Skip to main content

Jason Andrew Davis

Administrative law Attorney at Mission Viejo, CA

5.0   37 reviews
  • Licensed for 21 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2003
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Jason

Learn Jason’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Administrative law
    50%
    State and federal regulatory affairs: Department of Justice compliance, Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms compliance, federal firearm license revocation hearings and consultations, and more.

    21 years, 100 cases

  2. Civil rights
    25%
    Firearm and weapons related civil rights violations: restoration of rights, false arrest, unlawful search and seizure, unlawful CCW policies, public records issues, and other firearm related civil rights violations.

    21 years, 50 cases

  3. Criminal defense
    25%
    Firearm and weapons related crimes: assault weapons, short barrel shotguns, short barrel rifles, machien guns, other possession related offenses and more.

    21 years, 50 cases

Jason Davis began working in the California firearms industry as a teen when he worked at his father’s handgun manufacturing business, Davis Industries, Inc. With four of his family’s businesses consistently listed in the top ten handgun manufacturers in the United States, Mr. Davis gained a unique perspective and understanding of firearms, firearms businesses, and the industry as a whole. As frivolous laws and lawsuits gained momentum and burdened many in the industry out of business in the 1990‘s, Mr. Davis made it his mission to defend the rights firearm owners and businesses.


With nearly three decades of experience in the firearms industry, Jason Davis and The Davis Law Firm have developed the relationships and an understanding of the firearms and dangerous weapons laws necessary to succeed in this highly political environment. Our attorneys have fought hard to defend your right to bear arms, challenging federal, state, and local laws and regulations in both the court houses and regulatory proceedings.

Jason Davis has experience representing associations such as the National Rifle Association, CalGuns Foundation, and the California Rifle & Pistol Association in Civil Rights litigation and policy issues. We have also represented various law enforcement agencies and officers, industry trade associations, gun shows, importers, manufacturers, distributors, dealers, indoor and outdoor shooting ranges, special effects companies, prop houses, armories, pyro-technicians, celebrities and other individuals who face federal and state licensing, permits, compliance issues, criminal charges, or who just want to know more about the laws. We know the details and background behind California’s gun laws. And, we know the people enforcing those laws.

AREAS OF PRACTICE
Firearm Laws, Dangerous Weapons Laws, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs, Corporate and Business law, and In House Counsel.

Location

THE DAVIS LAW FIRM
27201 Puerta Real
Suite 300
Mission Viejo, CA, 92691
THE DAVIS LAW FIRM
42690 Rio Nedo
Suite F
Temecula, CA, 92590
Hide locations

