Skip to main content

Christine Marie Adams

Sexual harassment Attorney at Santa Barbara, CA

4.8   67 reviews

also known as Adams Employment Law

Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    Arizona - AZ 4 years
    California - CA 25 years
  • Licensed for 4 years
    State AZ
    Acquired 2020
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 25 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1999
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Christine

Learn Christine’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Discrimination
    25%
    The founder of Adams Law passionately pursues the vindication of the rights of employees to be free from discrimination at work. There is perhaps nothing as shameful to her as an employer who fails to protect the rights of its employees.

    25 years

  2. Employment and labor
    25%
    Have you not been paid overtime or provided lunch/rest breaks? Have you stood up to your employer and refused to engage in unlawful or unethical behavior? Were you subjected to conduct in the workplace you felt was offensive and complained? Did you suffer negative consequences after complaining? Your rights may have been violated.

    25 years

  3. Sexual harassment
    25%
    Sexual harassment is not only against the law, it can be debilitating. We understand that a person who feels that they have been sexually harassed at work needs and deserves a comfortable, private atmosphere to discuss their experience. You can be assured that Adams Law takes sexual harassment claims very seriously and we give you our word that we will handle your telephone call or conference with the respect and dignity it deserves.

    25 years

  4. Wrongful termination
    25%
    There are four situations that give rise to most wrongful termination claims: (1) where termination is prohibited by a statute or the constitution, (2) where the employer fires the employee for exercising a constitutional or statutory right, (3) where the employer fires the employee for the employee’s refusal to violate a law where a fundamental public policy is involved, and (4) as retaliation for “whistleblowing” (for example, where the employee reports illegal or unsafe activities).

    25 years

PROTECTING EMPLOYEE RIGHTS FOR OVER TWO DECADES - CONTACT US TODAY

Christine M. Adams is an experienced and aggressive employment rights attorney. She represents employees along California’s Coast who have been harassed or discriminated against at work because of a disability, pregnancy, their gender, marital status, race or ethnicity. She also assists whistleblowers who have been retaliated against or wrongfully terminated. If you have been denied meal and rest breaks or have not been paid for your overtime, have lost vacation earned as a result of a “use it or lose it” vacation time policy, or if your employer breaches the terms of an employment contract, call her, she can probably help. 

 

Ms. Adams also pursues the vindication of “whistleblower” claims for employees who have been retaliated against for objecting to unlawful conduct in the workplace, refusing to do something illegal or assisting others who have complained about unlawful conduct.

 

Ms. Adams obtained her Juris Doctorate from the University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law, where she served as the Managing Editor of its Law Review. She is nationally published and admitted to practice before all state and federal courts in California. She is a member of the State Bar of California, the Santa Barbara County Bar Association, and the California Employment Lawyers Association. She proudly serves employees in Santa Barbara, Long Beach, Ventura, Thousand Oaks, Simi Valley, Santa Maria, Paso Robles, Arroyo Grande, Pismo, San Luis Obispo and Orange County.

 

Ms. Adams has advised and represented clients in all aspects and stages of employment disputes, including pre-complaint, informal negotiations, administrative hearings and jury trials. Her former clients will gladly speak to you about how they felt being represented by a caring, yet aggressive attorney.

 

Employment law is complex and requires an attorney who understands that law and who will aggressively pursue your rights while providing you with individualized service and compassion. Check out her reviews on ! 

Awards

Client's Choice 2020,2019,2018,2015,2014,2013,2012,2011
Client's Choice
2020 2019 2018 + 5 ...

Photos and videos

Location

Adams Law
Adams Law
600 West Broadway
Suite 700
San Diego, CA, 92101
Adams Employment Law
350 E Street
1st Floor
Eureka, CA, 95501
Hide locations

