Skip to main content

Kevin Michael Cortright

Workers compensation Attorney at Murrieta, CA

4.1   21 reviews

About Kevin

Learn Kevin’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Bankruptcy and debt
    25%

  2. Chapter 13 bankruptcy
    25%

  3. Chapter 7 bankruptcy
    25%

  4. Workers compensation
    25%
    We will provide representation on your workers compensation case and get you the medical treatment you need and the settlement you deserve.

    15 years, 750 cases

Helping people is at the core of why I decided to practice law. Although I believe people are well informed, knowing and understanding the law and dealing with greedy insurance companies can be tough. As your attorney I will step in and provide you with the assistance you need to resolve your claim. I will assist with getting you medical care, recovering your loss of income, and obtaining a settlement for the injuries you suffered. It’s hard enough to deal with these trying times after an accident or injury, let alone having to try to deal with them alone. 

Every client and every case is important! I take Injury cases as personally as you do, and will fight for you to recover the maximum amount of damages available under law.

 

Photos and videos

View more
Licensed for 13 years
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 2009
Updated 09/15/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Kevin

Law Offices of Kevin Cortright
29970 Technology Drive
Suite 220F
Murrieta, CA, 92563
Law Offices of Kevin Cortright
777 E Tahquitz Canyon Way
Suite 200
Palm Springs, CA, 92262
Hide locations