Administrative Law lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  37 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Jodi | December 27, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
California Gun Law expert!!!!
Attorney Jason Davis truly impressed me with his responsiveness and California gun law knowledge. I contacted him recently concerning some questions I had on current and proposed gun law legislation, and he not only provided a timely response, but went out of his way to provide me with additional ways to legally accomplish my objectives in accordance to California gun laws. I would highly recommend contacting Attorney Davis if you have any questions concerning the often daunting/confusing State of California gun laws. You will not be disappointed.
Read less
Posted by Aaron | September 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
This is where you stop, and make the call.
When i found some old troubles coming back to haunt me from my past i did some research, and every review i saw led straight to Jason Davis. I talked to him directly within minutes of calling(what i love most), not a helper or aid and explained my situation to him. He is extremely professional and answered all my questions so i hired him. The thing is, he was hired to do one thing and one thing only, represent me in court. However when the DoJ landed on my doorstep a few weeks later trying to seize multiple firearms worth thousands of dollars that weren't technically mine anymore, i called Jason. The amazing thing is, it did not matter that it was 6pm at night, or that he was probably driving home, he dropped everything that he had going and took over the whole situation and handled the DoJ from there out, saving me more grief than i can imagine. The bottom line with Jason, is he is professional, fiendly, courteous and most of all, the best attorney you could possibly have in your corner from my experience when it comes to anything firearm related. Also to add icing on the cake i just had a very positive outcome in my case. I can't thank Jason Davis enough.
Read less
Posted by Shannon | June 16, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jason is one of a kind! You couldn't hire a better lawyer.
This was our first time hiring a lawyer and I'm so grateful we found Jason. My husband's job was in jeapordy after receiving a bogus 5150. Jason walked us through every step and was always available to answer any questions we had. Just knowing we had him on our side was such a relief. Jason is knowledgeable, patient, compassionate, thorough and truly cares about his clients. Our case was resolved quickly and we received the best outcome possible. Don't look any further, you won't find anyone better than Jason Davis.
Read less
Posted by Steve T. | March 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Ethical and Hard Working
Finding a trust worthy attorney can be difficult. Jason not only exceeds at what he specializes in but he deeply cares about his clients. I felt SAFE having Jason handle my case because I knew every decision he made was in my best interest. Going through the court process can be intimidating and Jason did everything he could to make me feel comfortable and protected. This reduced A LOT of my stress which allowed me to make some tough calls with ease. At the end of the day he was worth every penny and I highly recommend Jason and his team of experts. You will not be disappointed!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 11, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jason is THE best gun law attorney in Ca
Jason Davis knows California's firearms laws better than anyone, and he has first hand knowledge of the subject matter... as he himself was involved in writing some of the penal codes to help protect the rights of Calif gun owners/dealers. As an 07 FFL/SOT dealer in Ca I retained the services of Jason. His subject matter knowledge, ease of communication, and great demeanor, make him an easy choice when choosing an attorney. The best possible outcome for my case was due to Jason's subject matter knowledge. I'm truly impressed with his skills, and would refer him to any dealer needing legal council, or even just to retain his services to ensure everything is within state compliance.
Read less
Posted by EPRYAN | March 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best lawyer I've had
Jason is truly the ideal lawyer you would want to retain and hire. He will go above and beyond for you. He is honest and very personable and will make you feel extremely comfortable. Before retaining him, he offered his services and didn't want to be paid, he definitely lives up to his word and will do everything he can, and he does. We did not know what to expect up front (and he did give possible outcomes), but he went to battle and got the best outcome one could hope for in my gun case (an option not given in the beginning). I am still a CA CCW holder and it was because of him, I was able to keep my CCW and participate in the OCSD CCW program. I walked with no charges and a ton of stress off my shoulders. I would highly recommend his services.
Read less
Posted by Daniel | December 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable and expedient - Absolute Five Stars!
If you need a lawyer that truly knows California gun laws look no further and call Mr. Jason Davis. He knows this area of the law like the back of his hand. He is fast and to the point too. Highly recommended.
Posted by Andrew | October 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great & Communicative Firearms Attorney
Mr. Davis was courteous, quick to return all forms of communication (phone calls, emails, text messages), and explained to me in detail what we needed to do for my 8103 petition. I loved his flat rate pricing (especially, since my case required many continuances). At the end of it all, he was able to get my firearms rights restored, and I would certainly recommend him to any friends or family that need him. I would not hesitate to consult with him in the future to make sure I don't run afoul of any of CA"s asinine gun laws.
Read less
Posted by Steve | October 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Rare, Moral And Caring Attorney