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  67 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2020
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by anonymous | May 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellence, Compassion and Results.
If you’re reading this because you’ve experienced employment issues, know that I feel your pain. I have good news. I know someone exceptional that I recommend without reservation. Her name is Christine Adams. The best way to reach out to her is her website: https://adamsemploymentlaw.com/ I’m happy to explain why I’m taking time to write this review when I don’t normally do that. You could say, given my career in the sales, sportsmarketing, entertainment and medical fields, I’m well-qualified to know an excellent attorney when I meet one. I’ve personally hired, supervised and partnered with more than a hundred legal representatives on all matters of law. The lawyers who “sell from the top and service from the bottom” are too easy to run across. The really good ones are very challenging to find. For the first time, my need for legal counsel was personal. I needed a compassionate and professional advisor and advocate on a critical and time-sensitive employment issue. I was referred to Ms. Adams by one of my longtime attorneys who is also a trusted friend. From our first contact - via text - I sensed that she would be a good listener and she would take a personal interest in representing me. As I communicated with her and her excellent assistants, I became very confident I’d hired the right person and a great team. Her knowledge of employment law is absolutely comprehensive. I asked a lot of questions. She always answered quickly and respectfully. Here’s what really separated Ms. Adams from other lawyers; she combines her considerable experience with genuine compassion and responsive, reliable communication. I was 100% pleased with her strategies and the results she got for me. And, get this… given this happened during the pandemic, I have never met her in person! That said, I feel very good about the fact that I have a trusted ally if I ever need one in the future. If you need employment counseling, I’m sure you will find Adams Law to be an invaluable resource. It was for me. You deserve the best outcome the law offers. Adams Law will get you that outcome. You’ll feel a little better from the first phone conversation. Good luck to you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 11, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Guardian angel
Luckily this was the first time I have needed an attorney in my life but even more lucky was finding Christine and her team. After just a few hours of our consultation she was in touch with the other party and within a week had a settlement far beyond my expectations. On top of that it was at a fraction of what I would have paid in contingency. She became a friend and an advisor but will be forever my guardian angel.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 21, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Employee seeking support
Christine Adams is highly knowledgeable, efficient, honest, and experienced. She is understanding of a difficult employment situation and made me feel heard and cared for. She did an excellent job for me. I highly recommend her.
Posted by Kevin | February 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kevin
Christine was easy to understand, professional and most of all accessible at all phases of my case. She got me a big settlement too!
Posted by Craig | December 18, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Exactly what I needed
I would like to start this review talking a little about why I had this consultation. I was terminated from a job I held for over 10 years,I was given Christine's Name from a co-worker and friend, The circumstances related to my termination were never explained to me, And I was never given a reason for why I was being let go, By either human resources or the legal department. I worked in the facilities department at a large company so you can image the number of customers I came in contact with in the time i worked. The way I was treated on my last day was the worst thing that has happened to me in a lifetime, I am 60 years old and took great pride in being the most honest, hard working, diverse and caring person. My parents instilled in me my whole life to treat people the way I wanted to be treated. At work all my customers were number one, Though some of the work was not easy and sometimes there were differences in opinion, My feeling was " I was paid to do a job ....Do it the best I can". When this happened to me my world stopped, I was angry , disappointed, sick to m.y stomach. I lost hope in the fact that people in this world today cared or gave a hoot how hard someone tried to be the best they could be..... I called Christine's Firm and filled out the on line intake form. My phone rang the next day and Christine was on the other end of the phone This is when everything changed for the better. with out being corny Christine was the best thing that could have ever happened to me at that time. She listened to my story with such care. I honestly felt like I had known her for a very long time. As disgusted as she was in what happened to me, She did the best thing anyone could have done for me. She was completely Honest!!!!!. Though she felt I had been treated wrong, She didn't think there was a case. This May sound bad to some, But if you have the character and take pride in trying to do the right thing. It was the best thing She could have ever told me. Understand I was contemplating my own character, I felt that In the future at another job or just meeting new people that this terrible thing is going to change me. This was a very low point for me. Christine advised me on some other possibilities there was honestly nothing I could do. She talked to me about my character and told me to stand up hold my head high and do my best to move on from this. To whomever reads this review. If you need legal help this is the person you need to talk to. Honestly not sure how long Christine has been doing this but its obvious she is excellent at what she does. She will fight for you and care about whatever it is you are dealing with and listen to you, the most important thing she will do is be Honest!. In just the short time I talked to her She gave me her personal cell phone reassured me If I needed anything to pick up the phone and call. As hard as it was to hear there was nothing I could do (Legally). Christine gave me a reason to wake up in the morning, Head held high Hug my family and move forward to see whats out there for me. The one disappoint was I would have loved to be sitting next to this woman in court facing the people that treated me so terribly. I know she will fight for you. In parting, My good friend at my last job (ex- Human resources) person said If a case came in to her office and Christine's name was on the documents " They would poop there pants". Sounds to me this is exactly who Im calling If I ever have problems again. Thank you Christine for being there for me and My family
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 4, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Food Service Director
Ms. Adams wrote one letter to my employer who wanted me to sign a very loose, very damaging letter of resignation which left me in a very dangerous position. I didn't have an attorney and had a deadline for signature. I left one message and submitted the client intake document and within less than 24 hours I received a phone call from their Legal Administrator who explained the details, listened to mine and from there, I retained Ms. Adams and felt supported and protected until we won!
Read less
Posted by brian | October 29, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Best Attorney ! Cares about customers
I feel very blessed to have met Christine .She has great work ethic knolledge is one of the best and she treats clients with more respect than any other .I cant say how many times I was stuck with other attorneys I run out of space .She is timely and deals in very professional m@nner .I assure you will get most out of having her in your corner . She very. dedicated
Read less
Posted by Sky | April 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experience
Christine worked very hard and was relentless in pursuing the best legal solution. Her knowledge of the law and procedures was very apparent and comforting. I enjoyed her personable style and would highly recommend her.
Posted by anonymous | April 9, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Forced into Early Retirement