Reviews

4.1 / 5.0
  21 customer reviews
Posted by Dominique | July 20, 2020
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Free consultation so we could explore our options
With COVID-19 running rampant over our business and the fact that the government opened and closed our business every few weeks, we were freaking out and didn't know what our options were. We were scared. We called Kevin BEFORE we were in financial hot water. He understood what we wanted right away and offered us sage advice so that we knew where we stood, and even gave us ideas we had never thought of. I hope it will never come to the point where I actually have to hire him, but knowing that he is there if I do need him gives me peace of mind and takes a huge weight off my shoulders like you wouldn't believe. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Don't wait until it's too late and you're already in trouble before having these difficult conversations. It's better to know your options ahead of time. Thanks, Kevin.
Read less
Posted by Jim | August 8, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My injury case
Kevin took my difficult injury case and did an excellent job at getting it resolved to a positive outcome. I always felt I could call him or his assistant Cindy with my questions and concerns and get the answers I needed.
Posted by David | August 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kevin Michael Cortright, Attorney
Kevin came to visit me in the skilled nursing center after my accident. My husband and I decided to hire him shortly after the incident occurred. He hired all of the experts that he needed to make my case. Even though the other side was not helpful in this process, Kevin worked hard to get me the money that I needed to pay my bills and to help me to get better physically, mentally, and spiritually.
Read less
Posted by Colton | September 21, 2015
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Personal and Professional
Kevin is just the right balance of personal and professional. I came to him in a time of serious legal need and he showed great poise and competence in how to handle my situation. I found I was able to be more than confident in his ability. But what I also appreciated was that he is not just a cold professional, but shows a genuine care for people and seeks to understand their situation. I felt not only that I was in good hands, but good company as well. I would hire Kevin again in the future.
Read less
Posted by Jeff | July 27, 2015
Jeff Berghaus
Kevin and his team did a great job on my case. I was in a motorcycle accident with my daughter. And the person who hit us didn't tell the truth about what happened. Kevin and his team fought for the truth and settled the case.
Posted by anonymous | July 22, 2015
The Very Best
I take all my legal problems to Mr. Cortright. Unfortunately, I have needed legal services several times (personal injuries/car accidents, divorce, civil - all of which have been handled by Mr. Cortright), and having worked in the legal field for over 10 years, I had some experience with bad attorneys and law firms, and have even worked in some. I have known Mr. Cortright for about 15 years in a professional setting, and he is always the person I go to for legal help. He is knowledgeable, honest, and hard-working. He has obtained successful results for me in all cases but one, and that one was not due to anything he did or didn't do, but had many other challenges. Even in the face of those horrible challenges, he did a fantastic job. I have been so pleased with his work every time he has helped me in legal issues. I wouldn't go anywhere else. This is the man to call!
Read less
Posted by Jeff | July 20, 2015
Motorcycle injury
Mr. Cortright and his team were always there for me throughout my case. Kept me informed about every detail. The most important thing to me was that I felt like they beleived in me and what really happened and fought for me. If you need a great attorney Kevin Cortright is the guy, don't waste your time with anyone else.
Posted by anonymous | October 1, 2013
Excellent Workers Compensation Attorney
Mr. Cortright got me the workers compensation benefits I needed during a difficult time while I was recovering from my injury. He was able to get me temporary disability payments, good medical care, and in the end a great settlement. Himself and his secretaries go out of their way to guide you through the very convoluted workers compensation process.
Read less
Posted by Reagan | September 6, 2013
The Law Offices of Kevin Cortright - Excellent!!! Great Work & Hard Work!!! Very Satisfied Client
I've used the Law Offices of Kevin Cortright for many years now. His office is one of the best law offices in Riverside County and a great place to talk and discuss my option with Kevin Cortright on my case. I would recommend Kevin Cortright for Bankruptcy, Workers Compensation, and Personal Injury. Why? Well i was referred to Kevin through an old friend. The way we met through an old friend turned out to be a blessing in disguise. You see, Kevin happen to help me in an issue with a Bankruptcy and many things to do with my past and debt, I referred him to my friends and the next thing I'm needing him for a case with my job and workman's comp. I've seen him work wonders in cases! Excellent time spent on my case and great knowledge when presenting my case to the court. We won!!! But that's not the big issue here. A good lawyer is hard to come by! A lawyer who will bend over backwards and help you when your down and out. He works very hard on your cases and sometimes they just don't come out like we want them. From my own experience with Kevin Cortright, it's been a great relationship and experience with his law office. Anyone can review a lawyer and hurt or help the status of the lawyers reputation. I have found that if you look deeper within the content of these reviews it's pretty hard to take away an excellent review over a review of not getting what they wanted in a case and taking it out on some one else but themselves. Kevin Cortright is a great attorney who will get the job done and help you with your legal needs, he works very hard to win cases and help in any way he can. Anyone can tear down a wall, but it's very hard to find those who can build that wall. Thank you Kevin for all the help you have given me.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 28, 2010
Successful Bankruptcy
Kevin walked us through our bankruptcy which we needed to file due to the closure of our business. He guided us correctly and was always responsive when we called with our many questions. This was a difficult time for us and he was kind and helpful.
Posted by Latonja | September 21, 2010
Cortright - an attorney you can trust.
Mr Cortright has the right ingredient to do the best job. He is a partnership with his clients; always keeping them informed. I most especially appreciated the honest dilligence in his character and work. His staff support is incredible. I can whole-heartedly recommend him to ANYONE I know, without hesitation. He is the best!
Read less
Posted by Richard | September 18, 2010
My personal review of attorney Kevin Cortright
I initially met attorney Cortright for a free consultation concerning our overall financial plight. He was very personable and sympathetic of our problems. He impressed me with his knowledge of the law and talked about options he felt would help us. After we decided to use attorney Cortright he was always accessable, either by phone or in person, to answer any questions or concerns we had. Plus, he and his staff have kept us informed of the progress of our case. I would highly recommend Mr. Cortright to anyone needing a qualified and trustworthy attorney.
Read less
Posted by Joseph | September 18, 2010
Legal Competence...Without the Hype