It's not just that he's probably the best in the business, Jason deeply cared about me. My prayer's were answered with this truly remarkable and honest man. Words cannot fully tell my story. Thanks again. Jason
Posted by anonymous | August 31, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Effective Attorney - highly recommended
Mr. Davis was able to obtain the results I was hoping for. His strategy was very effective and clearly focused on my best interest. I highly recommend Mr. Davis.
Posted by anonymous | May 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Gun Rights Attorney
Upon calling Mr. Jason Davis I knew we were in good hands. Mr. Davis was attentive and listened very carefully to our story. He said he could help us with our case. We discussed the terms of the financials and all agreed. Mr. Davis won our case and did an outstanding job as to keeping us informed as what would happen next, etc. Mr. Davis always answered our families texts & phone calls promptly. Always had time to listen and plan our next move. Hire Jason to handle all of your gun rights issues.
Read less
Posted by Mike | April 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
By far the best.
I can not say enough about how pleased I am at how Jason handled my case and told me step by step what was going to happen. I would highly recommend him. Thanks again Jason.
Posted by rob | March 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding, Professional, and Dedicated Attorney
Jason Davis provided outstanding legal advisement and support throughout what expanded into a rather lengthy process. He remained engaged, dedicated, and worked extremely hard to secure a favorable outcome. I highly recommend Jason Davis. I cannot thank him enough for his provided assistance navigating me through an extremely complex maze of legal obstacles.
Read less
Posted by Ron | February 25, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A different kind of Attorney
My matter is not even completely resolved yet, but I know how it's going to go, and therefore I feel very comfortable giving him an excellent reference. In the first place, he will tell you what it is going to cost upfront. He prices his services on a flat rate for the job basis. Rather than finding yourself caught up in that never ending billing for hours situation, he knows so much about what he is doing that he can give you a single price quote to get the job done. That would be reason enough to hire him. But in addition, the other unique thing about him is he CARES about his clients, and shows it with his patience and desire for clarity in every contact with him. Whether you can only afford to have him do the prep work for you to go pro per , or you have him represent you, he demonstrates that same desire to help. And I dare say you are not just another case that feeds his bank account, rather he really cares about keeping people from getting their 2nd Amendment rights trampled on due to lack of knowledge, or just being railroaded by an unwieldy court. I just wish his practice encompassed more types of legal issues, because he would be my guy in all those cases if he did. But, in the final analysis, maybe he does the 2nd Amendment rights cases so well because he does specialize. If you need help in this area, don't hesitate to use his services!
Read less
Posted by Amy | February 8, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
IF YOUR SEARCHING, STOP HERE, CALL HIM.
Best attorney in California, brilliant, professional, tenacious, and a true example of what a lawyer should encompass. I was close to losing my Second Amendment Rights, in part due to a lack of understanding on behalf of the DA. His knowledge, presentation, and application of law- took me from a felony charge, to a case dismissed. I was exonerated, no longer accused falsely, my character restored. There are not enough words to express my gratitude to this man. Don't hesitate, or look any further, he is the best chance you have at Justice.
Read less
Posted by David | January 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent advice and service
Jason’s knowledge of California firearms laws and regulations has been invaluable and a real pleasure to consult with. A professional attorney with excellent advice and follow-up. Thank you.
Posted by Phillip | January 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hire him!
Jason is an excellent attorney. I had an issue with my firearms rights being revoked and he did everything necessary to get them restored. Jason knows his stuff. If you are having an issue, I highly recommend using him.
Posted by Estella | October 6, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I am impressed and truly thankful
Jason is awesome. I emailed Jason at 11:30 pm Sunday night and by Monday 6 am he was ready to talk to me! Once I explained the situation pertaining to firearms and he explained how to resolve the issue where the firearms would not be confiscated. He was quick, acted professional, took the time to answer all my questions and handled the situation quickly.Thanks to Jason, we were able to transfer possession and now sell the items instead of losing them to the authorities. Forever grateful to Jason.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 5, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sale of firearms for deceased owner
Jason was referred to me by the trust attorney to provide expertise in firearms transactions. He provided legal guidance and assistance to sell firearms for a deceased owner (I am the trustee). I am grateful for his help in navigating Federal and California regulations.
Posted by anonymous | September 13, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional Lawyer
Jason has helped me in so many ways. His response, attitude, work ethics and much more have surpassed my expectations! If it wasn't for him, I would not be pursuing my future goals. I would recommend Jason to anyone in need of a gun rights Lawyer. From the bottom of my heart and family, thanks a million Mr. Davis.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.4 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • The Davis Law Firm - Formerly Davis and Associates
  • 2009 - Present
  • Firearms Division Manager
  • Trutanich Michel, LLP
  • 2001 - 2009
  • Representative
  • Republic Arms
  • 1997 - 2001
  • Representative
  • Davis Industries
  • 1990 - 1995
View all work experience