Without Adams Law on my side, even after many years of dedicated service, my employer would have steamrolled me, kicked me to the curb, and left me on the street with nothing after a dispute. Adams Law fought for the health and retirement benefits that were rightfully mine. Do you know what a Notice of Intention or Skelly hearing is? Don’t go into the fight of your life without representation, start with Christine Adams.
Read less
Posted by Charles | March 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Got me through a stressful situation
Christine was professional, supportive, and ultimately effective in helping me through a very stressful time. I always felt well represented and wasn't afraid to really stick up for myself since I knew Christine had my back.
Posted by anonymous | January 26, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Eternally Grateful
Christine Adams was wonderful to work with. She is reliable, pleasant, knowledgeable, thorough, and puts you at ease by explaining everything in detail. She kept me updated throughout the entire process and got better results than I ever would have imagined. I always felt as though she was looking out for my best interest. She and her team were professional, kind, courteous and responsive. Highly recommend!
Read less
Posted by Rima | May 18, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Brilliant, Ethical and Aggressive
Christine Adams supported me during a particularly tenuous time, in the aftermath of the pandemic and after a prolonged, painful and incredibly debilitating experience with discrimination and retaliation. She is brilliant, dedicated and highly skilled at what she does. Her intelligence, exactitude, thoroughness, (appropriate/advantageous) aggressiveness, and expediency are traits I sought and hoped for in a high-quality attorney. Those altogether make her an excellent lawyer. But what I did not expect to encounter in this relationship, what I truly appreciate and am most deeply impacted by - is her genuine integrity, humanity and compassion. From the beginning to the end, she listened to me, and considered me as an individual. She was attentive, receptive, caring, efficient, strategic and diligent. Particularly for my case, it was an alleviation and inspiration to have someone on my side who really saw me, and honored my convictions and motivations for pursuing my claim. Christine was always clear, direct and fair. She followed through with what she said she would, and cogently explained the steps and strategies involved throughout the process. She helped me see some truths I was not aware of, which allowed me to objectively evaluate my claim. Christine was not only committed to representing me, but I believe she is committed to something one encounters less and less of in the modern world: doing what is right, and fair. I was blown away by the claim Christine put together for me when we got to the filing stage of my lawsuit. It was a remarkable synthesis of hundreds of pages of complex information, facts and details I had given her. She consolidated it in a deft, cohesive and legally formidable way. It demonstrated a masterful understanding of the legal significance of my claim, emphasized patterns of workplace abuse, and again, honored the principles that mattered to me. My discrimination issue with my employer was the most difficult employment experience of my life. Christine was a powerful reconciling support and force that enabled me to integrate, find closure, peace, and also reparations. She was exactly who, and what, I needed to get through this with my sanity intact. In the end she facilitated much more than I had hoped for. I cannot recommend, praise or thank Christine enough for what she did for me. Please engage with her if you need someone with this rare combination of traits, values and abilities to fight for you.
Read less
Posted by Adam | May 25, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A great help
Ms Adams was kind as I was dealing with a tough separation from years at a company. She successfully helped reach a settlement agreement that felt like some justice was served. I highly recommend her.
Posted by Keith B' | April 18, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding, Confident and Focused on You
Christine Adams and her legal team are Brilliant! I engaged with Adams Employment Law firm following several discussions and subsequent refusals by other employment law firms. I had signed an arbitration clause regarding my employment with a large bio-tech corporate company. I was wrongfully terminated while on disability/FMLA for significant health issues following a long period of discrimination, retaliatory actions, and a very toxic work environment. Christine was very personable and had a genuine interest in my case and me as a person. She was always one step ahead of the employer’s powerful legal team and was always well prepared and informed. Her knowledge of employment law is outstanding and is extremely committed at doing what she says she is going to do. My case ended with an out-of-arbitration settlement and the Mediator advised me that the case documentation Christine had prepared was one of the best and most convincing that he had seen throughout his legal career. I would strongly recommend Christine and her law firm to anyone who is looking for representation for any employment related legal work dispute.
Read less
Posted by Lee | February 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Professional
Christine Adams did a phenomenal job representing me in my case. She and her staff were always very prompt, thorough - very professional. My case was unique and Christine handled all of its twists and turns in a positive manner and in my favor, keeping the stress to a minimum. Let’s face it, law suits are a stressful thing, but Christine supported me all along the way, she kept me informed and was always available to me whenever I needed anything. I would give her my highest recommendation to anyone considering her representation!
Read less
Posted by Nicole | December 21, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
She rocks!!
Christine was great, got the job done and great results! She answered all of my questions quickly and made our case successful. I would highly recommend!
Posted by anonymous | March 10, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Employment Lawyer
I am a female executive who worked for a company for 18 years and experienced gender and sexual harassment over a lengthy period of time. In light of the #metoo movement, I became increasingly aware of the hostile environment I was subjected to and decided to seek legal advice. My friend who is an Attorney for the city in which I reside recommended I contact Christine Adams. Christine was extremely quick to respond, and I could tell right away that she had my best interest in mind. She immediately made me feel comfortable and explained things in great detail when I was unsure of what my options were and how I should proceed. I was very impressed with her legal team and how well they handled my case. I would highly recommend!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review
I engaged Christine as my employment lawyer to review my case and contract. She was very detailed in her approach and timely in her responses. I felt she was extremely professional and thorough in her review. I would definitely recommend her and use her again if needed in the future.
Posted by anonymous | October 24, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Consultation
Although Christine Adams was not able to take my case she was patient in hearing my questions and concerns that I had. She also pointed me in the right direction on who to speak to regarding the issues I was having. Thank you again Christine!
Posted by Rhonda | August 7, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Christines the BEST
I hired Christine Adams when i got fired after 25 yrs of employment..I needed help to find out if my employer had paid me the correct amount for wages , vacation and sick.leave. Christine was on it right away, she was strong, supportive and knows the law..She helped me get a settlement for the unpaid wages that they illegally were withholding . She was always positive and i felt very comfortable , and trusted her that the outcome would be good..i would recommend her to anyone looking for a lawyer with compassion and integrity. Thanks Christine
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Contingency 35%-45%
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.7 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Employment Law
  • 1998 - Present