Bad economic times have led to drastic measures that many can relate to. I needed counsel and direction and I found that with Kevin Cortright. He and his office staff handled everything with the utmost professionalism and courtesy. Kevin will offer solutions and logic to help you get back on track. I cannot recommend this firm highly enough. You will be satisfied beyond measure!
Read less
Posted by Casey | June 8, 2010
Great Ch. 7 Attorney
My husband and I were trying to decide if we were going to file Bankruptcy. Kevin was wonderful, he answered all of our questions and kept us informed with our case. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back for any other questions I may have. Thanks Kevin and staff!
Posted by Joan | June 7, 2010
Trying to Decide to File Bankruptcy
Kevin gave my husband and I very real/sound advice regarding whether we should file for bankruptcy and which chapter would be best for us. Deciding to file a bankruptcy is a very stressful decision, however, Kevin put our fears to rest. I would highly recommend this law firm to anyone thinking of filing a bankruptcy.
Posted by Christina | June 6, 2010
Excellent service!
I had this attorney handle my bankruptcy recently. I can't tell you how comfortable I felt with the attorney and his staff. Their knowledge really set me at ease. They were able to answer all my questions, were prompt with their responses to emails, and made a difficult time very easy. I highly recommend them.
Posted by dissatisfied | May 3, 2011
Cannot afford this attorney for a chapter 13
The reason I would not recommend this attorney for chapter 13 services is basically because after he filed our case, any changes or oppositions or even questions he charges a very large fee. Once your finances are restructured in a chapter 13 you have very limited funds to live off of each month. So each time we need to go back to the court/judge for ANYTHING this attorney would charge a minimum of $500. Obviously we couldn't afford that because of the way the trustee restructured our finances. For example, we needed to purchase a car in the middle of our chapter 13 and he charged $500 to request permission from the trustee. We filed chapter 13 as a last resort, but now we are being taken advantage of by this attorney.
Read less
Response from Kevin Cortright May 25, 2011
Not to be rude but I always find it interesting when clients think I should work for free? This is a business with expenses, such as payroll, rent, phones, etc. One would not expect to walk into a store and just walk out with items without paying. I would venture to say that if this same person was told by their employer that they were not going to be paid for coming to work anymore that they would stop showing up. Now that I got that off my chest, the reality is that the fees charged in a chapter 13 bankruptcy are monitored and approved by the bankruptcy judge. As such the fees are disclosed and approved each step of the way. My fees are in line with other attorneys in the area, and with the court guidelines.
Read less
Posted by Sandy | September 17, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Did nothing - my advice: find a different attorney
His firm had my file for over a month (6 weeks), then finally scheduled a phone meeting. He never called at the time HE scheduled. A half hour later he calls from a speakerphone, no apology or reason for his tardiness. I hired him for lawyer assistance, and all he did was waste my time. Try Michael Caruthers in Palm Springs instead.
Read less
Response from Kevin Cortright September 21, 2015
First Sandy is not Sandy she can not even use her real name, but I personally called her and advised her that my office would not continue to represent her since she was rude and verbally abusive to my staff, I will not tolerate any abuse of my staff as they work to hard to help clients they do not deserve to be treated like that. If someone wants a service company like my office to assist them they really should take that into consideration. We only had her case for a couple of weeks and were proceeding on it accordingly and she chose to do nothing but harass us so I called her and told her to please find another lawyer to handle her case. And even now she continues to call and be rude and harass my office even after we are not longer representing her. A review of other reviews she has left on other businesses on other review sites clearly exposes her for who she really is. I have to remind myself that in my business I will come across a wide cross section of potential clients and it is not possible to please everyone, fortunately we have over 300 active clients at any given time that appreciate my staffs and my efforts to represent them in their claims.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 10, 2013
Only if you feel like being condescended too.
Last week the secretary said I'd have to wait 3 days for a phone interview, and even then, I was told "he will call sometimes around then". well it's a week later, and no phone call. My workers comp claim isn't good enough for them??
Response from Kevin Cortright December 27, 2014
Unfortunately I have no idea who this is, I do not do phone consults for bankruptcies, potential clients need to come into the office for the free consultation so we can discuss their case in detail during the free consultation. None of my staff has any record of this person even calling into the office.
Posted by Scott | September 5, 2013
Not a workmans comp. attorney by far.
What a joke kevin presents himself as having experience in workmans comp. I experienced first hand unfortunately that he does not. He didn't send in letters to doctors before examinations that were to detemine the cause of injury which is extremely important when I confronted him about it he gave me some lame excuse that he forgot it was so close to after another of my appointments it made no sense he gave me the runaround after he lost he lost my case for me he received the judge's decision and misinterpreted it he had informed I had won my case but actually he had lost not until his paralegal read it and informed him he had lost the case l called him and expressed my disappointmentand the coward quit I had to hire an attorney after he lost which wasn't easy to do as they explained I'm asking them to unring the bell he made so many mistakes there were issues he ignored that he said he would address in the judge's decision he mentioned the very things that he said that said he would bring up he was disliked by the judge he was very awkward in the judges presence and in the workmans comp. forum in general I was very fortunate that Dr Peter Shaffer in Riverside accepted my case and they appealed it and the judge's decision was overturned Charlene did an outstanding job. At a time that I'm injured not making ends meet ready to lose my home I can't feed my family I went into Kevins office to discuss what his game plan and he couldn't stop talking about how much money he just made on two injury cases He paid off bills paid cars off had money in the bank etc. etc. what a joke why would he tell me about his personal finances when I'm down and out and his doing he lacks tact and respect for his clients I noticed that his reviews are for bankruptcy pretty obvious that that is his specialty he should stick to it he cost me big time I had to settle my case for 20 percent of what it should have been settled for had he done is job So anyone considering using kevin as a workmans comp attorney please look around he is not good choice.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Contingency 15%-40%
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.1 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Law Offices of Kevin Cortright
  • 2009 - Present
  • Law Clerk
  • Law Office of Bollington and Ochoa
  • 2003 - 2009
  • Operations Manager
  • Federal Express Corporation
  • 1991 - 2003

