Skip to main content

Dennis Gene Merenbach

Divorce and separation Attorney at Santa Barbara, CA

4.7   15 reviews

Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Dennis

Learn Dennis’s areas of practice.

 

When it comes to experience and results, few Santa Barbara attorneys can match Dennis Merenbach’s achievements. Merenbach has delivered successful outcomes for 1000’s of clients and has an impressive array of legal accomplishments that go far beyond his core practice: Legal Lecturer, Law Teacher, Legal Media Commenter, Arbitrator and Mediator, along with having published legal articles & case opinions. 

Merenbach is a Founding Member of California Attorneys for Criminal Justice and a former Board Director.  He is a Legal Television Commentor for ABC Affiliate KEYT and served as a Radio Talk Show Host for "You & The Law," on KTMS 

 

 

Photos and videos

Licensed for 56 years
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 1966
Updated 12/02/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Dennis

Dennis G. Merenbach, esq
225 E Carrillo St Ste 202
Santa Barbara, CA, 93101

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  15 customer reviews
5 Star
 
93%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
7%
Posted by anonymous | July 29, 2015
DUI
He got my DUI dismissed after collecting significant information with regard to how my stop was handled. I am in Ventura County, and he was recommended by a friend in Santa Barbara. Very impressed with his abilities, and professionalism. He was very compassionate with regard to this being my first DUI, and how terrified I was. Thank you Mr. Merenbach, you changed my life. I am grateful that you took on my case. I don't think the end results would have been the same without you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 29, 2015
Custody Case
Mr. Merenbach handled a custody case for me. He was truly professional, honest and supportive. In the end, I got everything I asked for; and we were up against a nasty battle with my ex. I recommend him to every one for any type of legal advice. He is pure no non-sense, intelligent and well respected in several counties. I will be using him for my Will, Trust and Estate plan as well. He is worth every penny you spend for the results he provides! I HIGHLY recommend Dennis Merenbach. Go in for a consultation, you too will see exactly what I mean and will hire him!
Read less
Posted by William | June 30, 2015
Non-Profits
Mr. Merenbach has been very helpful in answering questions about and drafting legal forms for our non-profit organization. I recommend him for quick and detailed answers to complex questions. W. R. Tanner
Posted by Gregory | June 12, 2015
A lawyer, not just an attorney
Mr. Merenbach personifies what we all wish our lawyer to be. He is smart, and wise; he is honest and ethical; it is clear that he is respected and admired by the judges and his peers. Mr. Merenbach reminds me of how law used to be practiced, before the pit bulls took over. He believes in trying to keep his clients out of court, but once in he will do all that is advisable and proper to advocate for you. Dennis Merenbach is the best!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 10, 2015
Best !
He is by far one of the best Attorneys!!!!!!!! Attorney Merenbach is on top of his cases he is prepared and always keeps clients informed.....He is there when you need him.
Posted by Wallace | June 9, 2015
A great Lawyer
I find that Mr. Dennis Merenbach is one of the best lawyers that anyone could ever have. I have been most impressed with his knowledge that embraces the heart of the matter in which he is addressing. I praise God that such a personable Lawyer such as Mr. Merenbach is in our community. With his trustworthy and responsive attitude you can be assured that what ever is presented to him within the law will be addressed in a timely and reasonable way.
Read less
Posted by Wallace | June 9, 2015
A great Lawyer
I find that Mr. Dennis Merenbach is one of the best lawyers that anyone could ever have. I have been most impressed with his knowledge that embraces the heart of the matter in which he is addressing. I praise God that such a personable Lawyer such as Mr. Merenbach is in our community. With his trustworthy and responsive attitude you can be assured that what ever is present to him within the law will be addressed in a timely and reasonable way.
Read less
Posted by Bill | June 9, 2015
An exceptional lawyer
I have known Dennis since the late 70's. I have used him in a number of litigations, most recently with an accident invoving my son who was seriously injured. I knew from the begining that Dennis was the first call. Rest assured Dennis and his staff will take good care of you.
Posted by anonymous | June 8, 2015
First class representation
My family had an unexpected legal issue crop up and being unfamiliar with the process reached out to Mr. Merenbach for counsel. Our initial consultation answered all of our questions and set our minds at ease. Upon retaining Dennis the case moved forward in a highly professional manner. Without getting into details, I can say without hesitation that we appreciated being his client and heartily recommend his practice.
Read less
Posted by Janice | June 7, 2015
Excellent Personal Service Provided
Dennis has assisted my family by providing us the clear and concise information we needed. His assistance in understanding legal issues has also given us peace of mind. We would highly recommend Dennis for any legal matter, including the writing of wills.
Posted by John | June 6, 2015
Sound legal advice
I feel Mr Merenbach was prompt in response to questions and extremely insightful as to solutions for solving our question and problem . I would recommend Dennis to any close friend or relative in need of sound legal advice . .
Posted by Dana | June 5, 2015
The best attorney I have ever had the priviledge of using his services
Throughout the years Dennis has given me excellent legal advice and I thank him for his services. It s wonderful to have an attorney that will listen, understand and guide me through the problems of life.
Posted by Steven Church | March 11, 2015
Dennis made my estate planning a quick and easy process
I had some rather complex issues to be addressed in my estate planning process. Dennis was attentive and drew up all documents and resolved all the issues I had in a timely manner. Additionally, he helped me to better understand the whole process. He was very knowledgeable and I would recommend his practice to anyone who needs assistance dealing with their estate planning.
Read less
Posted by Eleanor | December 1, 2014
Excellent Lawyer!!
This lawyer was very helpful. He got my case dismissed right away and took care of everything. I highly recommend him. He knows what he is doing, where some of the other lawyers in his office building seemed unprofessional.
Posted by anonymous | September 12, 2014
No Show
Had a scheduled appointment to see Mr. Merenbach who decided not to show up. Waited in his lobby for 45forty five minutes and finally gave up. Pretty bad first impression.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Pro bono 5 %
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Merenbach Law
  • 1986 - Present
  • Partner
  • Merenbach and Luc
  • 1969 - 1986
  • Partner
  • Henderson and Merenbach
  • 1966 - 1969