Education

  • McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1998

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Client vs Insurance Marketing Agency
  • Resolved
  • Client vs Telecommunications Company
  • Resolved

Associations

  • National Employment Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • California Employment Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Santa Barbara County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Santa Barbara Women Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • San Luis Obispo County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers in America
  • American Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2019
  • Who's Who in American Law
  • Who's Who in American Law -Marquis
  • 2012
  • Who's Who in American Law
  • Who's Who In American Law
  • 2011
  • Who's Who in American Law
  • Who's Who In American Law
  • 2010
View all awards

Publications

  • McGeorge Law Review
  • Managing Editor
  • 1998
  • McGeorge Law Review
  • Managing Editor
  • 1997

Speaking Engagements

  • County Bar Sponsored Event
  • Know Your Legal Rights at Work
  • 2006

Attorney endorsements

Received (5)
Given (3)
Endorse Christine
Employment and labor Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Christine and I were opposing counsel on a case many years ago which we were able to resolve amicably. Since then, we have kept in touch and given each other advice and counsel on our respective cases. I respect her abilities as a lawyer and appreciate receiving her valuable feedback as a colleague. I would recommend her for all labor and employment law work."
Employment and labor Attorney | May 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Christine is very helpful in her answers and is an excellent attorney. I have no hesitations in referring her clients."
Employment and labor Attorney | Apr 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Christine because of her reputation in the community and for the work she has done for clients of mine outside of my area of expertise."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
Employment and labor Attorney | Jun 08
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. She handled a difficult wrongful termination case against my client. She was aggressive, intelligent and professional. I would recommend her to any client who wants an attorney who understands the law and will fight for them. Most importantly she is ethical and honest."
Litigation
Workers compensation
Civil rights