Education

  • University of La Verne College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2005
  • University of Phoenix
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1996
  • Fullerton College
  • Associate in Arts
  • 1992

Legal Cases

  • Personal Injury
  • 1.3 Million
  • Chapter 13 Bankruptcy
  • Confirmed
  • Premise Liability
  • Settled in Mediation 587,500
View all legal cases

Associations

  • California Applicants' Attorneys Association
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • Central District of California
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • Southern District of California
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • California Applicants' Attorneys Association
  • Member
  • 2015 - 2016
  • University of LaVerne Student Bar Association
  • Vice President
  • 2004 - 2005
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2012

Publications

  • Hedonic Damages
  • The Cost of Hedonic Damages
  • 2009

Speaking Engagements

  • Bankruptcy Forum
  • How to File Bankrutcy in California
  • 2009
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (13)
Given (19)
Unknown Attorney | Jun 06
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Workers compensation Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He went to an amazing law school, and I have heard nothing but good things about his practice."
Personal injury Attorney | May 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is a wonderful, experienced attorney. He cares about his clients, their needs, and works tirelessly to win cases."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Dec 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Immigration Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Kevin. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 14
Relationship: Other
"I am very impressed with Kevin Cortright and his credentials. I endorse this attorney."
Immigration Attorney | Oct 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Kevin gives people excellent advice with his answers on Avvo. If you need an attorney on an immigration matter or bankruptcy in Southern California he is the attorney to call."
Personal injury Attorney | May 23
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer, very competent lawyer who takes his clients matters seriously and treats them compassionately."
Workers compensation Attorney | Apr 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is a wonderful lawyer. I highly recommend him."
Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney | May 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. I've worked with him and he knows how to protect a client!"
View more endorsements
Workers compensation
Immigration
Chapter 7 bankruptcy
Workers compensation
Workers compensation
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Workers compensation
Personal injury
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Bankruptcy and debt
Criminal defense
Chapter 7 bankruptcy