Education

  • Harvard Law School at Boston, Massachusetts
  • Legal Advocacy
  • 1973
  • Loyola Law School, Loyola Marymount University
  • Juris Doctor
  • 1966
  • USC: University of Southern California
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • 1961

Legal Cases

  • 1000's of cases with successful outcome
  • Wins, Dismissed or Reduction
  • $1.8 Million Award
  • Win
  • Felony death, manslaughter and many other felonies
  • dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • California Public Defender's Association
  • Member
  • 1982 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Founding Member - Former Board Director
  • 1973 - Present
  • United States Supreme Court
  • Member
  • 1968 - Present
  • Santa Barbara County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1968 - Present
  • California State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1966 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Chinese, Wu
  • Chinese, Xiang
  • Spanish

Awards

  • 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Award of High Distinction: Improving Criminal Justice System
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • 2008

Publications

  • Book, Fithian Press
  • "How to be an Expert Witness"
  • 1993
  • Boulas v. Superior Court
  • 188 Cal. App. 3rd 422 •233 Cal. Rptr. 487
  • 1986

Speaking Engagements

  • California State Bar
  • Criminal Section
  • 1997
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Criminal Law
  • 1992

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (9)
Endorse Dennis
Divorce and separation Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Dennis Merenbach is a consummate professional. He is honest, caring and always fights for his clients. Dennis has mentored me and many other lawyers through their law career. I hold Dennis in the highest regard and endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Merenbach is an amazing trial attorney. I worked with him in trial and I have witnessed him give the best defense in my career. I endorse this lawyer."
Estate planning Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Dennis Merenbach has superior skills in all phases of the practice of law. He fights for his clients at every turn of their case. He is a highly qualified professional."
Unknown Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Dennis Merenbach on a personal and professional level for over 30 years, having been a tenant of his professional office building since @1982. I have had a succesful legal career due in part to the mentoring that he provided to me over the years. I can say without reservation that Dennis is known and deserves to be known as not only one of the best trial lawyers in Santa Barbara but he also possesses a great legal mind and always seems to know the right thing to do. The AVVO form only allowed selection of one area of the law to endorse him for but I know him be extremely competent in the areas of Criminal Law, Cilvil Litigation of all kinds, Family Law, Business and Property Law, and many others. He is extremely personable, elegant in his ways, and considered to be one of the most distinguished attorneys in the Santa Barbara legal community and any client would, in my opinion, be fortunate indeed to be represented or advised by Dennis Merenbach."
Personal injury Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Dennis has all of the training and expertise to obtain extremely positive results in many areas of the law, including personal injury, marital disputes, criminal and business litigation. I endorse this lawyer."
Lawsuits and disputes Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Dennis Merenbach is an outstanding attorney and I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | May 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Dennis Merenbach is the highest caliber attorney in Santa Barbara. Outstanding!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 12
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Dennis Merenbach is unmatched in his experience, trial record and knowledge. He is the absolute best."
View more endorsements
Contracts and agreements
Personal injury
Construction and development
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Santa Barbara Divorce and separation Lawyer Dennis Gene Merenbach
Dennis Gene Merenbach
Divorce and separation Attorney
Santa Barbara, CA
Licensed for 56 years
Free Consultation