Skip to main content

Matthew J. Mesnik

Family Attorney at San Diego, CA

4.7   43 reviews
Free consultation
Free consultation
  • Licensed for 14 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2009
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Matthew

Learn Matthew’s areas of practice.

FRIENDLY, COMPASSIONATE, EFFICIENT, EXPERIENCED, AND COMPETENT FAMILY LAW ATTORNEY.

I practice exclusively in the Family Law area regularly handling clients issues such as divorce, legal separation, annulment, child custody, child visitation, child support, spousal support, property division, reimbursement for attorneys fees, dissolution of domestic partnership, step parent adoption, termination of parental rights, set aside judgments, and others.  I serve the entire San Diego County area including Downtown San Diego, Mission Valley, Chula Vista, El Cajon, La Mesa, Bay Park, Pacific Beach, Ocean Beach, Point Loma, Clairmont, Tierrasanta, Rancho Penasquitos, Rancho Bernardo, La Jolla, UTC, Carlsbad, Solana Beach, Oceanside, Vista, Fallbrook, Escondido, San Marcos, San Carlos, Lakeside, Santee, National City, Poway, Scripps Ranch, Del Mar, Rancho Sante Fe, Cardiff, and Valley Center.

 

I focus on an efficient representation that is geared towards accomplishing my client's goals.  I am always available for my clients.  My clients know from the start that I am one of the good ones who will do all I can to assure their case is handled fairly, competently, and diligently while keeping in mind what is best for the entire family.  While I don't tout myself as an aggressive attorney I will passionately represent my clients as aggressively as is needed in any given situation.

Awards

Client's Choice 2021,2017,2016,2015
Client's Choice
2021 2017 2016 + 1 ...

Location

Mesnik Law Group, Inc.
9665 Chesapeake Dr.
Suite 445
San Diego, CA, 92123

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  43 customer reviews
5 Star
 