Education

  • Loyola Law School
  • Juris Doctorate
  • 2002
  • Univ of California Riverside
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1999

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Silvester v. Harris, 41 F. Supp. 3d 927 - 2014
  • Prevailed in District Court / Overturned by Ninth Circuit
  • Rossow v. Merced
  • Merced CCW/LTC policies revised and attorney fees recovered.
  • Franklin Armory v. California Department of Justice
  • Office of Administrative deemed DOJ policy an underground regulation
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Attorney Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • Orange County Bar Association
  • Attorney Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • United States Court of Appeals For the Ninth Circuit
  • Admitted
  • 2009 - Present
  • National Rifle Association
  • LIfetime Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • Northern District Courts of California
  • Admitted
  • 2009 - Present
  • Central District Courts of California
  • Admitted
  • 2009 - Present
  • Southern District Courts of California
  • Admitted
  • 2009 - Present
  • Fifty Caliber Institute
  • Director of Legal Affairs
  • 2005 - Present
  • California Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Distinguished Lawyer 2016
  • Expert Network
  • 2016
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2011
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2010
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2009
  • Special Recognition
  • State of California - Law Revision Commission
  • 2009
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2008
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2007
View all awards

Publications

  • Cal-FFL Legal Update
  • Top Ten List for California Firearm Businesses
  • 2013
  • Fifty Caliber Institute Newsletter
  • Owners of Registered "Assault Weapons" Find Relief From California's .50 BMG Rifle Restrictions
  • 2007
  • Very High Power Magazine
  • AB50: Possession Prior to Registration Deadline
  • 2005
  • Fifty Caliber Institute
  • Los Angeles Commission on Fifty Caliber Rifles
  • 2005
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Retired Agents (FBI) Association Event
  • Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act
  • 2017
  • California Assault Weapon Laws - Technical and Legal Issues Facing Law Enforcement in 2017
  • Assault Weapon Laws
  • 2017
  • Southern California Forensic Firearms Examiners
  • Assault Weapons and the Law
  • 2013
  • Southern California Firearm Forensics Examiners
  • California Dangerous Weapons Law Reorganization
  • 2013
  • Cal-FFL
  • Firearm Technology and the Law: Teaching Old Dogs New Tricks
  • 2013
  • Temple City Sportsmen
  • Firearms and the Law 2012
  • 2012
  • Calguns Foundation Shot Show Conference
  • California Firearms Litigation
  • 2012
  • Temple City Sportsmen
  • Firearms and the Law 2011
  • 2011
  • Simi Valley Members Council for the Friends of the NRA
  • Ronald Reagan's Wisdom and the SEcond Amendment
  • 2009
  • National Shooting Sports Foundation Shot Show
  • Don't Give Up on California
  • 2009
  • Orange Members Council Fundraiser for the Friends of the NRA
  • The Path to Incorporation for the Second Amendment
  • 2008
  • National Rifle Association Members Council Conference
  • The Second Amendment - Post Heller
  • 2008
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (12)
Given (8)
Endorse Jason
Civil rights Attorney | Aug 10
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jason has an understanding of CA’s complex gun laws that makes a copy of the Penal Code and Code of Regulations redundant. He is my “go-to” lawyer for drilling down to the technical issues of gun law. In a complex case, I would seek to have him on my team."
Civil rights Attorney | Jul 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am personally acquainted with Jason's work within Second Amendment law. Jason did a huge service to the State in striking CA's 10 day waiting period law as applied to his clients. This lawsuit demonstrated legal acumen and a high level of federal litigation experience. I endorse Mr. Davis for you civil rights needs."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Jason. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jason Davis is an expert in firearms laws and rights. Working together on a firearms related matter, I saw how knowledgeable and experienced he is in this area of practice. I highly recommend his services to anyone in need of a firearms lawyer and advocate."
Administrative law Attorney | Sep 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Jason Davis since he first became an attorney. I have worked with Jason on many cases and I know him to be a very knowledgeable, skillful and effective lawyer. Jason is one of the top firearms law attorneys in California, representing firearm dealers and manufacturers, gun rights organizations and gun owners across California. He is passionate about his work and he is driven to succeed. Jason is an attorney with very high ethical standards and he is also a dedicated family man. On many occasions, I have referred persons seeking an attorney to him."
Civil rights Attorney | Sep 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Excellent lawyer. Jason is extremely knowledgeable in gun laws/rights and I would highly recommend him to any person looking to protect their Second Amendment rights."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Davis is renowned statewide as an expert on firearms law, especially with regard to the nuances of licensing for gun dealers and taking the ATF and the California DOJ BOF to task when they act contrary to law or harass licensed dealers without foundation. He is a crusader for civil rights, especially the most important one. I endorse Mr. Davis."
Civil rights Attorney | Sep 27
Relationship: Friend
"So much could be said about Jason. I have known him over 20 years. He is first and foremost a good person. He is true to his word and trustworthy. He is very personable and I am quite sure his clients will enjoy interacting with him. Jason is a very passionate attorney when it comes to his clients. I know that he knows the laws inside and out. His passion and knowledge results in success for his clients. You cannot go wrong with Jason as your advocate. I highly endorse."
Civil rights Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked with Jason on various civil rights matters over the last 7 years, and I have found him to be among the most tenacious of our advocates for our human and civil right of self defense. He has litigated cases that have expanded our rights here in California, and which have influenced rights in other states. Jason is at the very core of much of the civil rights litigation here in California, and has an impressive track record of successful outcomes and results. I would recommend him without any hesitation. In my personal opinion, he is among the best, if not the best, lawyer on these issues, in the State of California. Kevin Lee Thomason"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 17
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jason is well-known throughout California and the nation as an expert in criminal defense and in civil rights litigation, particularly in service to gun owners and gun dealers. Jason is a strategic thinker, a top-notch tactician, and very dedicated to his clients. He is one of a select few who are truly expert in California firearms law."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason is a wonderful advocate for the right to keep and bear arms. His knowledge and experience in Second Amendment matters makes him one of the front-runners in California firearms-related litigation. I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Constitutional
Constitutional
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Environmental and natural resources