 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Adamski Moroski Madden Cumberland & Green LLP
  • 2013 - 2015
  • Deputy District Attorney
  • District Attorney, San Luis Obispo County
  • 2010 - 2013
  • Attorney
  • U.S. Department of Justice
  • 2009 - 2010
  • Law Clerk
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern District Of Virginia
  • 2008 - 2009
  • Law Clerk
  • U.S. Court Of Federal Claims
  • 2007 - 2008
  • Attorney
  • Jones Day
  • 2004 - 2007
  • Senate Fellow/Policy Consultant
  • California Senate
  • 2000 - 2001
  • Honors Intern
  • Federal Bureau Of Investigation
  • 1999 - 1999
View all work experience

Education

  • University of California at Berkeley, Boalt Hall School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2004
  • Point Loma Nazarene University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2000

Associations

  • San Luis Obispo County Bar Association
  • 2010 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • Best Brief, Moot Court
  • Berkeley School of Law
  • 2002
  • Magna Cum Laude honors
  • Point Loma Nazarene University
  • 2000

Publications

  • Fordham Journal of Corporate and Financial Law, Vol. XIII, No. 1.
  • "Returning RICO to Racketeers,"
  • 2008

Attorney endorsements

Received (12)
Given (7)
Endorse Jordan
Litigation Attorney | Mar 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jordan has a broad range of experience which gives him a unique perspective. I know from working with Jordan that he is a superb litigator who strongly advocates for his clients. His skills range from excellent legal research and writing at the pretrial stages, all the way through trial, where he possesses the uncanny ability to make any judge or jury side with his position. I would highly recommend his services to any client."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 09
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Jordan has that rare combination of possessing comprehensive legal knowledge, coupled with impeccable ethics. He and I have had a number of difficult cases against one another and he consistently impresses me with his work ethic and attention to detail. He is the first attorney I refer people to when they get in trouble."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jordan is the first name I give clients in need of legal assistance on criminal matters. First and most importantly, he is accessible. He answers calls and returns messages promptly. Jordan is also very experienced in the courtroom and quite gifted at formulating the best possible litigation strategy. As I have done numerous times in the past, I will continue to recommend Jordan to any of my clients in need of a criminal defense."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Apr 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jordan is an intelligent, thoughtful and highly effective attorney. I endorse him without reservation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 28
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 10
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Jordan is a very experienced criminal trial lawyer with a stellar record of obtaining favorable jury verdicts while a criminal prosecutor. His extensive experience as a prosecutor provides him with keen insight on how best to serve his criminal defense clients. Jordan's legal intellect and trial skills are remarkable, while his reputation for demonstrating solid judgment and the highest degree of ethics is unmatched. Finally, Jordan is a skilled communicator, brilliant legal strategist, and is therefore successful in any endeavor he takes on."
Unknown Attorney | Jun 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Excellent lawyer. Very well respected."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Cunningham and I were always on opposite side of every case when he was a Deputy District Attorney and I was the defense attorney. I know from experience that he is a tenacious, thorough, and fair attorney. He uses these talents to help his clients in all areas of his law practice."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 08
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"As a prosecutor, Jordan exhibited the rare combination of intellectual pedigree, diligence, and discretion. Jordan is an excellent attorney and a kind person. I recommend his services without hesitation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
San Luis Obispo DUI and DWI Lawyer Jordan Cunningham
Jordan Cunningham
DUI and DWI Attorney
San Luis Obispo, CA
Licensed for 18 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available