93%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
7%
Client's Choice 2021
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Chris | February 19, 2015
Don't go through your divorce without Matt!!
Hiring Matt was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. After a terrible experience with another law firm, I was very hesitant and untrusting in my search for a new lawyer to handle my divorce. I consulted with several, however, once I sat down with Matt, I knew he was my guy. He was honest, upfront, confident and professional all while being extremely genuine and down to earth. That first impression is exactly how he handled, and continues to handle, my case. No divorce is easy. Mine, however, was one for the books. Custody and transportation issues, child support and alimony negotiations, and one roadblock after another from a completely uncooperative ex who had every trick you could think of up her sleeve. Matt handled every situation and obstacle extremely professionally, while aggressively fighting for all of my rights. Ultimately, Matt was able to negotiate the final terms of the divorce to include the custody and transportation agreement as I requested it, lowered child support and alimony, and a fair division of property, assets and debts. Looking for a lawyer can be a daunting task. We all know that having the right lawyer by your side will give you the confidence needed to navigate through a divorce, especially a difficult one. Matt’s exceptional negotiation skills, prompt communication, professionalism, and excellent track record make him the clear choice. My divorce may be final, but the battle is far from over. I am at ease knowing that I have Matt by my side to handle any and all future issues or situations thrown my way.
Read less
Posted by Carolyn | January 5, 2015
Excellent qualifications
He made all information easy to understand! Very friendly and professional personality. Extremely helpful with issues that arise after the Divorce. I would very much recommend Matt!!
Posted by Ivy | March 26, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Legal Advocacy
I cannot express enough gratitude for the exceptional legal support provided by Matt Mesnik. From the moment I walked into his office, I was met with patience, professionalism, insight, and compassion. Matt's personable demeanor immediately put me at ease during what was undoubtedly one of the most difficult periods of my life. What truly sets Matt apart is his ability to see through the noise and get to the heart of the matter. He doesn't shy away from being assertive when necessary, yet he approaches every situation with a level of calmness and compassion that is truly admirable. His dedication to his clients is unwavering; he goes above and beyond to ensure that every avenue is explored to achieve the best possible outcome. Matt is not just a lawyer; he is a friend and advocate. He takes the time to listen attentively, understand the nuances of each case, and tailor his approach accordingly. His commitment to winning for his clients is palpable, and his determination is contagious. Having Matt in my corner during this challenging time has been an invaluable asset. I can wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone in need of a family law attorney who is not only skilled and competent but also genuinely cares about his clients.
Read less
Posted by Farah Toosi | January 5, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you
I learned how to do the Moore Marsden calculation from the Mensnik website and I eventually hired them to reevaluate it to present it to court. They did a very professional detailed job at a reasonable price.
Posted by Luce | August 7, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DIVORCE; Most Challenging Timl…
Mesnik Law Group has a very Solid Team; I really enjoyed working with Megan Lucy, Ana and Matthew Mesnik was my leading Attorney. They are all very organized, responsive and supportive. Matt is very likable and well recognized among other Attorneys and Judges in the area which is imperative specially when you are trying to cease the pain and settle your case. He thinks ahead to predict the difficult “chess game” that goes on, he is very knowledgeable and experienced. He was my 3rd and final attorney and i am relieved this challenging season is finally Over!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 15, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
Matt has expertly handled my complex case for the past two years, demonstrating exceptional expertise, transparency, and unwavering competency throughout. As an attentive attorney, I wholeheartedly trust him to navigate my sensitive matters with vast knowledge and utmost care. Matt's professional presence in court is formidable, and his matter-of-fact delivery resonates remarkably well with judges. Furthermore, his extensive network of working relationships with numerous attorneys in the area adds significant value to his representation. Above all, Matt consistently offered me honest and unbiased opinions, ensuring I was fully aware of the potential risks in my case. He possesses a remarkable ability to distill the essential facts that judges prioritize, cutting through the noise to present a compelling case. During some of the most challenging moments of my life, Matt provided encouragement, guidance, and fought tirelessly on my behalf, surpassing my highest expectations. While we achieved the desired outcome in our trial, I still have other court issues that necessitate Matt's continued representation. I cannot recommend him and his team enough for their dedication and exceptional service.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 5, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Team and Experience
My experience with Mesnik Law Group to address support arrears was exceptional. While a difficult and emotional time for me, Matthew Mesnik methodically, efficiently, and aggressively worked to resolve my case. His team was also a pleasure to work with. They were always responsive and willing to answer my questions. I highly recommend Mesnik Law Group.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 20, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Have no regrets
Matt and his team have exceeded my expectations. He is knowledgable, competent and a clear communicator. I'm happy I retained his firm and highly recommend him.
Posted by anonymous | July 11, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best San Diego Lawyer :)
Matt Mesnik was able to navigate my complex divorce. My divorce included an out of state move, domestic violence, real estate and military retirement. His law firm was able to successfully negotiate my move and relocation of my 3 children to 3000 miles away to safety. This was done in a matter of months (which would’ve taken traditionally in California courts much longer period of time). Post-divorce Matt has continued to check in and help me navigate post-separation. I was able to walk away with the real estate I deserved and a substantial amount of child support for my children. I am very grateful to Matt and his team.
Read less
Posted by Jonathan | October 26, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer! - Hire him
If you are looking for an HONEST and COMPETENT attorney, Hire Atty Mesnik and his law firm. I was looking for a lawyer to represent me in a complicated case and he was up to the challenge starting from the time I called and did the consultation with him. He heard me out and listened very intently as to the background and paid attention to the details of my case. I am from out of state so this was all done over the phone. I have actually talked to 8 attorneys before him on the same day and none of them seem to be a good fit for my case. During the consultation phase, Atty Matt discussed with me how he would approach my case in detail and what he thinks our best steps were. He is fair in pricing and did not give me the impression that he would over bill. During the court hearing, he was very composed, did not flinch and fought for us. He knew by heart every detail of my case , hence, was able to layout his arguments in a very strategic manner. He was very responsive and made sure to ease me up by taking the time to answer my questions and explain what the next steps would be. I would vouch for Atty. Mesnik and his team.
Read less
Posted by Samantha | October 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Lawyer
I really enjoyed working with Matthew. He made a very complicated case I had going on bearable. I truly don't know what I would have done without him. A very kind person and someone you definitely need in your corner. He made me aware of all of my options and advised me in the right direction. I would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of a good lawyer, he knows what he is doing. All of his staff are nice and prompt with email responses. Overall a great experience and I would definitely use him again in a heartbeat if I ever needed him.
Read less
Posted by Keith | July 9, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best
You can not ask for better attorneys than Matthew and Adrian at Mesnik Law Group. Divorce is very stressful, and I am sorry for anyone going through it. I brought on Mesnik Law Group. Half the time I was a raving lunatic. At all times, they remained calm, kind, courteous, informative, reassuring, knowledgeable, potent, and extremely professional. In the end they got me everything I wanted in the divorce. They are a firm you can trust.
Read less
Posted by Irene | April 21, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, knowledgeable and compassionate
My divorce was unfortunately long, drawn-out and contentious. I represented myself for much of it hoping it would be resolved sooner rather than later and knew I had to hire counsel when my case was set for trial. Matt had represented me through another firm on a hearing when my divorce first began years before, and I remembered his pleasant, yet straightforward demeanor and knew he would not be rattled by my ex, himself a lawyer. Throughout his representation, he focused, and kept me focused, on issues that matter which helped minimize anxiety I felt from my ex's demeaning and exhausting tactics. It's never easy to have to go through contentious legal matters but I am glad I had Matt and his team on my side. I would certainly recommend their services.
Read less
Posted by Luci S. | March 16, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Nobody should go through the ordeal of divorce alone
I came to Mesnik law referred by an attorney friend. I began the process with a paralegal thinking this was an easy task. Truth is, no matter how peaceful or horrible your situation is, you need advice from a professional to make it through. There are so many steps and so much paperwork, you just can’t afford to make a mistake. Having a third party as an advocate makes the process and decision making a lot easier. We all have rights and we should know what they are before agreeing to terms that can not be reversed. Matt was pleasant and always available to return my emails and calls. In the courtroom he was firm yet professional and very knowledgeable. As hard and emotional as this process was, I felt like he had my back and I was very satisfied with the outcome.
Read less
Posted by Jenn | October 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Join the winning team! Mesnik Law Group is extremely knowledgeable and professional
Matt Mesnik and his team are top notch. I’ve had to deal with some intense custody issues over the past few years and have always retained Matt to help get me through it. He and his team are extremely professional, knowledgeable, and they actually care about your case. If you ever need a lawyer, I highly recommend Mesnik Law Group.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Family Law Attorney!
The Mesnik Law Group really changed my life for the better. When I was confronted with wanting to divorce a very aggressive and contentious person, Matt Mesnik did not back down. Before I found Matt, I consulted with a couple lawyers but didn't land the right fit. I even had a consultation with a very well-known female attorney in family law. $450 later for her one hour consultation, I felt deflated for having paid someone that advised me to "do more things together" and "try to work it out", and my favorite, she told me that it seemed that I would not be able to afford this divorce. When I finally met with Matt Mesnik, he gave me a free one hour consultation. He reassured me that my fears would be put at ease. When I informed him that my ex was an attorney and had represented himself in a previous divorce and was now representing himself in our divorce, Matt once again reassured me that he could handle the challenge. Throughout my case, my ex tried on several occasions, to intimidate and bully my attorney (Matt). Of course, it didn't work. Matt remained calm and professional at all times throughout the course of my divorce, which lasted about 18 months. In the end, I got everything that I wanted from my divorce. I didn't "take him to the cleaners", I simply got out of it what was fair. Matt Mesnik is not the type of person that will assist you in trying to take advantage of your situation. He will advise you honestly and fairly. There seem to be a lot of family law attorneys out there that are more interested in how much they can make off of your divorce, rather than how they can help you get through your divorce; the Mesnik Law Group does NOT practice in that way. Also, I would be remiss if I did not mention the indispensable assistance of Stephanie Borrowdale. She was also very helpful in my process and her delicate approach to her clients really made me feel comforted. However, she too, did not back down when she needed to handle my ex. And believe it or not, sometimes she would step in and handle the drafting/filing of my pleadings so that she could keep my costs down, since Matt is priced slightly above her hourly rate. Again, it's not often that an attorney tells you that they want to help you save your money. And when you're going through a long divorce, saving every last penny is critical. Overall, the Mesnik Law Group took me from a very difficult and scary time in my life and helped me come out on the other end feeling 100% reassured that this was the best decision I ever made. I have referred them to several people contemplating divorce. Divorce is not the end of the road and you need an attorney that will set you up to live your best life post-divorce. The Mesnik Law Group has those attorneys!
Read less
Posted by Julie | December 12, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Matt Meznick is
Thank you Matt and the Meznick Law team for helping me through this very personal experience. You were very easy to work with and I trusted in your expertise completely. Matt, your kindness and humor helped lighten the situation, which I greatly appreciated.
Posted by Kerry | October 18, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
A Consult
Had a phone consult and he was very patient and knowledgeable. Answered all my questions...and I few I did not know to ask as well.
Posted by Tom | April 13, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Legal Assistance
I found Matt through a family member referral after having less than helpful and competent representation in the past. My case was complicated and multi-jurisdictional as I did not reside in SD County. After explaining in detail what I needed help with while on a telephone consultation with him, it became clear to me that I had found someone competent, knowledgable and helpful. Upon receiving all of the documents needed from the case file, Matt advised me of my options and suggested course of action. The matter was finally concluded and I could move on with my life. He was professional, extremely patient and very competent throughout the entire experience. I highly recommend Matt and his firm for family law matters...
Read less
Posted by erika | November 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent service
Matthew Mesnik was extremely helpful and efficient. I was able to schedule an appointment for the following day. My paperwork was quickly drafted and revised. I highly recommend this business.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 300-350 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.1 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • President
  • Mesnik Law Group, Inc.
  • 2014 - Present
  • Associate Attorney
  • Wilkinson & Finkbeiner, LLP
  • 2009 - 2014

Education

  • California Western School of Law
  • Juris Doctorate
  • 2009
  • University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 2001

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Sucessful Change in Custody When Falsey Accused of Sexual Abuse
  • Sucessful change in custody for wrongly accused parent

Associations

  • San Diego Family Law Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • State Bar of California
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • San Diego County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Best Lawyer
  • Expertise
  • 2019
  • Bonnie Redding Scholorship
  • Bonnie Redding Scholorship
  • 2008

Publications

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (10)
Endorse Matthew
Family Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"Matt is a phenomenal attorney who works tirelessly for his clients. Matt and I worked on a case prior to me joining his firm. He knows the law inside and out. I endorse this lawyer without reservation."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Mar 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I worked with Matt for many years and can say he is one of the best family law attorneys in San Diego. He is hard working, trustworthy, and smart."
Family Attorney | Nov 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have referred many of my clients over to Matthew. He has treated all of them in a professional and compassionate manner. The feedback i have received from my clients has been overwhelmingly positive. Any time that I have had family law questions, he has taken the time to provide me the answers that I need in a timely manner. I strongly endorse Matthew J. Mesnik"
Family Attorney | Nov 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Feb 05
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Matt and I had a case against each other that was very contentious. As the case progressed, it was clear that Matt was knowledgeable and reasonable to work with. We were able to resolve the case without the need of a lengthy and costly trial for our clients. I hope I get more cases against Matt in the future."
Family Attorney | Jan 02
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Top-notch attorney. A credit to the profession. I endorse this lawyer."
Alimony Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Your resume speaks for itself and I consider you a valuable member of the attorney community. I would recommend you to anyone and everyone who needs your services. I whole heartedly endorse this lawyer!"
Divorce and separation Attorney | Oct 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Matthew Mesnik is an exceptional family law attorney. I have known Mr. Mesnik professionally and personally for several years. He is a consummate professional and very good at what he does. His knowledge of family law and skillful representation in and out of the courtroom make him an asset to the San Diego Family Law community and the clients that he serves. I can say with confidence that I would recommend Mr. Mesnick to any potential client or friend."
View more endorsements
San Diego Family Lawyer Matthew J. Mesnik
Matthew J. Mesnik
Family Attorney
San Diego, CA
Licensed for 14 years
Free Consultation